We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel California Istanbul
Ranked #821 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed September 7, 2012

With a lyrical name like, the Hotel California, I really didn't know what to expect upon checking into the hotel. Somehow, I thought I might encounter some leftover hippies from the 70's running a flop house. I was very pleasantly surprised. A brief word of advice, when visiting Istanbul, all you want is clean safe place to lay your head at night. There is so much to see and experience, that lodging becomes secondary. With the Hotel California, the location is great, really great. We were 5 minutes away, by walking, to get to the Grand Bazaar. In the opposite direction was the Otto-park. Each night we walked down there to share in the experience of the Muslims breaking their fast during Ramadan. It was a true festival of lights and aromas and excitement.
The hotel rooms tend to be small; althought they are very comfortable. Make sure that when booking a room that it has air conditioning. In the nearby neighborhood, there are many restaurants and small grocery stores to purchase any small items. For me the morning buffet breakfast was not worth the effort; but if you like a light breakfast, it is excellent.
But you will certainly enjoy the location!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zablob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Hotel California Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 77 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

We got a room that has a "window" without a view. The window opens into a ventilation shaft. The air conditioning is (as usual with many hotels) covered in dust and mould because they never clean the AC unit, and the room is hot. The refrigerator is not an ordinary refrigerator but a peltier-element one which is highly efficent. I pulled the plug on the refrigerator because it doesn't cool anything (peltier refrigerators can barely keep cool drinks cool) but instead it just warms the room.

The hotel looks very nice (the lobby, everything is quite clean) but the lack of a window for ventilation and dirty A/C are very annoying. The door locks are ridiculous, they are not real unique locks but rather just slabs of metal on a stick (it's easy to open any door even without the key), so you can't really consider the rooms safe for keeping your valuables in.

Breakfast was very basic but ok. Room cleaning was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent 4 nights in this hotel around New Year's eve 2010 - 2011 with some friends.

We knew we were opting for a basic hotel and we were not disappointed at all: the location is great to walk around the city and the room was big value for money (altough we had a triple room even if we were only two guests!).

The staff was OK, the breakfast really basic as well as the decoration of the rooms, that were anyway kept tidy and neat all the time.

If you're looking for a budget hotel that is clean and centrally located, without big expectations about comfort and frills, this may be the right choice for you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorepansana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Excellent location, close to all major sights, we only had to take a cab once during our 5 days stay.
The price we paid was a bargain. We booked on-line and it was much cheaper than expected.
staff were friendly and nice, they always offer us tea and coffee, not all of them could speak English but we never had any communication issue and we always managed to tell them what we need or want.
Breakfast was the same for the 5 days but it was nice so I can't really complain.

Room Tip: room on 1st floor seemed to have a better wifi connection than that on 3rd.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Absolutely recommend this hotel primarily because of its excellent location, 2 minutes to the station Cemberlitas, 5 minutes walk to the Grand Bazzar and 10 minutes from other attractions. Rooms are clean and tidy, solid breakfast, quiet street, the staff perfectly ... Next time, my choice would be again this hotel :):)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maybug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

First of all, this hotel has a great location, in just 10 minutes by foot you can arrive to the Blue mosque and Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern..etc., which is one of the important thing tourists are searching for when they're planning their trip.
The rooms are very tidy, clean and the towels are changed daily.
Rooms aren't huge, but after all, if you need a huge room, you should better stay at the Hilton..:):)
The breakfast is also nice and the food is tasty.
The staff is great, always ready for any kind of questions, nice and helpful.
All in all, a veeery reasonable price for a great stay!
Apsolutely recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDI256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Very convenient to all Istanbul sights. A/C and refrigerator not quite up to par. Clean, very small room.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#552 of 1,159 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Express Inci Hotel
#622 of 1,159 in Istanbul
14 reviews
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#388 of 1,159 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#583 of 1,159 in Istanbul
223 reviews
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#497 of 1,159 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#500 of 1,159 in Istanbul
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Istanbul

Address: Eminsinan Mah. Camii Sok. No:55 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #821 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $22 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel California Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing