We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind staff and beautiful view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Istanbul Golden City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Ranked #112 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Kind staff and beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was in the hotel in the last week. Normally I book room in Taksim square but this time none place there so I went for the first time in this hotel. The hotel is close to Ataturk Bridge but not far from Galata Bridge. The quarter has not restaurants or magazin for shopping because there are many magazins that sells works' tools. The staff of the hotel is very kind and they speak a good english.
The room are good. I had a room with wonderful view on the Bosphorus. At 10th floor there is a restaurant for breakfast ( till to 10.30 ) but also for lunch and dinner. I took a dinner there and it was good. The price is absolutely good for Istanbul. I suggest this hotel if you are not looking for an hotel in touristic zone.

Room Tip: There are rooms with Bosphorus view and it is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive comments about our hotel.You took your time to share your experience with other tripadvisor followers. That’s our pleasure to make pleasing your holiday in Istanbul. But regarding your comment about our area, as you know we are placed in a very well-know area between old – and new city. And therefore it is only few minutes to getting in there. On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel. Thank you very much.

Best Regards,

Egemen Şenyuva GM İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    272
    48
    17
    7
See reviews for
141
333
44
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very nice hotel in at a perfect location. Lovely view from the roof top restaurant. Decent staff. Fair price for what you receive. Hotel rooms clean. Nothing to complain! We had an awesome stay in lovely Istanbul!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seher_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GChotelistanbul, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Liebe Seher,

Thank you very much for your great review. You are really wonderfull ! Our team is always happy to go an extra mile. So you are welcome. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel İstanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We've just returned from Istanbul staying at Istanbul Golden City Hotel for sixteen days. The hotel is situated in a busy part of an industrial business area but don't let this distract you as it makes up in other areas. The hotel is very comfortable and walking distance to all your main attractions of Istanbul. We were extremely happy choosing this hotel as our home base in Turkey and would have no hesitation using it again when we return. If I had to provide a negative it would be the elevators which are small, but this wasn't an issue for us.
But, what made this hotel a stand out for us was the staff and management. Nothing was to hard and always went the extra mile to assist you. This was from Ali the manager right down to housekeeping.
I'd just like to thank Istanbul Golden City hotel for a most memorable stay in Turkey and making us feel like it was our home.
To Ali and all the staff don't change, you were great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GChotelistanbul, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Tony,

Thank you for staying at Istanbul Golden City Hotel and sharing your review on Trip advisor. And thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our hotel and the service we provided.
Accepting you also as a member of us, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in our hotel when you come back to Istanbul. Your comments were shared by Golden City Hotel İstanbul Team and of course Mr. ALİ.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about İstanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you in the next near future .

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA GM istanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel during a business trip to Istanbul. It was a nice hotel with great staff. They welcome us with a drink and that was a great first impression. The views from the room were great. I found the price a little bit expensive but other than that hotel was very nice and the breakfast at roof top a positive experience. I have been to Istanbul many times and despite the improvements it amazed me of how expensive it has been. Hope in future I will find better deals.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maxwelbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GChotelistanbul, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and choosing our hotel as your Istanbul destination..We are glad that you generally enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding high price, hotel room rates can be changed depending on season as always happen in hotels .
In despite of this we would like to see you again and looking forward for your next stay.
Thank you so much.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA GM istanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have just returned from Istanbul. We were greeted at this hotel with a lovely cold drink. Although there had been a room mix up( not caused by the hotel), hotel staff were so helpful and resolved it quickly. Having explained that I was travelling with an adult with autism, Ali was really helpful. If i asked for help during our holiday, he was efficent and quick to help us. This hotel is on a busy street BUT it is close to ALL the sites. ( We could not use public transport) It is in the middle of a city so a bit of city noise was expected. All staff were friendly, smiling, efficient and remembered details( like i drink decaff coffee). These details added a personal touch to our stay. A really clean, convenient, friendly hotel. If you need anything here just ask !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GChotelistanbul, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time and write such a wonderful comment about our hotel. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time.
As Golden City Hotel Team we would like to thank you once more and hope to see again in the next near future.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year and really enjoyed it then. The staff are fantastic and always helpful. The rooms are modern and bright - and the views from the front rooms are stunning. It is easy to reach to Old Town from here and the tram also runs from the Galata Bridge which is a short walk away. The breakfast is plentiful and served in the restaurant at the top of the hotel, again with stunning views. We have looked at other hotels in Istanbul, but returned here as we had such a great time.
Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Best rooms face the Golden Horn and are on the upper floors so it is worth paying extra for the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crawley1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GChotelistanbul, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderfull reviews about Golden City Hotel Istanbul.
It was a great pleasure for us to meet you.
if you need any assistance by your next trip to İstanbul or Turkey, please do not hesitate to contact us. We hope to see you in the next near future. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

After a long flight from Brisbane, it was a joy to arrive at the Golden City Hotel and be welcomed with a drink. The position of the hotel is perfect, as access to Old Istanbul was easy. The room was immaculate and the view was stunning. We enjoyed the included breakfast on the rooftop each day: the breakfast was amazing and abundant. The staff were very helpful throughout our stay, nothing was a problem, even to calling a taxi at the end of our stay.
Is very close to interesting places such as Taksim which is accessed by the quaint Tunnell light rail, and Galata district which can be walked to up a steep but fascinating hill or the Tunnell. We discovered this rather late in our stay but it was a refreshing change to the pushiness of the bazaars. WARNING don't engage with anyone who is too friendly for no reason, its possibly a hustle. In the Bazaars and Sultanahmet it goes with territory.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, the view is postcard standard!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 977KimB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GChotelistanbul, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at Istanbul Golden City Hotel. We will be very happy to host you with the same passion in our hotel when you come back to Istanbul. İn addition to this thank you very much for your possitive comments. We appreciate it much. And the thank you for the useful marks. So İ wish you the best in your life time and wish to see you again.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about İstanbul or Turkey.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#45 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#27 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata La Bella Hotel
Galata La Bella Hotel
#393 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#142 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#144 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Beyoglu
Next2 Hotel
Next2 Hotel
#79 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Golden City Hotel

Property: Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Address: Tersane Cad. No:111 | Beyoglu, Karakoy, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Istanbul Golden City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2010 with now 62 guest rooms, Istanbul Golden City Hotel continues to offer the greatest location to Istanbul's history. Just a few feet away guests can take time to marvel at the Blue Mosque or walk to many others such as The Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Galata Tower, Ataturk Bridge and Galata Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Istanbul Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing