We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No brainer. You got to stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Senatus Hotel
Ranked #62 of 1,109 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“No brainer. You got to stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We picked this place for our Istanbul stop during our week long visit to Turkey, solely on its reviews on TA and its location. Being world travelers, but never having been to Istanbul before, we could not have been happier with our selection.

We received a free upgrade when we checked in, as the hotel was not full, which is always a pleasant surprise. (Did that give us a positive bias, maybe! Haha). the rooms were large, comfortable, and well decorated. You will not have the service of, say the luxurios Four Seasons up the street, as there is usually only a single receptionist on duty. However, the receptionist is always friendly and knowledgeable (especially restaurant and bar suggestions), and we were happy with our choice.

You cannot beat the location, as you can walk to every major site, which is a huge plus. Even if you don't stay at this hotel, you should definitely stay in the area. You will see much more, and really be able appreciate the local culture. For example, we were here during Ramadan, and we walked every night to the park in front of the mosque where crowds would gather at dusk to celebrate. What a great experiences! The hotel is also located on a row with many dining options, clubs, and bars. On one hand, this can get noisy if your room faces the street. Ours did, and we were ok, but just pointing that out. However, we also liked the fact that we were able to just walk out the door and partake in the city's nightlife.

For the price and location, this hotel is hard to beat.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JNelsonRedSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    165
    20
    0
    1
See reviews for
109
379
58
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deep South Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Having never been to Istanbul I had to rely upon reviews to sort through the hundreds of hotels and this turned out to be a good pick. With only two days and nights in town, I wanted a safe, clean place near the main tourist sites and near lively (but not wild) bars and restaurants.

The Senatus was in a great location -- as others say it was less than a 10 minute walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the palace, the Grand Bazaar, etc. Want to see the main sites in Istanbul in a day? -- you can do it from here.

The room was a decent size, clean, well decorated and as good as I expected it to be. The hotel is on a street lined with cafes -- one of few streets like this that I saw in this particular neighborhood -- and had a decent streetside cafe with outdoor seating and a nice place for a drink in the evenings. The staff at both the front desk and restaurant were great for telling us things to do and see. When we wanted to go to a rooftop bar to watch the sunset, they told us which one to go to across the street (sorry, I don't recall the name) and it had a great view of both the water and a stunning nighttime view of the Blue Mosque.

My room faced the rear of the hotel -- no view -- and ther was some noise outside -- but nothing more than you would expect from any city hotel.

The taxi from the airport was 20 minutes or so and not too expensive. We didn't want super budget so chose this for what appeared to be one of the nicer but not pricier independent hotels -- and this fit the bill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2fromTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alper O, Manager at Senatus Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2016
My dear guest ,
Thank you for a charming review.

I am thrilled you had such a lovely stay with us and very much hope all your other expectations in Istanbul were just as enjoyable. We are honoured you chose Senatus Hotel and rather hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice,that generous review.
Greetings from Istanbul to anyone who is a part your life.

Warm regards,
Alper OZTURK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
358 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Senatus after a cruise from Athens. The hotel is in a great location on a street in the old town lined with restaurants and hotels. The ground floor is taken up mainly by a restaurant, and there is just a tiny and somewhat worn lobby. There is a desk attendand, but no bellboy, etc. although the desk attendand does help with bookings, cabs, etc. Our room faced the street and it was noisy at night - until about 2 in the morning. As mentioned, this is a street lined with restaurants and hotels, so a lot happening.
It is a short walk to the Blue Mosque and other sights, include the Four Season's Hotel, which has a wonderful restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Hotlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Me and my husband spent 4 nights at Senatus Hotel in October 2012. The hotel is a walk away from all the must sees of Istanbul. The rooms are very clean and the service is splendid. The hotel managers are extremely friendly and more than willing to help. We had initially booked an economy room but due a small leak in the bathroom (which got repaired in few hours) , they upgraded us to their best room. And what a room it was..Huge and super cozy !!! We did a trip to Cappadocia for 2 days and they allowed us to leave our bigger bags in the hotel.The breakfast at the restaurant could be a little better. Would definitely stay there if i go to Istanbul again..Thanks for a wonderful experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeeraN82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in mid November 2012 on a short break from the UK. The hotel was quiet with it being the low season, but the staff could not have been more helpful and attentive. The rooms were of a good size and well appointed. The food in the restaurant was also of a good standard - breakfast was part of the package, but we also had dinner in the hotel on one of the evenings. The location of the hotel was excellent, being only a short walk from the major attractions in Sultanahamet. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby and we were spoilt for choice. All in all, very happy to recommend the hotel to other travellers.

It is around 25 mins from the airport, depending on traffic, and a taxi should cost around 40 turkish lira, but beware of taxi drivers who do not use the meter and try and charge more. You can also get there relatively easily by metro and tram fromthe airport, although it is probably a 400 metre walk from the nearest tram stop (some cobbles if wheeling a suitcase!).

Room Tip: We were not disturbed by any noise, but you may want to consider a room at the rear during the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Senatus Hotel for 4 days when participating in the Istanbul marathon. Very nice and clean rooms, perfect location and extremely friendly staff. Try to avoid the budget economy room as it is quite noisy. But our friends immediately got another room when they asked for it. Definitely one to recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife and 2 year old son in Oct 2012. Wasn't expecting the hotel to be so close to all the major attractions in Sultanahmet (5 min walk to the Blue Mosque & Hagia Sophia) and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Hotel staff, especially the guys on reception were very friendly and helpful and were always more than happy to answer any questions we had.
The room was clean and of a decent size but if travelling with a kid, I would suggest you book a larger room than their standard double (also, rooms towards the back of the hotel faces a residential building with people on the balcony so ask for a room facing the front street if you want any sort of a view). A/C worked fine and the shower was amazing. Breakfast provided was Turkish breakfast, which was OK, but a bit more choice on continental items would have been preferred if you (like me) aren't a big fan of cold meats and cheese first thing in the morning.

Access to the hotel with a pram/push chair wasn't the easiest thing as there are a few sets of steps both at the entrance of the hotel as well as from the hotel reception to the lifts, but as we found out, not many places in Istanbul are very child friendly but people are usually happy to assist.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if you want any sort of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#32 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#39 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,109 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#25 of 1,109 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Property: Senatus Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No: 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 1,109 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing