We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location/great price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel California Istanbul
Ranked #863 of 1,108 Hotels in Istanbul
boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location/great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Clean quiet budget hotel. This was my second visit and I stayed 22 days this time. I hope to return. Helpful staff. Clean rooms. Turkish breakfast. Easy walking distance to historic sites and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
6
28
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Cosy hotel at a great location.... right at the centre of Sultanahmet area. 2 mins walk from Cemberlitas tram station. All the main attractions in the old part of the city area are just few mins walk away. Room was cleaned and towels were changed daily. Breakfast menu was pretty basic and was not changed (for the five days I stayed). Staff were warm and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_and_Living30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

we stayed for 2 nights, great low budget hotel, nice room , the breakfast was full, very clean, the staff very helpful and all the famous monuments in walking distance..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

small street , no Taxi driver khnow the place , no view , small room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahmedmohamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Moscow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel 8 nights and I can score it as "well" or "very well".
Convenient location (tramway stop - Cemberlitas), just 5-7 minutes on foot to the main attactions of Sultanahmet (Aya Sophia, Blue Mosque etc).
Rooms was not too big but very clean (they changed towels and bed linen every day). There are little safe-box in the room, and fridge with free bottle of water which housemaid brought each day. Enough comfortable bed.
Breakfast is a little boring if u stay there week or more, but it`s ok to feel not hungry till dinner. They serve bread and butter, a few kind of jam, cheese, tomatoes and cucumbers, olives, cakes, eggs. U can take hot water and tea everytime when u want.
I would recommend this hotel. For this price it is very attractive offer in the Sultanahmet! Thanks for our pleasant stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena_Marlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Very good hotel, nice stuff , but bad breakfast.great location.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDoumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

After reading critical reviews of many boutique hotels in Old Istanbul I thought I would provide some insight into this type of hotel. These are not five star lavish hotels they are basically converted homes and if you look at it as if you are renting out a bedroom then these critiques are completely false. We stayed in the California Hotel and found the accomodations clean adequate and a great value. We talked to numerous tourist who stayed at other hotels in the area, paying double what we did having horrible experiences. The staff at the California were polite, helpful and very kind. The breakfast was typical Turkish, bread, boiled eggs and some vegtables. The location was absolutely amazing- we took the metro from the airport for under $5 US as it was only a block from the Cemberitas station. We walked to all the historic sights and even visited the Grand Bazaar the morning we checked out- yes it was only a few blocks away. This is a perfect place in a safe, clean neighborhood with a wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Book a three person room - we used the extra bed for luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEBAND56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Serife Sirin Hanim Konagi
#657 of 1,108 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Sultanahmet
Miran Hotel
Miran Hotel
#170 of 1,108 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Sultanahmet
Serenity Hotel Istanbul
Serenity Hotel Istanbul
#981 of 1,108 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Inn Hotel
Istanbul Inn Hotel
#536 of 1,108 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,002 of 1,108 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Emir
Hotel Emir
#442 of 1,108 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Istanbul

Property: Hotel California Istanbul
Address: Eminsinan Mah. Camii Sok. No:55 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #863 of 1,108 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel California Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing