We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, A Few Quirks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel California Istanbul
Ranked #819 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Very convenient to all Istanbul sights. A/C and refrigerator not quite up to par. Clean, very small room.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Hotel California Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 77 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

i recently stayed at this hotel with my friend january 2012 and we were amazed at how clean and nicely decorated the rooms were. great location, easy to get to main attractions and especially tram stop Cemberlitas which you can get to kabatas then underground to taksim. like under a 10 minute walk to blue mosque, hagia sophia and grand bazaar and also to starbucks!
Mini-bar in room reasonably priced. Some rooms dont have a view its just a matter of what you get. On my next visit to istanbul i would definatly be considering to returning to this hotel!

Room Tip: Try asking in advance for a room that has a window or view, as middle rooms had no daylight...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenz_nottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Perfect location. Just around corner from main street ( tram station ) 10 minutes walking to blue mosque and Hagia Sofia.... Helpfull staff, great clean rooms and nice breakfast. Great value for veeery reasonable price.
Recomended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This hotel was very close to the tram stop Cemberlitas which is one stop away from the very touristy area, Sultanahmet. For the price it was amazingly clean, the showers had good water pressure and we never lacked hot water. There is also free Wifi :)

The staff were really nice; even when my friends and I would come home at 5 in the morning, someone was always there to open the door for us (they lock the front door of the hotel at night). I would recommend this place for sure. Near the tram station, which is on a main road, there are tons of restaurants and sweet shops and the walk down to Sultanahmet is quite nice. It's very close to the Grand Bazaar as well.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Clean quiet budget hotel. This was my second visit and I stayed 22 days this time. I hope to return. Helpful staff. Clean rooms. Turkish breakfast. Easy walking distance to historic sites and shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Cosy hotel at a great location.... right at the centre of Sultanahmet area. 2 mins walk from Cemberlitas tram station. All the main attractions in the old part of the city area are just few mins walk away. Room was cleaned and towels were changed daily. Breakfast menu was pretty basic and was not changed (for the five days I stayed). Staff were warm and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gopalakrishnan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

we stayed for 2 nights, great low budget hotel, nice room , the breakfast was full, very clean, the staff very helpful and all the famous monuments in walking distance..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#557 of 1,159 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Express Inci Hotel
#619 of 1,159 in Istanbul
14 reviews
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#390 of 1,159 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#562 of 1,159 in Istanbul
222 reviews
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#498 of 1,159 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#501 of 1,159 in Istanbul
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Istanbul

Address: Eminsinan Mah. Camii Sok. No:55 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #819 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $22 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel California Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing