We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent establishment for both family and business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Ranked #117 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent establishment for both family and business trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We planned our yearly management planning meeting in Istanbul and looked for a cozy, centrally located hotel, with basic conferencing facilities and good catering/restaurant. We found everything in this place, and what was really outstanding was the friendly service of simply every staff member.
Rooms are quite small, but modern and clean. Most of them with a stunning view on the golden horn and old Istanbul.
In particular the breakfast place & restaurant on 10th floor is worth to be mentioned. Outstanding 360 degrees view above all and excellent food and service.
All in all, an excellent house, affordable, well located and good service.

tip: go to the fish market around the corner and eat in one of the street kitchens. Couldn't be any fresher. Delicious!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Yönetici at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Mrs. Ronny,

We would like to thank you for your wonderfull review . We appreciate it much. Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us that we are on the right way. By your next visit to İstanbul we would be pleased to see you among us. Thank you !

Best Regards,
Egemen ŞENYUVA GM istanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    275
    48
    17
    7
See reviews for
142
335
45
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed overnight here on our way back from Rome. You wouldn't expect much from the front view - but, the rooms are spacious compared to a typical Euro room. the views are very good. Wi Fi is included - you just have to ask for the password. With a simple phone call to the front desk we were able to get extra pillows, blanket, and an adaptor for our American devices. In addition, the 10th floor has a restaurant - very reasonably priced, excellent staff, and incredible views of the old city. The hotel is a short walk from Taksim Square area and the golden horn bridge. We felt safe during our walk to and from attractions. Definitely a good hotel, especially for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Kali,
Thank you so much for your great review and for your intrest in our hotel . Our hotel team are very pleased that we welcomed you here. We hope to see you again in our hotel and wish you the best for the future.

Best regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA GM istanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

The location is very good. Rooms are very small though very clean!
Bathroom is in a good size.
Nice staff though not too inviting, but still very helpful when needed.
Great view from the top floor where breakfast is served.


We would stay there again as price/value is very good.

Btw: ask for second pillow. Those pillows are for baby's!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmate040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review . We appreciate it much. Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us that we are on the right way. Of course we will notice your matter of concern. By your next visit to İstanbul we would be pleased to see you among us. Thank you !

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We are staying at this hotel right now. The rooms themselves are pretty good. The staff from the guy who carries the bags to the people working upstairs during breakfast all led by the manager Ali are the best. Top notch and very friendly. The area is at the bottom of hill that leads up to ikstaklis. 5 minute walk to the bottom of the hill from the hotel tops. The area is quiet at night so you aren't going to have many people walking around. It's kind of a business store area. You are minutes walk to the metro and also you can walk to the bridge to cross to sultanahmet or just take the metro

If you can get a room on the 5th floor or higher you are going to have unbelievable water views and views on to sultanahmet.

The top floor where the restaurant is ( 10th floor ) has to be the best view in Istanbul with views of all the water and views of all of Sultanahmet. This is also where the breakfast is served and the breakfast is simply fantastic especially considering it's no charge. Huge selection of food and again it's the best view of Istanbul. It's a great value option especially if you want sleep with no noise at night

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJMaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Maher,

Thank you for taking your time and write such a wonderful review about our hotel and the service we provide. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay . Please contact us anytime you want to make a return trip to Istanbul. We would love to host you with same passion in our hotel again.

Best Regards,
Egemen ŞENYUVA GM İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great location; just a few minutes away from tourist attractions. The room was comfortable and clean but above all has fast and free wi-fi access. The breakfast was delicious and variable everyday on the rooftop restaurant accompanied by a glorious outlook over the sea.
I would definitely stay there again...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Paul E.,
We would like to thank you for your positive comments about our hotel.You took your time to share your experience with other tripadvisor followers. That’s our pleasure to make pleasing your holiday in Istanbul. On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Thank you very much.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Front off manager was very nice, gave us a free upgrade to a room in the 8th floor, best view! Location was near the center, breakfast delicious, the view is amazing. Its a bit loud in the night, but i guess thats normal in instanbul. room was clean. free save-opportunity.
definitely worth coming back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnimK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Arnim K.,

Thank you for staying at Istanbul Golden City Hotel. We will be very happy to host you with the same passion in our hotel when you come back to Istanbul. In addition to this thank you very much for your possitive comments. Wish to see you again.

Best Regards,
Egemen ŞENYUVA General Manager
İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed between October 17 to October 25 in 2013. Found the Hotel Clean and rooms vey comfortble with great views. Staff are really friendly, especially Ali at the Front Desk. Breakfast and dinner were excellent.
Location was also good, except at late night the road is deserted.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with 2 windows on 5th or 6th floor to the back of the hotel with fantastic vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talat1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Talat,
We would like to thank you for your positive comments about our hotel.You took your time to share your experience with other tripadvisor followers. That’s our pleasure to make pleasing your holiday in Istanbul. On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel. Thank you very much.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA GM istanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#73 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#30 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#159 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Next2 Hotel
Next2 Hotel
#89 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata La Bella Hotel
Galata La Bella Hotel
#385 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Beyoglu
Bankerhan Hotel
Bankerhan Hotel
#19 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Golden City Hotel

Property: Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Address: Tersane Cad. No:111 | Beyoglu, Karakoy, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Istanbul Golden City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2010 with now 62 guest rooms, Istanbul Golden City Hotel continues to offer the greatest location to Istanbul's history. Just a few feet away guests can take time to marvel at the Blue Mosque or walk to many others such as The Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Galata Tower, Ataturk Bridge and Galata Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Istanbul Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing