We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Looks ok but some rooms are crappy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California Istanbul
Ranked #861 of 1,114 Hotels in Istanbul
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Looks ok but some rooms are crappy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We got a room that has a "window" without a view. The window opens into a ventilation shaft. The air conditioning is (as usual with many hotels) covered in dust and mould because they never clean the AC unit, and the room is hot. The refrigerator is not an ordinary refrigerator but a peltier-element one which is highly efficent. I pulled the plug on the refrigerator because it doesn't cool anything (peltier refrigerators can barely keep cool drinks cool) but instead it just warms the room.

The hotel looks very nice (the lobby, everything is quite clean) but the lack of a window for ventilation and dirty A/C are very annoying. The door locks are ridiculous, they are not real unique locks but rather just slabs of metal on a stick (it's easy to open any door even without the key), so you can't really consider the rooms safe for keeping your valuables in.

Breakfast was very basic but ok. Room cleaning was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
6
28
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent 4 nights in this hotel around New Year's eve 2010 - 2011 with some friends.

We knew we were opting for a basic hotel and we were not disappointed at all: the location is great to walk around the city and the room was big value for money (altough we had a triple room even if we were only two guests!).

The staff was OK, the breakfast really basic as well as the decoration of the rooms, that were anyway kept tidy and neat all the time.

If you're looking for a budget hotel that is clean and centrally located, without big expectations about comfort and frills, this may be the right choice for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorepansana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Excellent location, close to all major sights, we only had to take a cab once during our 5 days stay.
The price we paid was a bargain. We booked on-line and it was much cheaper than expected.
staff were friendly and nice, they always offer us tea and coffee, not all of them could speak English but we never had any communication issue and we always managed to tell them what we need or want.
Breakfast was the same for the 5 days but it was nice so I can't really complain.

Room Tip: room on 1st floor seemed to have a better wifi connection than that on 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Absolutely recommend this hotel primarily because of its excellent location, 2 minutes to the station Cemberlitas, 5 minutes walk to the Grand Bazzar and 10 minutes from other attractions. Rooms are clean and tidy, solid breakfast, quiet street, the staff perfectly ... Next time, my choice would be again this hotel :):)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maybug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

First of all, this hotel has a great location, in just 10 minutes by foot you can arrive to the Blue mosque and Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern..etc., which is one of the important thing tourists are searching for when they're planning their trip.
The rooms are very tidy, clean and the towels are changed daily.
Rooms aren't huge, but after all, if you need a huge room, you should better stay at the Hilton..:):)
The breakfast is also nice and the food is tasty.
The staff is great, always ready for any kind of questions, nice and helpful.
All in all, a veeery reasonable price for a great stay!
Apsolutely recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDI256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Very convenient to all Istanbul sights. A/C and refrigerator not quite up to par. Clean, very small room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England,
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

i recently stayed at this hotel with my friend january 2012 and we were amazed at how clean and nicely decorated the rooms were. great location, easy to get to main attractions and especially tram stop Cemberlitas which you can get to kabatas then underground to taksim. like under a 10 minute walk to blue mosque, hagia sophia and grand bazaar and also to starbucks!
Mini-bar in room reasonably priced. Some rooms dont have a view its just a matter of what you get. On my next visit to istanbul i would definatly be considering to returning to this hotel!

Room Tip: Try asking in advance for a room that has a window or view, as middle rooms had no daylight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenz_nottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#329 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hotel
Antique Hotel
#698 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#825 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Gulhane Corner Hotel
Gulhane Corner Hotel
#567 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Emir
Hotel Emir
#416 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Reyyan Hotel
#314 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Istanbul

Property: Hotel California Istanbul
Address: Eminsinan Mah. Gedikpasa Camii Sokak No 55 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #861 of 1,114 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel California Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing