We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Istanbul”
Review of Hotel Djem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Djem
Ranked #309 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Gem in Istanbul”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We found the location central, though the first morning we woke at 4am to echoing prayers. Staff were very helpful and aided us with details for a tour we had booked on line. The room was spacious and welcoming. The breakfast was extensive and enjoyable

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MaryP_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    67
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
41
155
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very kind staff since the first moment. The location is very good and the room was so nice. There is no elevator but the staff helped us with baggage. The room was very quiet but you can hear the prayers call, once you get used is not annoying. I will recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noitaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I loved this place. Cheap price, nice rooms, comfy and nice service.
The only big, big thing that really bothered me is the prayers.
It's quite close to the Mosque's, so I got a big scare in the morning with the prayers.
Apart from that, excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Staff were very knowledgable, helpful and accommodating for early arrivals. Great location for touring. We had a large room with all the necessaties. All the brochures and advice you need. Good breakfasts. Highly recommended. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissA_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently and must admit it was just perfect in all aspects. A small boutique hotel, walking distance to all places you need to see and very friendly helpful staff. good breakfast in the morning and off you go. enjoyed the stay immensely and strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: only drawback is close to mosques and prayers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a wonderful small and friendly hotel in an absolutely perfect location.
No complaints whatsoever,all staff very friendly and helpful.
Pity no bar or restaurant but considering it's location and size this is understandable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for 6 days, and after everyday of exploring the wonderful city and surrounds it was like coming home. The staff were extremely professional, helpful and polite, and there was always a smile and were always available to give good advice on what to see and do. It's location is perfect within the old city, and walking distance to everything. Waking up to the call to prayer every morning was not an issue(located right next to the Blue Mosque). The breakfasts were wonderful, and was a great way to start the day. The rooms were perfect, clean and comfortable. Transfers to and from the airport were organised by them at our request and were hassle free. I would like to thank everyone there for one of my best travelling experience's, you are all fabulous. I certainly know we're I will be staying on my next trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#447 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Spectra
Hotel Spectra
#203 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#344 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#13 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Sultanahmet
Grand Peninsula Hotel
Grand Peninsula Hotel
#250 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Djem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Djem

Property: Hotel Djem
Address: Tavukhane Sokak No 26, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sultanahmet, old town district of Istanbul, this unique boutique hotel has eleven exclusive rooms with private bathroom. The design is fresh, sophisticated. The beds and furnishing are of the highest quality to ensure the guests comfort. The Hotel has 24 hour concierge service with a bilingual staff, eager to help you with everything you may need from tour arrangements to dinner reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Djem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing