We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious..”
Review of Liman Lokantasi

Liman Lokantasi
Ranked #3,487 of 13,594 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $50 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Karakoy
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious..”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great service, delicious food, you can't choose a better location..
You are right on the water, Bosporus strait on the European side.

A must..

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Ziya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great night, great view”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It is a wierd place to find for sure ... but once there the view of the Istanbul skyline and the Bosphorus is great. It is sort of like getting to an illicit speakeasy .... Meze good, main course fish was delicious. Didn't need the seafood course in between - deep fried squid was very chewy and I can't remember the other deep fried items so they can't have been very good - I think I passed them on to my pals! Stuffed by the end of the meal! Good value for everything considering the beer and wine is included and the entertainment. The belly dancer was quality, and the Turkish band were very good too .... just a little loud but then we were close to them. I would definately return if I could ever find the place again?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles,CA
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Last Night in Istanbul”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

E-mailed them and made a reservation, which they had upon our arrival.....From the cruise dock it was a little confusing walking there, but we found it ok. There was a claustrophobic elevator and so we didn't walk up 3 flights of stairs after walking around all day.... Restaurant is not lit up on the street side, and you have to look for the awning with the name. Once you get up to the restaurant, it is beautifully lit by lots of candles in the entrance way. Tables are set up in tandem, so everybody can get a fantastic view of the beautiful Bosphorus, and the moon which I swear looked like Jupiter....We were able to get an English speaking waiter who was more than helpful in helping us order. We actually had another waiter, but this one told us to ask for him b/c he was serving at other tables. What could be warmer or nicer. Everyone in the restaurant appeared to be having a great time--alot of locals---and Turkish music, which my husband loved. (But no Belly Dancer...) Great food, 2 rounds of Raki,--they left us alone---love Istanbul!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 24butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun is guarenteed but the meal is average..”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Food is ok but not has the same quality of view, fun&service. High volume Turkish music and belly dancers show is good... Good place to bring your customers or your tourist friends

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, United States
2 reviews
“Our best meal in Istanbul”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

As we walked up a rather run-down looking 5 flights of stairs, I was a bit worried about making this choice for our special meal with friends but am so glad we kept going up!
Perched just above the Bosphorus and all windows. The decor is eclectic and a mix of odd/luxe but that just adds to the charm. The service was impeccable and the food was fantastic. They brought out all of their mezzes for us to point to our choices, helped with the language barrier although the staff spoke English pretty well. Everything we tried was great including the Sarafin wine. Great place to take over with a large group. Highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liman Lokantasi also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Liman Lokantasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing