We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Safe Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel California Istanbul
Ranked #820 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed October 30, 2011

After reading critical reviews of many boutique hotels in Old Istanbul I thought I would provide some insight into this type of hotel. These are not five star lavish hotels they are basically converted homes and if you look at it as if you are renting out a bedroom then these critiques are completely false. We stayed in the California Hotel and found the accomodations clean adequate and a great value. We talked to numerous tourist who stayed at other hotels in the area, paying double what we did having horrible experiences. The staff at the California were polite, helpful and very kind. The breakfast was typical Turkish, bread, boiled eggs and some vegtables. The location was absolutely amazing- we took the metro from the airport for under $5 US as it was only a block from the Cemberitas station. We walked to all the historic sights and even visited the Grand Bazaar the morning we checked out- yes it was only a few blocks away. This is a perfect place in a safe, clean neighborhood with a wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Book a three person room - we used the extra bed for luggage.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEBAND56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Hotel California Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 77 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

I stayed at the hotel over 10 nights and for the amount i paid it was well worth it. Our rooms were generally very clean and towels were changed everyday. Any problems were dealt with efficiently.

Location is superb as it gives you easy access to the trams, shops and bazaar.

Staff were lovely, the guys were very helpful and answered all questions. Very polite people. Well done guys...keep up the good job.

I would definately go back and book the same hotel.

Room Tip: book well in advance and there shouldn't be any problems.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nah1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very poor place, no taxi driver know the hotel place, you will lose a lot of time to found , no view , no windows only you can see back of hotel,

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahmedmohamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed here for 5 days and had a fantastic time. The staff (especially Soner) were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and it had a relaxed atmosphere.
The hotel is situated walking distance from the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazar and also a 1 min walk to the tram stop which will take you down to the Docks etc. I would definately recomment this hotel if you are on a budget. It was perfectly clean and fresh towels provided daily etc
Breakfast was very basic but it was fresh bread, boiled eggs, olives, cheese etc but it did the trick. The hotel is so cheaply priced and you have a whole host of eating places on your doorstep so if its really not enough for you then just go up the road and find something more suitable.
No need to spend hundreds when you have perfect little gems like this one just off of the main strip.

Room Tip: Room 401 for triple occupancy
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cattarzipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

I did a booking in this hotel three months in advance but 10 days before travelling they declined my reserve. The same reserve accepted by them in January. They declined alleging Credit Card reasons, the same credit card that I used through the same trip to pay my bills in ADVANCE in the same country. What a shame and irresponsability! I had to find other hotel in a big haste. It caused me lots of unnecessary stress. Hope you don't have to go through this kind of trouble.

Room Tip: AVOID them! they may do the same to you!!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank albertogemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

After booking the hotel at an agreed rate, the hotel cancelled the booking and requested that we re-book at a much higher rate. Despite having all the documentation for the original agreed rate, they would not honour the agreement. If there is an opportunity for them to make more money with someone else, you can find yourself very quickly without a room here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Neil3782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

we like the Location of Hotel California too much , the hotel is new , the Staff especialy Soner in Hotel California is very frienldy and polite , the street is very calm and beautiful , breakfast is rich , best Hotel for young couples , Check-in and Check-out including transfer were very fast- good value for Money

Just suggestions : to provide more bath amenties like Slippers , bathrobes , shower caps but even without all these the room is very good

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ahmed_Yousef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#553 of 1,159 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Express Inci Hotel
#608 of 1,159 in Istanbul
14 reviews
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#388 of 1,159 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#560 of 1,159 in Istanbul
223 reviews
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#495 of 1,159 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#496 of 1,159 in Istanbul
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Istanbul

Address: Eminsinan Mah. Camii Sok. No:55 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #820 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $22 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel California Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing