We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”
Review of Raymond Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raymond Blue Hotel
Ranked #298 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This was a well designed boutique hotel with very nice, upscale feel. Bathroom was nicely tiled with a great shower and everything just worked perfectly. The bed was ridiculously comfortable, so relaxing we had trouble getting out of bed everyday. The price was a bit higher than we could get from a small hotel closer to the water, but the feel was definitely more luxury.

The breakfast spread was fantastic, something we looked forward to. The hotel also has a nice roof top terrace with great views but this under-marketed and could get a lot more attention which it deserves.

Just 5 minutes awalk from Topacki palace and a 10 min walk to aya sofia, the hotel was centrally located. We were amazed that so many of our friends ended up staying at these hotels that were 20-30 minutes walk from the mosques when there were in fact so many great deals like the raymond that were much closer and more convenient.

The staff were very friendly, laid back attitude, but attentive and generous as to guests´needs. We would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheetahbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissamarta, Director of Sales at Raymond Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks a lot for your nice comment.
We hope to see you again.


Best Regards
Sales and Marketing Manager
Melissa DONUKOK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 570 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2011

Our first four days getting to know Istanbul was spent in Raymond Hotel. Great breakfasts in hotel restaurant included in price. Rooms had a bit of romance in the decor, tasteful. Nice rooftop for sunset drinks, views of city.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjayistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissamarta, Director of Sales at Raymond Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks a lot for your nice comment.
We hope to see you again.


Best Regards
Sales and Marketing Manager
Melissa DONUKOK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Great central location, close to transport where needed. Able to walk to most sightseeing areas. Staff are excellent, friendly and very helpful. Wifi free. Some rooms are maybe not spacious, however the rooms are spotless clean. Beds had a firm clean matress with clean bedlinen. Bathrooms were spotless, clean towels and good running warm water. Street noise was minimal when windows were closed. [streetnoise can be heard anywhere in busy Istanbul]. Breakfast was excellent offering plenty of choices on a daily basis. Staff in the restaurant were very friendly and offered a good service.

Room Tip: be specific and staff can accomodate accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verstegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissamarta, Director of Sales at Raymond Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Dear Valued Guest

Thanks a lot for your nice comment .
We hope to see you again.


Best Regards
Sales and Marketing Manager
Melissa DONUKOK
Bu yanıt bir yönetim temsilcisinin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed a week in June 2011 and couldn't be happier. Location is perfect, a short walk between the Spice Market and Blue Mosque. Comfortable, extremely well appointed and spotlessly clean room with large bathroom. Breakfast couldn't be much better. Melisa (Reservation Manager), was there to provide any assistance one would need and the front desk staff became friends. Great people. What a friendly and welcoming atmosphere to return to after a long day of touring. Superb dining room and staff. Highly recommend and will return. Of the many hotels I've stayed at in Istanbul the Raymond rates at the top.

Room Tip: Talk to Melisa personally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwpyvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissamarta, Director of Sales at Raymond Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment .
We are glad that you found our staff great.
In all our team are always ready to make guests feel happy.
We hope to see you again in near future.

Best Regards
Sales and Marketing Manager
Melissa DONUKOK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We spent four nights in the Raymond Hotel and had a great experience. The hotel has a fabulous location. It's in the heart of the old town, 5 minutes walk from the Hagia Sofia and less than 10 from the bridge across the golden horn. The breakfast was relaxed and with sufficient options that it wasn't repative. The ground floor lounge space was a pleasant area and we had an excellent wi-fi connection. The room was clean and nice, if not overly large and the rates were excellent as was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We booked a Bosphorous cruise through the hotel and found it to be reasonable as well.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKQTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissamarta, Director of Sales at Raymond Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment .

We hope to see you again in near future.


Best Regards
Sales and Marketing Manager
Melissa DONUKOK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

AA lovely place with tidy comfortable rooms. Close to everywhere. Not noisy and safe to stay.
Breakfast is not an impressive side of the hotel. It is good but might be better.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissamarta, Director of Sales at Raymond Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment .
We have already improved in our Breakfast.
We hope to see you again in near future.


Best Regards
Sales and Marketing Manager
Melissa DONUKOK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The Raymond just about has it all: location, tastefully decorated rooms, a pleasant roof terrace, friendly, helpful staff and at least when I stayed, rates that compared very favorably to other places close by. My bed was nice and firm, wifi is free and strong, and double glazed windows completely mask the noise of air conditioning units outside. It's located just steps from Gülhane tram stop, ideal for visiting Topkapi and the Archeology Museum, but also the Aya Sofia, the Blue Mosque and everything from the Spice Bazaar to the Grand Bazaar. Galata on the other side of the Golden Horn is also easily accessible, and the ferries to go further afield are also nearby.

My room had nothing in the way of a view, but I spent an afternoon in the sun on the roof and enjoyed a nightcap up there too, taking in the views over the water. The restaurant/breakfast area downstairs (reached through a dark lobby area that is functional rather than inviting) offers a nice surprise: it looks out onto a cobblestone street at the back of the hotel. My room was a tad small, but had everything I needed.

Staff was great and on the couple of occasions I saw them dealing with demanding guests, their attitude was patient and professional. They use the terrace as their smoking area, but didn't bother me at all as I spent an afternoon relaxing in the sun, except to occasionally offer me tea or water.

There are many hotels in Istanbul, many in fact on the same street. I can't claim to have seen them all, but I know that the next time I go back to Istanbul, I won't have to spend time looking around. I'll head straight for the Raymond.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vincentinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissamarta, Director of Sales at Raymond Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks a lot for your nice comment.
We hope to see you again.


Best Regards
Sales and Marketing Manager
Melissa DONUKOK
Bu yanıt bir yönetim temsilcisinin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#201 of 1,175 in Istanbul
340 reviews
Sultanahmet
Raymound Blue Hotel
Raymound Blue Hotel
#509 of 1,175 in Istanbul
32 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#270 of 1,175 in Istanbul
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Emine Sultan Hotel & Suites
Emine Sultan Hotel & Suites
#225 of 1,175 in Istanbul
728 reviews
Divani Ali Hotel
#397 of 1,175 in Istanbul
188 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#346 of 1,175 in Istanbul
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raymond Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raymond Blue Hotel

Address: Ebussuut Caddesi No:22 Sirkeci | Old City Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $33 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raymond Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raymond Hotel Sultanahmet boasts the best location in town, at Sultanahmet in the heart of the historical Peninsula. Being just 18km from Ataturk Airport and a short walk from tram station, this boutique hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Istanbul. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. All rooms include a complimantary tea& coffee facilities and individually controllable climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Raymond Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing