We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Rapunzel Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rapunzel Hostel
Ranked #58 of 1,039 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

If you look for a simple, friendly, characterful place to stay at a good, central location, then this is it!

The rooms are simple but characterful and have all the necessary basics: AC, hot water, WIFI, bedlights, etc. On top of that, there is a lot of information all over the building: museum-opening-days and hours in the room, cultural information in the staircase, gallery / temp. exhibitions and concert information in the porch. Breakfast is also basic but varied and plenty. Friendly / helpful owners & staff. On top of that there is the awesome rooftop terrace :-)

Definitely a lot of value (and character) for your money!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhlkurstjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    40
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
19
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Rapunzel is much better than your average grungy hostel. It is located in a very nice neighbourhood, away from the irritating tourist touts. Still there are plenty of restaurants, cafes, shops etc. It is a quick walk to the Istiklal Caddesi and down to the Galata Bridge. The owners are cute hipsters who like playing good music. There is a wonderful rooftop patio with great views of Istanbul. One warning: it's a steep climb from the tram stop while carrying heavy luggage. You might want to take a taxi. Also no one in the neighbourhood know where the hostel was, so carry a map.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Giselle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed in Rapunzel beginning of this month. Is nice, clean and neat. We stayed in Twinbed ensuite. The room was clean, beds are really comftrable and washing room is really good and neat.Breakfast included, wich is great. The staff is very nice and helpfull and the athmosphere is very good.The location is just next to Galata tower. It's very good location cause you can walk around Taksim area and to Sulthanahmet very easily. We will definately go back! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Having experienced some... interesting... hostels before, it's hard to call this place a hostel. It's definitely more of a bed and breakfast if you ask me. Sure, the rooms are like dorms, but this place has everything you need, the breakfasts are fresh every morning, and it's centrally located to make the most out of your trip to Istanbul.

Located right near the Galata Tower, which turns into a fun social gathering place at night in the summer, we could walk around to explore the Taksim side of the city, but it was a quick walk across the bridge to get to all the Sultanahmet sights. Lots of great food and bars nearby.

Only location problem is the street is small so you won't get door to door cab service, but if you walk up the hill toward the tower, there are plenty of cabs driving around when it's time to leave Istanbul.

Have already been recommending this place to friends!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the twin en suite, but beware- the call to prayer is right outside Rapunzel and sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparking29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed two nights here at the end of our tour and found it to be friendly, funky and really clean! The location is perfect for discovering the Galata / Beyoglu area and the nearby tram line makes connecting to the airport and the old city easy as well.

Our twin room with en suite bathroom was spacious and the beds were really comfortable. The breakfast was tasty, fresh and plenty big enough - fresh fruit, cucumber, cheese, olives and toast with DIY coffee or tea. Unfortunately the double rooms are on the first floor right next to the shared bathroom and above the shared social area (which can sometimes be a bit noisy despite the after midnight request for quiet). If you want a decent nights sleep make sure you close the windows or the 5am call to prayer from the mosque next door will scare you awake.

It also pays to bring cash otherwise you'll get hit with an 8% credit card fee.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeriNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I've read the one poor review below and am totally confused as to how anyone could've had a bad experience at a place like Rapunzel! A friend and I stayed in Rapunzel for the first half of our trip and booked another hostel for the last half- this was because we thought we wanted to experience different parts of Istanbul: A stay closer to The Old City and a stay closer to the nightlife in Istiklal/Taksim Square. Of course what we didn't realize was how modest Rapunzel's descriptions were of their location. We regretted not staying with Rapunzel longer because it was relatively quiet (especially compared to the other hostel), very quaint, homely, safe feeling, very cheap, and to say the location was perfect was an understatement. The beds were very comfortable, I loved getting cozy in their comfy down comforters and pillows. Staff came by to make sure the bathrooms were clean every day, and the showers were big and amazing!! They even have a rooftop terrace. Unfortunately it was mostly rainy and cold during my stay in Istanbul but I still had the chance to go up briefly because it is open 24/7- and the view was beautiful! I didn't feel the need to pay money to go up the Galata Tower for a view because of the terrace and the terrace views of Konak Cafe (which is less than 1 block away to the left of Rapunzel). I could honestly go on and on about how amazing Rapunzel was but all in all, I definitely recommend Rapunzel to anyone traveling in Istanbul; my friend would agree that Rapunzel helped make our stay in Istanbul even more memorable with the VERY friendly and helpful staff, location and ambiance of the hostel. We are very lucky to have found a place like Rapunzel for our first visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed with a friend in a two-bed private room in this guest house for 4 nights. The charming room was spacious, clean, and cozy. The location is amazing, in a quiet area near Galata Tower, minutes away from all the busy shopping and great nightlife in nearby Istiklal. The hip staff are extemely caring and go out of their way to make sure the guests are safe and enjoying their stay. When my friend and I stayed out all night after finding a great party, the staff called us to see if we were okay! So cute! They were happy to recommend fun events and good venues. There's always amazing music playing in the lounge, and a great selection of international films to watch when you need a few hours to relax. The place makes you feel right at home immediately, which is so refreshing after having stayed at so many impersonal hostels around the world. Thanks to everyone at Rapunzel who made our stay amazing! :)

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeDeval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#57 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata Hostel - 2
Galata Hostel - 2
#640 of 1,194 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Beyoglu
Suiteness Taksim Hotel
Suiteness Taksim Hotel
#328 of 1,039 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Astan Hotel Galata
Astan Hotel Galata
#92 of 1,039 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Beyoglu
Downtown Istanbul
Downtown Istanbul
#27 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Beyoglu
Art Nouveau Galata
Art Nouveau Galata
#38 of 1,039 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rapunzel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rapunzel Hostel

Property: Rapunzel Hostel
Address: Bereketzade District Bereketzade Cami Str. No:3 Arapcami, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 1,039 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rapunzel Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rapunzel Hostel is centrally located in the hip and happening area of Istanbul, "Galata" (in the Beyoglu district) offering a budget hostel next to the famous Galata Tower. Istiklal Street, with its nightlife, shopping and famous cosmopolitan atmosphere is only 5 min away;as is Tunel square, which is officially the trendiest place in Istanbul right now, with a mixture of cool cafes and bars. The old city "Sultanahmet", which holds all the principal monuments of Istanbul, is also 5 min away by tram. The nearest metro station is 2 min, tram and bus stops are 3 min walking distance away from our beloved hostel. It is a place at the heart of the city, offering you a cosy and comfortable base from which to explore the unforgettable beauty of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Rapunzel Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing