We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location/pleasant experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California Istanbul
Ranked #856 of 1,111 Hotels in Istanbul
boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location/pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent two weeks at the Hotel California. Clean comfortable rooms and very helpful staff. We would definately return to this hotel for another visit.Modern facilities. We were there in very cold weather and there was always lots of heat and hot water. Arthur and Linda

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
6
28
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mableton, Georgia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

With a lyrical name like, the Hotel California, I really didn't know what to expect upon checking into the hotel. Somehow, I thought I might encounter some leftover hippies from the 70's running a flop house. I was very pleasantly surprised. A brief word of advice, when visiting Istanbul, all you want is clean safe place to lay your head at night. There is so much to see and experience, that lodging becomes secondary. With the Hotel California, the location is great, really great. We were 5 minutes away, by walking, to get to the Grand Bazaar. In the opposite direction was the Otto-park. Each night we walked down there to share in the experience of the Muslims breaking their fast during Ramadan. It was a true festival of lights and aromas and excitement.
The hotel rooms tend to be small; althought they are very comfortable. Make sure that when booking a room that it has air conditioning. In the nearby neighborhood, there are many restaurants and small grocery stores to purchase any small items. For me the morning buffet breakfast was not worth the effort; but if you like a light breakfast, it is excellent.
But you will certainly enjoy the location!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zablob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We got a room that has a "window" without a view. The window opens into a ventilation shaft. The air conditioning is (as usual with many hotels) covered in dust and mould because they never clean the AC unit, and the room is hot. The refrigerator is not an ordinary refrigerator but a peltier-element one which is highly efficent. I pulled the plug on the refrigerator because it doesn't cool anything (peltier refrigerators can barely keep cool drinks cool) but instead it just warms the room.

The hotel looks very nice (the lobby, everything is quite clean) but the lack of a window for ventilation and dirty A/C are very annoying. The door locks are ridiculous, they are not real unique locks but rather just slabs of metal on a stick (it's easy to open any door even without the key), so you can't really consider the rooms safe for keeping your valuables in.

Breakfast was very basic but ok. Room cleaning was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent 4 nights in this hotel around New Year's eve 2010 - 2011 with some friends.

We knew we were opting for a basic hotel and we were not disappointed at all: the location is great to walk around the city and the room was big value for money (altough we had a triple room even if we were only two guests!).

The staff was OK, the breakfast really basic as well as the decoration of the rooms, that were anyway kept tidy and neat all the time.

If you're looking for a budget hotel that is clean and centrally located, without big expectations about comfort and frills, this may be the right choice for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorepansana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Excellent location, close to all major sights, we only had to take a cab once during our 5 days stay.
The price we paid was a bargain. We booked on-line and it was much cheaper than expected.
staff were friendly and nice, they always offer us tea and coffee, not all of them could speak English but we never had any communication issue and we always managed to tell them what we need or want.
Breakfast was the same for the 5 days but it was nice so I can't really complain.

Room Tip: room on 1st floor seemed to have a better wifi connection than that on 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Absolutely recommend this hotel primarily because of its excellent location, 2 minutes to the station Cemberlitas, 5 minutes walk to the Grand Bazzar and 10 minutes from other attractions. Rooms are clean and tidy, solid breakfast, quiet street, the staff perfectly ... Next time, my choice would be again this hotel :):)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maybug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

First of all, this hotel has a great location, in just 10 minutes by foot you can arrive to the Blue mosque and Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern..etc., which is one of the important thing tourists are searching for when they're planning their trip.
The rooms are very tidy, clean and the towels are changed daily.
Rooms aren't huge, but after all, if you need a huge room, you should better stay at the Hilton..:):)
The breakfast is also nice and the food is tasty.
The staff is great, always ready for any kind of questions, nice and helpful.
All in all, a veeery reasonable price for a great stay!
Apsolutely recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDI256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#364 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#833 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hotel
Antique Hotel
#694 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#320 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Sultanahmet
Harmony Hotel Istanbul
Harmony Hotel Istanbul
#333 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#266 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Istanbul

Property: Hotel California Istanbul
Address: Eminsinan Mah. Gedikpasa Camii Sokak No 55 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #856 of 1,111 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel California Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing