We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel "California"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel California Istanbul
Ranked #985 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was in Istanbul some years ago and stayed in this hotel: {'California" ]for a week.It is situated in the very heart of the city in the European part. It is a decent, economy class hotel.The advantage of it is it's situation,close to all most important and beautiful sights.They are only some " steps "aside..You can even walk there/. It is just close to the Grand Bazar,The .Cistern., e.t.c
The receptionists were very kind and helpful.The breakfast was decent.too. At leasI it was enough for me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelly519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 80 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent two weeks at the Hotel California. Clean comfortable rooms and very helpful staff. We would definately return to this hotel for another visit.Modern facilities. We were there in very cold weather and there was always lots of heat and hot water. Arthur and Linda

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

With a lyrical name like, the Hotel California, I really didn't know what to expect upon checking into the hotel. Somehow, I thought I might encounter some leftover hippies from the 70's running a flop house. I was very pleasantly surprised. A brief word of advice, when visiting Istanbul, all you want is clean safe place to lay your head at night. There is so much to see and experience, that lodging becomes secondary. With the Hotel California, the location is great, really great. We were 5 minutes away, by walking, to get to the Grand Bazaar. In the opposite direction was the Otto-park. Each night we walked down there to share in the experience of the Muslims breaking their fast during Ramadan. It was a true festival of lights and aromas and excitement.
The hotel rooms tend to be small; althought they are very comfortable. Make sure that when booking a room that it has air conditioning. In the nearby neighborhood, there are many restaurants and small grocery stores to purchase any small items. For me the morning buffet breakfast was not worth the effort; but if you like a light breakfast, it is excellent.
But you will certainly enjoy the location!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zablob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We got a room that has a "window" without a view. The window opens into a ventilation shaft. The air conditioning is (as usual with many hotels) covered in dust and mould because they never clean the AC unit, and the room is hot. The refrigerator is not an ordinary refrigerator but a peltier-element one which is highly efficent. I pulled the plug on the refrigerator because it doesn't cool anything (peltier refrigerators can barely keep cool drinks cool) but instead it just warms the room.

The hotel looks very nice (the lobby, everything is quite clean) but the lack of a window for ventilation and dirty A/C are very annoying. The door locks are ridiculous, they are not real unique locks but rather just slabs of metal on a stick (it's easy to open any door even without the key), so you can't really consider the rooms safe for keeping your valuables in.

Breakfast was very basic but ok. Room cleaning was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent 4 nights in this hotel around New Year's eve 2010 - 2011 with some friends.

We knew we were opting for a basic hotel and we were not disappointed at all: the location is great to walk around the city and the room was big value for money (altough we had a triple room even if we were only two guests!).

The staff was OK, the breakfast really basic as well as the decoration of the rooms, that were anyway kept tidy and neat all the time.

If you're looking for a budget hotel that is clean and centrally located, without big expectations about comfort and frills, this may be the right choice for you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorepansana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Excellent location, close to all major sights, we only had to take a cab once during our 5 days stay.
The price we paid was a bargain. We booked on-line and it was much cheaper than expected.
staff were friendly and nice, they always offer us tea and coffee, not all of them could speak English but we never had any communication issue and we always managed to tell them what we need or want.
Breakfast was the same for the 5 days but it was nice so I can't really complain.

Room Tip: room on 1st floor seemed to have a better wifi connection than that on 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Absolutely recommend this hotel primarily because of its excellent location, 2 minutes to the station Cemberlitas, 5 minutes walk to the Grand Bazzar and 10 minutes from other attractions. Rooms are clean and tidy, solid breakfast, quiet street, the staff perfectly ... Next time, my choice would be again this hotel :):)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maybug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#581 of 1,171 in Istanbul
103 reviews
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#458 of 1,171 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Express Inci Hotel
#559 of 1,171 in Istanbul
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#494 of 1,171 in Istanbul
123 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Newport Hotel
Sultanahmet Newport Hotel
#689 of 1,171 in Istanbul
48 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#464 of 1,171 in Istanbul
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Istanbul

Address: Eminsinan Mah. Camii Sok. No:55 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #985 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $21 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel California Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing