We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Ranked #130 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The building won't win any awards for its architecture. And it has perhaps the world's smallest elevators. But my wife and I enjoyed our stay there greatly.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, with Yelda Gezer deserving special mention.

Some have mentioned the hotel's location. Despite what you may read in some reviews it is not in some dark alley but on a major road. It's not in a tourist area, though such places are within easy walking distance. Most stores on that road close at 7 or 8 p.m.. But that doesn't mean the area is dangerous (it's not in the least), just quiet in terms of passersby. This also means there are no touts trying to drag you into their shops or restaurants, which is very a nice change from the more touristy streets! There are still plenty of cars, though, so get a room on the side facing the Golden Horn, not the street if you care about quiet. The "Golden" rooms are worth it anyway for their view.

My wife and I arrived in Istanbul on an early flight. The front desk generously offered us breakfast that morning, which was greatly appreciated ... all the more so because the breakfast and the view from the rooftop restaurant were both wonderful. A recent reviewer mentioned omelets with breakfast. I never saw any or heard mention of them during my four breakfasts there; so if those are indeed on offer as part of the buffet the hotel should do a better job of letting people know about them. Regardless, we were very satisfied with all of the food we sampled.

We had no problem with the air conditioning. The TV was a flat-screen, though we never turned it on, so I can't testify to the number of channels or anything like that.

An extra note, in case this happens to anyone else: One bellman recommended we eat at the Olympos Restaurant along the Galata Bridge. Given the highly negative reviews I found later on Tripadvisor about that place, we're probably lucky we never came across that establishment. Perhaps it's wonderful if you're a local, though.

I would be happy to stay again at the Golden City Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the eighth floor. The view was wonderful, and the room was quiet. We had no...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taibeiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review about us.You took your time to share your experience with other tripadviser followers.
On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best Regards,
Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
İstanbul Golden City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
There are newer reviews for Istanbul Golden City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 835 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

This ultra smart business hotel ticked all the boxes for my first trip to Istanbul.The first thing you get as you come into the hotel is a warm welcome from the check-in staff member, followed by a soft drink that looks like a Sunset(mmm! refreshing). The hotel is near a landmark called Galata Tower (a little expensive but hey your on your hols!) The hotel is a short walk from Karakoy tramway,and it is great value for money but at peak times it gets very busy. Our room was very cozy and clean,with welcome slippers,eye-masks and earplugs. On the 10th floor you will find the restaurant oh its so lovely, amazing panoramic views of many different mosques & the wonderful Bosphorus river (well worth a return boat trip ). Don't forget to visit the Blue Mosque, Grand Bazzaar and Spice Market. The one downside is this hotel is in the Hardware district which is very busy by day but by 7pm there is nothing open on this street. This hotel has very charming,friendly staff and is well a visit check out their website you love it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your great review about us.You took your time to share your experience with other tripadviser followers.Your comments were shared by Golden City Hotel İstanbul Team.
On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel. And you can be sure that we will host you with the same passion.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
İstanbul Golden City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ali was fantastic making sure every guest had an awesome experience. This hotel is located close to many important landmarks and has an amazing view of the mosques and the city. The rooms are fine and the bathroom is fine. I did not spend a lot of time in my room so the room was fine for my needs. I was mostly out in the bazaar, I went to the museums, the train was very close by, it was easy to walk to where I needed to go and I felt safe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your wonderfull review . We appreciate it much. Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us that we are on the right way. By your next visit to İstanbul we would be pleased to see you among us. Thank you !

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
İstanbul Golden City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The staff, as everyone says, is wonderful. Mr. Ali and Merdiye made us feel so welcome. There was a drink ready while we were checking in. The room was very clean and although not too big, was rather charming. The view from the rooftop are stunning and breakfast is a pleasure. The only thing is if you're American you might not care for the air-conditioning which did not cool the rooms... just lowered the temperature a little. Not everyone minds this, as they are form Europe and are used to little or no Air conditioning.There were times when the AC just did not turn on and we had to ask the technician to help... on several occasions. On the other hand the staff was eager to help and kept trying to please. The rooms on the lower floor are noisy and especially facing street.
The location like everyone says, is great. A short walk to the Galata bridge, and easy access to Tram station which will take you to Topkapi, Hagia Sophia and Grand bazaar. Despite everything, we had a wonderful trip.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are the best.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uzsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing İstanbul Golden City Hotel.We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and we are very happy that you in generally enjoyed your stay. Regarding the airconditioning , in these days all AC in the hotel was renewed, ı think thats why the reosan you meet some problems which our technican try to solve immediatly . We are really sorry about it. For a quit room if you asked directly me or reception we would help you asap . As a matter of course İstanbul is a big city that never sleeps so it can be noisy in some hours. Accepting you also as a member of Golden City Hotel family we would be greatful if we can see you once more.

Best Regards,

EgemenŞENYUVA
GM İstanbul Golden City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just spent some days in Istanbul last week and i was staying at Golden city hotel. Comfortable & clean hotel Great location 5min Walk to the tramway and tunnel which takes you to Taksim, on the roof top a huge patio open day and night offering a Nice view of the Bosphorus and Istanbul.
I really had a good time in this city also because of Yelda GEZER the guest relations, professional kind and always ready to help.
I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
Thank Jallal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Jallal,

Thank you for taking your time and write such a wonderful review about our hotel and the service we provide. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay . Please contact us anytime you want to make a return trip to Istanbul. We would love to host you with same passion in our hotel again.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA

GM İstanbul Golden City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

stayed 2 nights in june at the Golden City Hotel. Location of the hotel is quite central and near to most of the touristy places but its Not on the best of streets ( motor parts shops ) . the service of the staff and the quality of the rooms more than makes up for it. The hotel is near the blue mosque and the spice market .Very impressed with Yelda the guest relations incharge who is super efficient.All in all would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Atul,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate your commets and would love to host you again. If you need any advices or assistance about İstanbul or our hotel please do not hesitate to contact me. We would pleased to help you in anyway.

Warmest Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA

GM İstanbul Golden City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This wonderful hotel is on a main road full of lawnmowers, motors and engine stores so it does stick out as a sore thumb but don't let this put you off. The hotel is in close proximity with Galta Tower and over the Galata Bridge is New Mosque, Spice Bazaar and Rustem Pasha Mosque. Along there is where you can go on the Bosphorus Cruise. A taxi to Sultanahmet area costs around 15 TL but there is a cheaper option by catching a tram around Galata Bridge but you have to walk 300 to 400 metres to get there. As soon as we checked in to the hotel we were given complimentary cold drinks (very nice). the lobby was nice and clean, the rooms are very clean and the bathroom is good especially the shower. They have two small elevators which can only fit 2 people in for each but that wasn't a problem for us. It has 10 floors with the 10th floor being the open-air restaurant which serves breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner and I think it closes around 11pm. Room Service is 24 hours and it's very quick compared to many hotels I've stayed in. The staff here are extremely friendly, efficient with the service and very polite towards hotel guests - I think nearly everyone who works there smile at you on a regular basis.Mr. Ali Comik leads this team of fantastic people and is backed up by Miss Yelda (very nice and friendly young lady), Merdiye (very helpful at the reception), and others I forgot to mention. The restaurant staff are equally as impressive with Samit being the main man here and other waiters/waitresses were fantastic and helpful but lovely Barisa always has that inviting smile every morning when we arrive for breakfast - excellent breakfast buffet BTW. The restaurant gives great views of the city and it is even better at night. You can see this hotel from a mile away as it has flashing neon lights on the top of the hotel - you can't really miss it. This hotel isn't pricey and it is easily accessible to many tourist areas by foot, taxi or trams.I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends and other users on here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TopKingofKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and write such a wonderful review about our hotel and the service we provide. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay . Please contact us anytime you want to make a return trip to Istanbul. We would love to host you with same passion in our hotel again.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA GM İstanbul Golden City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#87 of 1,159 in Istanbul
206 reviews
Beyoglu
Bankerhan Hotel
Bankerhan Hotel
#10 of 1,159 in Istanbul
201 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#114 of 1,159 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#38 of 1,159 in Istanbul
743 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#15 of 1,159 in Istanbul
256 reviews
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#134 of 1,159 in Istanbul
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Golden City Hotel

Address: Tersane Cad. No:111 | Beyoglu, Karakoy, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $51 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Istanbul Golden City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2010 with now 62 guest rooms, Istanbul Golden City Hotel continues to offer the greatest location to Istanbul's history. Just a few feet away guests can take time to marvel at the Blue Mosque or walk to many others such as The Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Galata Tower, Ataturk Bridge and Galata Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Istanbul Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing