We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California Istanbul

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel California Istanbul
Ranked #875 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Very good hotel, nice stuff , but bad breakfast.great location.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDoumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
6
28
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

After reading critical reviews of many boutique hotels in Old Istanbul I thought I would provide some insight into this type of hotel. These are not five star lavish hotels they are basically converted homes and if you look at it as if you are renting out a bedroom then these critiques are completely false. We stayed in the California Hotel and found the accomodations clean adequate and a great value. We talked to numerous tourist who stayed at other hotels in the area, paying double what we did having horrible experiences. The staff at the California were polite, helpful and very kind. The breakfast was typical Turkish, bread, boiled eggs and some vegtables. The location was absolutely amazing- we took the metro from the airport for under $5 US as it was only a block from the Cemberitas station. We walked to all the historic sights and even visited the Grand Bazaar the morning we checked out- yes it was only a few blocks away. This is a perfect place in a safe, clean neighborhood with a wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Book a three person room - we used the extra bed for luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEBAND56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

I stayed at the hotel over 10 nights and for the amount i paid it was well worth it. Our rooms were generally very clean and towels were changed everyday. Any problems were dealt with efficiently.

Location is superb as it gives you easy access to the trams, shops and bazaar.

Staff were lovely, the guys were very helpful and answered all questions. Very polite people. Well done guys...keep up the good job.

I would definately go back and book the same hotel.

Room Tip: book well in advance and there shouldn't be any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nah1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very poor place, no taxi driver know the hotel place, you will lose a lot of time to found , no view , no windows only you can see back of hotel,

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmedmohamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed here for 5 days and had a fantastic time. The staff (especially Soner) were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and it had a relaxed atmosphere.
The hotel is situated walking distance from the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazar and also a 1 min walk to the tram stop which will take you down to the Docks etc. I would definately recomment this hotel if you are on a budget. It was perfectly clean and fresh towels provided daily etc
Breakfast was very basic but it was fresh bread, boiled eggs, olives, cheese etc but it did the trick. The hotel is so cheaply priced and you have a whole host of eating places on your doorstep so if its really not enough for you then just go up the road and find something more suitable.
No need to spend hundreds when you have perfect little gems like this one just off of the main strip.

Room Tip: Room 401 for triple occupancy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cattarzipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

I did a booking in this hotel three months in advance but 10 days before travelling they declined my reserve. The same reserve accepted by them in January. They declined alleging Credit Card reasons, the same credit card that I used through the same trip to pay my bills in ADVANCE in the same country. What a shame and irresponsability! I had to find other hotel in a big haste. It caused me lots of unnecessary stress. Hope you don't have to go through this kind of trouble.

Room Tip: AVOID them! they may do the same to you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albertogemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

After booking the hotel at an agreed rate, the hotel cancelled the booking and requested that we re-book at a much higher rate. Despite having all the documentation for the original agreed rate, they would not honour the agreement. If there is an opportunity for them to make more money with someone else, you can find yourself very quickly without a room here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil3782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Fener & Balat
New Fatih Hotel
New Fatih Hotel
#774 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
My Home Sultanahmet
#724 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#520 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Serenity Hotel Istanbul
Serenity Hotel Istanbul
#888 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#381 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yeni Hostel
Yeni Hostel
#363 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Istanbul

Property: Hotel California Istanbul
Address: Eminsinan Mah. Camii Sok. No:55 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #875 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel California Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing