We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff, but difficult to sleep!”
Review of May Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
May Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #635 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Whether or not a hotel is good often depends on what you're looking for. This hotel is great if you're looking to stay near the Old City but want to avoid premium prices. It's not so great if you're a light sleeper and plan to spend time relaxing in the hotel as well as being out & about.

The street it's on isn't fantastic - lots of rubbish lying around and a few roadworks during our stay, plus it's an uphill walk to get to Sultanahmet proper - but this didn't bother me too much as we were only walking past for a few minutes each day. The hotel is much nicer on the inside than it appears from the outside! There's a nice reception area and everything is kept clean; the staff we spoke to were all friendly and the one with the strongest English gave us his name so that we could ask for him any time the other staff couldn't understand what we wanted.

The restaurant was only open for breakfast during our stay, which was a shame. Breakfast was a buffet and was fine but no-frills, e.g. no fresh juice. I usually had cereal, yoghurt and honey followed by bread, cheese and sliced oranges (nice and fresh but usually hastily peeled!).

My main problem was getting to sleep at night, obviously not ideal for a hotel! Firstly there was a bit of a sewage smell in the bathroom (and like most places in Turkey, toilet paper has to be binned rather than flushed) so unless we were careful to keep the door closed the smell got into the bedroom. The extractor fan didn't do much to clear it and occasionally we seemed to get someone else's cigarette smoke coming in! (There was no window in the bathroom, I'm not sure if there would be in those of other rooms - ours was 201.) Secondly the outside street was quite noisy throughout the night, and the walls of the hotel pretty thin, which was enough to keep me awake until 2am or 3am. The final problem was that although most things were clean and our rooms were serviced regularly, the net curtains of both windows had stains on them, and occasionally the laundered towels still had a few marks.

Having said all that, the beds themselves were comfortable, the shower worked well, and so overall it was still reasonably good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carriehynds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 236 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

just went on a 5 days n 4 night stay in this hotel.the rooms are clean,the staffs are friendly and helpful.the breakfast is good...i would recommend any of my friends to stay in this hotel...the only drawback is it's situated down the hill.but for any FIT person that's not a problem at all...just 10 minutes walking down the hill from BEYAZIT TRAM STATION..then just 5 minutes walking down from the hotel to reach the awesome BEYAZIT FISH MARKET...many grocery shops along the way to the hotel not a problem at all to buy anything you need...i really enjoyed staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aishahsydali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The May hotel is great. As our very first impression of Istanbul we where greeted by an super nice receptionist who was so helpful and kind. The rooms arent huge but it is ony a place to lay your head down for the night. It is situated a five minute walk from the nearest tram stop, a ten minute walk from the grand bazaar and a two minute walk form the seafood restaurant district. We really enjoyed our stat here, highly reccomended. And sweets on the reception counter are a nice touch, and totally addictive.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Situated in the middle of Fatih, I could walk around literally the whole city. Staff was helpful and bed was comfortable. Size of the room and washroom might irk some people but then again there is a difference between a home and a hotel, and a budget hotel at that.

If I am travelling alone in Istanbul again, I will definitely stay there again. And just recommended it to a colleague.

Room Tip: Try to pick one on the backside of the hotel, will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usmanmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

15 scuba divers plus 1 baby, 3 days.
Sheets are clean. Rooms are clean. Manager and personnel were very helpful.
Our room was cleaned every day, with new towels.
I recommend anyone to review this hotel and try it out before looking at other establishments.

Hotel for recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlada747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Personel is very warm and helpful.. Officer is so kind.. rooms are new and clean..breakfast is full , walking distance to Kumkapi fish rest. .Tram is also at walking distance so transportation is easy to city, old city and airport. Worth what you paid for.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royalosaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is situated in a perfect spot within the Sultan Ahmet area, close to restaurants, grocers, bakery, etc. The room had been just right for me, both safe and extremely clean. The hotel staff had been very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast had been quite delicious and satisfying. I recommend anyone to review this hotel and try it out before looking at other establishments.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Omar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#496 of 1,175 in Istanbul
253 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#358 of 1,175 in Istanbul
135 reviews
Amber Hotel Istanbul
#75 of 1,175 in Istanbul
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Mark Hotel
#824 of 1,175 in Istanbul
72 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#497 of 1,175 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Sultanahmet
Galata Istanbul Hotel
Galata Istanbul Hotel
#606 of 1,175 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Hotel Istanbul

Address: Mimar Hayrettin Mh. Bali Pasa Yokusu Nr: 86 | Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #635 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $27 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — May Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May Hotel is situated in the Sultanahmet district in the centre of Istanbul. All of the rooms have air conditioning and satellite TV. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi. Grand Bazaar is 500 m from the property. The terrace offers panoramic views of Istanbul in the summer. The hotel restaurant serves traditional Turkish cuisine and a variety of drinks can be enjoyed in the bar. The hotel is only 10 minutes walk away from many of Istanbul's historic sights including the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sohpia, Basilica Cistern, and Topkapi Palace. May Hotel Istanbul is 14 km away from Atatürk International Airport. Fatih is a great choice for travelers interested in museums, monuments and architecture. This is our guests' favorite part of Istanbul, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your May Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing