We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hindi speaking staff”

Dubb Ethnic Restaurant
Reserve with
Dubb Ethnic Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #202 of 13,399 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hindi speaking staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had our lunch in this restaurant. The staff was extremely courteous. They knew we were coming from India, so the owner spoke only Hindi and that too very good. We were served Indian cuisine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    132
    42
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DEN HAAG
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Thieves in Istanbul”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I spent six days in Istanbul. On the first day, I went to Swaad Indian restaurant. The food was great. As I was leaving the staff said to recommend them on Tripadvisor. I thought to myself..well okay. But on the last night in Istanbul, we had food at Dubbs. It was the biggest rip of as both Indian food and for dinner. I am Indian, and have had Indian in every major city. This was undoubtedly the worst. The soup was a yellow salty liquid, and the vindaloo was pieces of chicken in a thin tomato sauce. Completely inedible, and an insult to Indian food across every continent. I paid 100 lira for this rubbish. After the meal, I said, I must recommend Swaad because they know what real Indian food is like. Don't go to this place. Unless you want to get ripped off food wise and money wise. A total waste of time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank VICTORIADenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DUBB ETHNIc RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Although Turkish run this restaurant has an Indian chef who has worked there for 16 years and really knows his stuff! Dubb is probably one of the best Indian restaurants we have ever eaten in. It has a real feel of India about it and is conveniently located near the Blue Mosque. Excellent food, reasonable prices and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average to poor....accountants have taken over”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Went here on a recommendation. Meze starter was tiny, poorly presented and tasteless. Mains were better, average price high 30TL plus, for the quality and size of the dishes. Drinks very overpriced. Waiter only interested in upselling as much as he could. Ok food at high prices. You can eat far better for half the cost nearby. Only poor meal we had in Istanbul.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HPS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“If you love Indian, you will be glad you visited.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

It had been a while since my wife and I had some really good Indian food. We found this place on T/A and since we stayed at a nearby hotel, took a short walk to Dubb. The atmosphere was relaxed and the waiters were friendly. Compared to local Turkish restaurants the food isn't cheap but that was ok since the quality and taste made up for it. We had a korma and butter chicken. The food was delivered fast. Well worth checking it out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_with_Bender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubb Ethnic Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dubb Ethnic Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing