We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great final taste of Istanbul”

Hayat Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #3,386 of 13,594 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $1 - $18
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Description: Think abaut the good time that you are going to have while you are here ! :)
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great final taste of Istanbul”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our last night and we wanted a true taste of Turkey. We found this close to our hotel and were welcome in. It was lovely and cosy and the service was very polite and quick. I had the Sultans delight a lovely traditional dish of lamb and aubergine, my wife had chicken hagia sofia which was amazing. We were then given free turkish tea and baklava, a perfect way to end our time in istanbul.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rickyboyiswhu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ricany, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Awesomely simple, great food for a good price”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This small corner cafe in this part of Sultanahmet feels like a really warm place among all the fancy expensive restaurants around. Sitting at one of the few tables on the sidewalk you can either enjoy watching the street or the owners preparing your meal right behind your back.
It was ready in no time, our plates were full and it was delicious. Well made local cuisine - fresh salads, great chicken kebab, mixed kebab, meatballs, grilled fish, everything. The service is very friendly and genuine. Once we tried this place with such a welcoming atmosphere we were coming back for a dinner each evening till the end of our stay. And we were not the only ones. The simpliest things are often the best.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maartiinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value, big portions, friendly service”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

All of this near the Blue Mosque but on a quiet street! A local pointed this little cafe out to us and I'm so glad he did. Great (juicy) chicken shish, mezes, and satisfying portions for so, so cheap! Super friendly service as well.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank priskilly707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“take look you will like it.”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

inthis place you can get rest because people are nice and friendly .they are at the corner you can wach the street and eat good food they have very nice meatball and chicken doner kebab prices are normal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seyfullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good Kebabs, friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

With the owners working on your meal just a few feet away from you, you are in for a kebab paradise. Plates were filled up, no skimping on ingredients, reasonably priced, efficient service. We were so glad we got a seat as soon as we entered, since a lot of people had to wait on the sidewalk until the tables got empty. Me being an animal lover also enjoyed the company of well fed cats who'd come by and polietly sit next to you giving you a fixed gaze whilst you ate (do not feed them or else they wont budge). One of my friends, being a vegetarian had some good options for her as well besides the usual lentil soup & aubergine preparations she had to settle for at most places in Istanbul.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScherIrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hayat Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Hayat Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing