We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away !!!”
Review of Taksim Fish Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taksim Fish Restaurant
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
Hasselt
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Stay away !!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

On business trip to Istanbul, my collegue and I had dinner in this cheap looking restaurant. We ordered fresh fish from a menu with very reasonable pricing. The food was good but not exceptional. The bill was completely over exagerated. 530 turkish lira for two peaces of sea bass and two tiger shrimps for each of us. Turkish Maffia ! Stay away there, in the neighbourhood are a lot of better occasions !

Helpful?
4 Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad. Really bad restaurant.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Do not go to the restaurant even if you are extremely hungry. You can pay for everything, maybe for the air on plates. Dishes are completely different than on pictures. Food - not fresh and not tasty. In drinks' menu there are no prices, but do not expect regular prices!!! Oh, no! If you are invited by a nice guy, soon you will see second face of dr. Jekyll. Mr Hyde will give you extraorbitant bill and possibly will take you a picture to publish somewhere in Internet. Horrible, dangerous and scam place. Be warned and avoid it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank amurtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“avoid at all costs!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Literally a tourist trap of the worst sort! They managed to inveigle me into ordering prawns and I made the mistake of not determining beforehand what these would cost. They took full advantage of my naivete/foolishness to land me with a grossly inflated bill for the meal of 220 turkish lira ($122) , including 150 turkish lira ($83) for the prawns. They weren't even particularly tasty! The small starter of calamari was rubbery and tasteless.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RichCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“taste”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

taste of kebabs and fishs are different in this country,because of my bussines ı always stay in taksim area and restaurant there are amazing

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank nour7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What you see, is not what you get!”
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

The menu has nice photos, but the amount of food you receive is less than half of the photo. Service is quite slow, and non attentive. Even as pictured, the food is way overpriced compared with other nearby establishments. Though the taste was average, save the trouble, and keep walking!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NHSunFollowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taksim Fish Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing