We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holidays on a flying carpet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Senatus Hotel
Ranked #37 of 1,114 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Monistrol sur loire
2 reviews
“Holidays on a flying carpet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Istanbul is a wonderful city. People there are full of respect and consideration for each other You will feel most welcome everywhere and it's just like if everyone's purpose was to see you happy; in fact, Turkish are happy when they can help you and give you satisfaction.
This is especially true in Senatus Hotel where each one will do his best in a very friendly way to help you and make your stay the best ever.
We recommend the Imperator room which is of a maximum comfort with all its amenities described on the hotel site.
We recommend the restaurant as well: the food and the wines are great and typical.
The situation of the hotel in the historical center is just perfect. There are so many things to do and to see that we could have stayed in a walk range during our five days stay, enjoying the proximity of the hotel for a rest, a sauna or simply to spend so little time in transportation.
We left the hotel and Istanbul with regrets, but with our senses full of sweet memories and nice dreams... We shall be back...

Room Tip: We recommend the Imperator room which is of a maximum comfort with all its amenities described on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurore E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    163
    20
    0
    1
See reviews for
101
366
56
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed in Senatus hotel for 3 nights for a leisure trip to Istanbul. As it was already mentioned location is very central, close to all possible old city attractions and sight seeings. Staff is very helpful and nice. I have ordered transfer service from IST airport to the hotel, but they due to some reasons didn't get there, so hotel asked me to take a cab and they paid for it upon arrival to the hotel.
Again all the facts about amenities in the rooms are true, everything is clean and well prepared, bottle of water, tea and coffee in the room are complimentary. Breakfast is a bit unusual for European taste, but your are in Turkey after all so have fun and enjoy (and they provide not just local dishes, so not a problem at all). Bed is very soft and comfortable.
In case you are interested in having excursions or boat/bus tours staff will help you with the options and arrangements.
There are only 3 things i could consider as minuses for this otherwise perfect hotel:
1. Booking.com says that hotel has WiFi coverage in all hotel areas - that is not completely true. Good WiFi is only in the lobby, restaurant and i believe on the 1st/2nd floors. My room was on the 4th floor and I been constantly searching for a right location to get signal and anyway it was very poor.
2. Noise - if your room has windows on the front side it might be very noisy in the evening;
3. Door to the bathroom is actually transparent, so if you are not alone or staying with someone with whom you are not completely happy to share your naked appearance it might be a challenge ;)

But in principle i am very happy with a hotel and definitely would recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajonins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed at the Senatus in January for a business trip. The hotel is very pleasant. The room I had was spacious and very clean and especially warm as it was very cold weather when I arrived. There was tea and coffee facilities which were replenished daily and a well stocked fridge. Plenty of fresh towels, nice robes and slippers save you having to pack these items. Nice well functioning bathroom and shower.
My transfer car did not turn up at the airport due to the snow and the staff were very helpful when I telephoned.
The hotel was quiet due to the time of year but I did not feel uncomfortable as a woman travelling on my own and staying here.
Breakfast was good, although there was always too much and I felt awful for wasting food.
I had dinner on 2 evenings in the hotel restaurant and was very well looked after with nice food and good presentation.
Ideally suited for tourists but also useful for business travellers as you are very close to the tramway to get all over town, Emınönü, for the ferry boats and the Grand Bazaar.
I will definitely be using this hotel from now on and have already booked a return trip in April.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and spent 5 nights in the hotel. Great location. Spent 5 nights at the senatus, our room was lovely, although the bed was very comfortable.The street at night can be a bit noisy, Apart from that I couldn't fault the hotel, the staff in particular were excellent, they were very friendly & couldn't do enough for us. A lovely stay & would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a central location, good food, reasonably price & efficient, friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garrystuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Spent 4 nights at the senatus, our room was lovely, although the bed could have been a bit more comfortable. Apart from that I couldn't fault the hotel, the staff in particular were excellent, they were very friendly & couldn't do enough for us. A lovely stay & would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a central location, good food, reasonably price & efficient, friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We picked this place for our Istanbul stop during our week long visit to Turkey, solely on its reviews on TA and its location. Being world travelers, but never having been to Istanbul before, we could not have been happier with our selection.

We received a free upgrade when we checked in, as the hotel was not full, which is always a pleasant surprise. (Did that give us a positive bias, maybe! Haha). the rooms were large, comfortable, and well decorated. You will not have the service of, say the luxurios Four Seasons up the street, as there is usually only a single receptionist on duty. However, the receptionist is always friendly and knowledgeable (especially restaurant and bar suggestions), and we were happy with our choice.

You cannot beat the location, as you can walk to every major site, which is a huge plus. Even if you don't stay at this hotel, you should definitely stay in the area. You will see much more, and really be able appreciate the local culture. For example, we were here during Ramadan, and we walked every night to the park in front of the mosque where crowds would gather at dusk to celebrate. What a great experiences! The hotel is also located on a row with many dining options, clubs, and bars. On one hand, this can get noisy if your room faces the street. Ours did, and we were ok, but just pointing that out. However, we also liked the fact that we were able to just walk out the door and partake in the city's nightlife.

For the price and location, this hotel is hard to beat.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JNelsonRedSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep South Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Having never been to Istanbul I had to rely upon reviews to sort through the hundreds of hotels and this turned out to be a good pick. With only two days and nights in town, I wanted a safe, clean place near the main tourist sites and near lively (but not wild) bars and restaurants.

The Senatus was in a great location -- as others say it was less than a 10 minute walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the palace, the Grand Bazaar, etc. Want to see the main sites in Istanbul in a day? -- you can do it from here.

The room was a decent size, clean, well decorated and as good as I expected it to be. The hotel is on a street lined with cafes -- one of few streets like this that I saw in this particular neighborhood -- and had a decent streetside cafe with outdoor seating and a nice place for a drink in the evenings. The staff at both the front desk and restaurant were great for telling us things to do and see. When we wanted to go to a rooftop bar to watch the sunset, they told us which one to go to across the street (sorry, I don't recall the name) and it had a great view of both the water and a stunning nighttime view of the Blue Mosque.

My room faced the rear of the hotel -- no view -- and ther was some noise outside -- but nothing more than you would expect from any city hotel.

The taxi from the airport was 20 minutes or so and not too expensive. We didn't want super budget so chose this for what appeared to be one of the nicer but not pricier independent hotels -- and this fit the bill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2fromTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alper O, Manager at Senatus Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
My dear guest ,
Thank you for a charming review.

I am thrilled you had such a lovely stay with us and very much hope all your other expectations in Istanbul were just as enjoyable. We are honoured you chose Senatus Hotel and rather hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice,that generous review.
Greetings from Istanbul to anyone who is a part your life.

Warm regards,
Alper OZTURK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Otel
Saba Sultan Otel
#50 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#40 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,114 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 1,627 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Property: Senatus Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,114 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing