We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummyyyyyyy”
Review of Sultan Kosesi

Sultan Kosesi
Ranked #138 of 13,609 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummyyyyyyy”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This restaurant always comes in on top. We were in Istanbul fr couple days and we wanna try traditional food and that's was amazing nite, we love the food, it was so yummy...
We had an amazing evening. Staff very friendly and service was very professional
The food was very well presented and of very good quality.
we left l full and happy and not many places fall into this category.
Thnks

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikoMutlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    78
    18
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We went here on the night of our arrival.
Didn't know what to order and they had a plan for that.
Ended up getting a large plate of Meze and some bread as starter, then some really nice grilled kebab / chicken / beef / lamb. Then the owner came by and offered us some Turkish coffee as a friendly gesture.

We went from the place stuffed and very happy with our arrival in istanbul. The only downside i can think of was that we didn't tip that well, and no alcohol is served (Apparently quite usual in smaller / cheaper restaurants).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oskar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
2 reviews
“Water jug kebab ”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Read the reviews and decided to try this cafe . What a mistake owner recommend the water jug kebab ,which consisted of some vegetables and some pre cooked meat placed in a clay pot then heated for about 10 mins , the result was pretty foul . Would not recommend the Cafe to my worse enemy

Helpful?
Thank Sjhaze1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harbiyeresidence, Yönetici at Sultan Kosesi, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is unfortunate that you were unsatisfied with the quality of the food and we sincerely wish we could have avoided this foul taste. We would have replaced your plate immediately or offered you something else to your liking. We wish you would inform our service staff right there to make your taste satisfied immediately instead of writing this unfortune comment days laster. Sadly, our guest relation was not present there to check on you during your visit because he was away for a funeral. As you may see from our other guests comments either location as food taste we are one of leading restaurants in Sultanahmet Region, Istanbul. We are deeply sad about your unsatisfied visiting.

In summary, I personally apologize for your less than ideal food experience. I would like to offer something to compensate. ( maybe, next time you come to Istanbul, a full weekend stay at our hotel with all expenses covered )

Please let us know.

Muammer Kaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Turkish food!!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Harbiye Residence hotel and reception recommended to visit this nice restaurant! We were so happy to find this place because we had nice meses and tasty kebab! We visit this place every day because they have a large menu and the portions were so big and we wanted to taste everything!!!! The restaurant doesn't have alcohol but it doesn't matter because the atmosphere is great, food is delicious and there Ottoman serbet is fantastic!!! Owners are coming to greet all the guests!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“delicious food, amazing atmosphere”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I were at this restaurant during our visit to Istanbul.
It is located in the center of Sultanahmet, near the blue mosque.
Тhis part of Istanbul has numerous restaurants, with promoters who stand in front of the entrance and ,as you walk around, they will invite you to come in showing you the menu.
Sometimes it's hard to decide where to eat, but if you choose this restaurant you will not regret it.
When you step inside you have the impression that you left this century and entered into the past, in Ottoman times. This impression is gained because of the specific design, authentic music and food preparation. We sat at a table made ​​of Iznik tiles, and while we were waiting for the ordered meal, they served us freshly baked Turkish bread and spread. We have seen that the food is prepared in an old oven made ​​of brick, which is apparently the oldest part of the restaurant. When we got ordered food it was beautifully served and very tasty.
Soon the owner came to our table to see if we are happy with the service and taste of served food . He was very pleasant and attentive, genuinely interested in our impression.
We told him the truth: it was the most beautiful meal and the most beautiful evening of our five-day stay in Istanbul.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Culum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultan Kosesi also viewed

 

Been to Sultan Kosesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing