We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, friendly and clean.”
Review of May Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
May Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #635 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The May hotel is great. As our very first impression of Istanbul we where greeted by an super nice receptionist who was so helpful and kind. The rooms arent huge but it is ony a place to lay your head down for the night. It is situated a five minute walk from the nearest tram stop, a ten minute walk from the grand bazaar and a two minute walk form the seafood restaurant district. We really enjoyed our stat here, highly reccomended. And sweets on the reception counter are a nice touch, and totally addictive.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 236 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Situated in the middle of Fatih, I could walk around literally the whole city. Staff was helpful and bed was comfortable. Size of the room and washroom might irk some people but then again there is a difference between a home and a hotel, and a budget hotel at that.

If I am travelling alone in Istanbul again, I will definitely stay there again. And just recommended it to a colleague.

Room Tip: Try to pick one on the backside of the hotel, will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usmanmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

15 scuba divers plus 1 baby, 3 days.
Sheets are clean. Rooms are clean. Manager and personnel were very helpful.
Our room was cleaned every day, with new towels.
I recommend anyone to review this hotel and try it out before looking at other establishments.

Hotel for recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlada747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Personel is very warm and helpful.. Officer is so kind.. rooms are new and clean..breakfast is full , walking distance to Kumkapi fish rest. .Tram is also at walking distance so transportation is easy to city, old city and airport. Worth what you paid for.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royalosaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is situated in a perfect spot within the Sultan Ahmet area, close to restaurants, grocers, bakery, etc. The room had been just right for me, both safe and extremely clean. The hotel staff had been very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast had been quite delicious and satisfying. I recommend anyone to review this hotel and try it out before looking at other establishments.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Omar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The location were the hotel is situated is amazing. Very close to the main attractions such as St Sophia and the blue Mosque.
Unfortunately we have been allocated a double room + an extra bed instead of the triple room I booked and paid for.
The website I booked the hotel with was misleading ( and probably still is) as you think to get a room for 3 people but you are really getting a double + 1 ( which is usually for families with a small child). We were 3 adults and the room was so small we had to take turns to move around; the extra bed was very uncomfortable ( its actually a roll up bed, that's why they are usually suitable for small kids only).
They only have one room big enough for 3 or 4 people and it's the room behind reception ( they hotel only has 21 rooms and they all have the same size apart from the one behind reception ) which was huge.
they manage to move us to that room on the 3rd night ( 4 nights holidays).
the receptrionists and the staff are extremely helpful and I did appreciate the effort they made to move us around.
I managed eventually to complain to the website I used to book and I got some money back for the first two nights.
Overall the hotel is very clean, tidy and the athmosphere is lovely; breakfast is ok, nothing special but very good.

Room Tip: sleep quality was bad the first two night as we all had to sleep on the roll up bed which was unbeli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xmariemx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We're currently staying at the May Hotel and very disappointed. We just returned to discover though the room has been tidied, the sheets haven't been changed. even a 3 star hotel would ensure this. What's the point of house keeping if not even the sheets are going to be changed?

The worse aspect of the whole hotel is the noise. Not only are the walls paper thin but the conversations from reception filter up the stairs making it very hard to sleep. Asking to change rooms was met with a no can do. Will have to buy some ear plugs to get any sleep for our final nights here.

Wish I had just spent the extra and stayed somewhere that deserves the 4 star rating. The location is convenient, but after a full day sight seeing you're not going to get any rest at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferrazm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#496 of 1,175 in Istanbul
253 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#358 of 1,175 in Istanbul
135 reviews
Amber Hotel Istanbul
#75 of 1,175 in Istanbul
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Mark Hotel
#824 of 1,175 in Istanbul
72 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#497 of 1,175 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Sultanahmet
Galata Istanbul Hotel
Galata Istanbul Hotel
#606 of 1,175 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Hotel Istanbul

Address: Mimar Hayrettin Mh. Bali Pasa Yokusu Nr: 86 | Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #635 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $26 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — May Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May Hotel is situated in the Sultanahmet district in the centre of Istanbul. All of the rooms have air conditioning and satellite TV. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi. Grand Bazaar is 500 m from the property. The terrace offers panoramic views of Istanbul in the summer. The hotel restaurant serves traditional Turkish cuisine and a variety of drinks can be enjoyed in the bar. The hotel is only 10 minutes walk away from many of Istanbul's historic sights including the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sohpia, Basilica Cistern, and Topkapi Palace. May Hotel Istanbul is 14 km away from Atatürk International Airport. Fatih is a great choice for travelers interested in museums, monuments and architecture. This is our guests' favorite part of Istanbul, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your May Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing