We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Ranked #135 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Tehran, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A great hotel. we arrived earlier than the check in time and our room was ready. our room was really clean and the air conditioning worked well. Staff was really friendly and helpful. Some how you felt like they were eager to help. The restaurant is simply amazing and it has a great view of the city. They serve lots of local and international food for breakfast and all of them are delicious.Overall if I go back to Istanbul I'll stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asalhasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review about Golden City Hotel Istanbul.
We hope to see you in the next near future. Thank you.

Best Regards,
Egemen ŞENYUVA GM İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    279
    48
    17
    8
See reviews for
144
339
45
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Customer service by staff was outstanding and unique. They are very friendly with smiley faces. They always put customer happiness first.
Location of Hotel is a walking distance from the Golden Horn.
Restaurant view was amazing, and food was good.

Room Tip: Make sure AC is good and WiFi Signal is strong in the room you are about to chose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_StrategY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire İstanbul Golden City Hotel associates for your review. We are always trying to do our best for our guests.
We hope to host you in our hotel again and would be really pleased to see you again here.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

All around a great hotel. During our vacation, we stayed twice at Golden City Hotel. Staff was wonderful. Lots of variety offered in Breakfast and exceptional wait staff. Particular thanks to Samet, Miss Merdiye and Mr. Ali.; See you soon...

Room Tip: Corner upper floor suites offer fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamran283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The building won't win any awards for its architecture. And it has perhaps the world's smallest elevators. But my wife and I enjoyed our stay there greatly. The staff was very helpful and friendly, with Yelda Gezer deserving special mention. Some have mentioned the hotel's location. Despite what you may read in...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_r_M955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive comments about our hotel.
You took your time to share your experience with other tripadvisor followers. That’s our pleasure to make pleasing your holiday in Istanbul.
On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
Thank you very much.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA GM istanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The building won't win any awards for its architecture. And it has perhaps the world's smallest elevators. But my wife and I enjoyed our stay there greatly.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, with Yelda Gezer deserving special mention.

Some have mentioned the hotel's location. Despite what you may read in some reviews it is not in some dark alley but on a major road. It's not in a tourist area, though such places are within easy walking distance. Most stores on that road close at 7 or 8 p.m.. But that doesn't mean the area is dangerous (it's not in the least), just quiet in terms of passersby. This also means there are no touts trying to drag you into their shops or restaurants, which is very a nice change from the more touristy streets! There are still plenty of cars, though, so get a room on the side facing the Golden Horn, not the street if you care about quiet. The "Golden" rooms are worth it anyway for their view.

My wife and I arrived in Istanbul on an early flight. The front desk generously offered us breakfast that morning, which was greatly appreciated ... all the more so because the breakfast and the view from the rooftop restaurant were both wonderful. A recent reviewer mentioned omelets with breakfast. I never saw any or heard mention of them during my four breakfasts there; so if those are indeed on offer as part of the buffet the hotel should do a better job of letting people know about them. Regardless, we were very satisfied with all of the food we sampled.

We had no problem with the air conditioning. The TV was a flat-screen, though we never turned it on, so I can't testify to the number of channels or anything like that.

An extra note, in case this happens to anyone else: One bellman recommended we eat at the Olympos Restaurant along the Galata Bridge. Given the highly negative reviews I found later on Tripadvisor about that place, we're probably lucky we never came across that establishment. Perhaps it's wonderful if you're a local, though.

I would be happy to stay again at the Golden City Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the eighth floor. The view was wonderful, and the room was quiet. We had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taibeiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review about us.You took your time to share your experience with other tripadviser followers.
On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best Regards,
Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This ultra smart business hotel ticked all the boxes for my first trip to Istanbul.The first thing you get as you come into the hotel is a warm welcome from the check-in staff member, followed by a soft drink that looks like a Sunset(mmm! refreshing). The hotel is near a landmark called Galata Tower (a little expensive but hey your on your hols!) The hotel is a short walk from Karakoy tramway,and it is great value for money but at peak times it gets very busy. Our room was very cozy and clean,with welcome slippers,eye-masks and earplugs. On the 10th floor you will find the restaurant oh its so lovely, amazing panoramic views of many different mosques & the wonderful Bosphorus river (well worth a return boat trip ). Don't forget to visit the Blue Mosque, Grand Bazzaar and Spice Market. The one downside is this hotel is in the Hardware district which is very busy by day but by 7pm there is nothing open on this street. This hotel has very charming,friendly staff and is well a visit check out their website you love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your great review about us.You took your time to share your experience with other tripadviser followers.Your comments were shared by Golden City Hotel İstanbul Team.
On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel. And you can be sure that we will host you with the same passion.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ali was fantastic making sure every guest had an awesome experience. This hotel is located close to many important landmarks and has an amazing view of the mosques and the city. The rooms are fine and the bathroom is fine. I did not spend a lot of time in my room so the room was fine for my needs. I was mostly out in the bazaar, I went to the museums, the train was very close by, it was easy to walk to where I needed to go and I felt safe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your wonderfull review . We appreciate it much. Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us that we are on the right way. By your next visit to İstanbul we would be pleased to see you among us. Thank you !

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#82 of 1,156 in Istanbul
203 reviews
Beyoglu
Bankerhan Hotel
Bankerhan Hotel
#6 of 1,156 in Istanbul
193 reviews
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#149 of 1,156 in Istanbul
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#100 of 1,156 in Istanbul
469 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#16 of 1,156 in Istanbul
253 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#39 of 1,156 in Istanbul
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Golden City Hotel

Property: Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Address: Tersane Cad. No:111 | Beyoglu, Karakoy, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Istanbul Golden City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2010 with now 62 guest rooms, Istanbul Golden City Hotel continues to offer the greatest location to Istanbul's history. Just a few feet away guests can take time to marvel at the Blue Mosque or walk to many others such as The Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Galata Tower, Ataturk Bridge and Galata Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Istanbul Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing