We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Services and Great Views !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Ranked #119 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Services and Great Views !!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have been in Golden City Istanbul 4 nights and it is a hotel well located if you wan to visit the city, provide great services and the best thing is the magnificients views from the Restaurant, it is a great place to have dinner or relax after a long day!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvaro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Alvaro ,

Thank you very much for the the great review. It is very gratifying to hear that they had a pleasant stay in our hotel. It was really nice to get to know you. Therefore, we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. I would like to thank you on behalf of all Hotel staff once again. Thank you

Best Regards,
Duygu Zamur
Guest Relations
İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    279
    48
    17
    7
See reviews for
143
337
45
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

It may not be smack in the center of a bustling tourist area like Sultan Ahmet but Tersane Caddesi it quite a character street in itself! (It's the hardware strip lined with stores plying power drills, ploughs, tools in all shapes and sizes and some!) Walk down the alleys toward the Golden Horn waterway and you'll discover unusual, interesting finds like a jetty lined with boats and cafe tables.

Location: a 10-minute stroll to Galata Bridge which crosses over to Sultan Ahmet, meters away from the Egyptian Bazaar which is about a 20-minute walk to the Grand Bazaar and other major sights like Haghia Sofia and the jetty for the Bosphorus cruise or to crossover to the Asian side. Bus and tram stops are also at the Galata Bridge's Karakoy stop.

Highlights:
• The rooftop restaurant which boasts a panoramic view of minarets piercing the skyline with Suleiymaniye Mosque in the forefront.
• Great breakfast spread of Turkish fruit, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurts as well as comfort favorites scrambled eggs, cereal, etc.
• Fabulous front desk service. (Overheard a conversation between a guest and the reception staff. He was seeking info about hospitals as his wife had taken ill. She not only pointed it out on the map but also called her personal physician to set an appointment for the guest!)
• Hotel is easy to spot from the Galata Bridge – big neon sign on the roof – so no way you can ever get lost, even at night!

Rooms:
Don't expect the Ritz. If you're used to even Holiday Inn-sized rooms, apparently most rooms in Istanbul can be small, compared to the hotel chains. The single/double rooms are tad bit ttiny but comfortable. The seaview room comes with a stunning view of the Suleiymaniye Mosque which is glows amazingly in the sunrise!

Also the smaller rooms come with tiny shower cubicles. So if you're on the large an tall side, it could be a problem as the doors open only up to 1 1/2 feet wide. Shower heads are just under 6 ft high. But nonetheless it suited me fine.

One snag though. I like a little noise in the room or just like to catchup on the news after a long day of trawling the Turkish streets. However the TV setup's a bit complicated. It takes about 30 seconds to connect. Only English channels are BBC news and an occasional Euro TV channel. Even the cartoons are dubbed! (Worth a laugh!) Didnt matter cos it was kinda fun watching stuff in different languages. But my biggest beef with the TV was it would shut off after an hour. which means you'll have to endure the 30sec break for the satellite to kick in.

All in all, no complaints. Hotel was clean and comfortable. And in a perfect location! Will definitely recommend and return! :-)

Room Tip: Hotel is only 10-storeys high. Ask for the higher floors with a seaview room! What a wonderful sight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GChotelistanbul, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review about our Hotel on tripadvisor.com. And thank you so much for the detailed positive comments. We really appreciate your kind comments. But we apologies the complication with the TV. Please be informed that all Tvs accordingly made for hotel using, ı mean these are programmable logic televisions,that’s the reason why they need 30 seconds for perceiving the satellite. And as ı understand your Tv was modulate. İn other words an other Guest before you, had scheduling it for self-closing. İf you called reception, we had send a technical for reprogramming the Tv. And when it comes right down to it 30 seconds is not a long wait. But Sorry that we coulnd’t make you satisfied on this way. On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel. Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon in the next near future.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Great view, clean rooms, kind and smiley crew, good location in Istanbul.. What could you expect more..? Honestly i didn't have time to eat anything in hotel therefore i can't comment about foods but rest of was absolutely fantastic..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GChotelistanbul, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Ozan,

Thank you so much for your great review about Golden City Hotel Istanbul.
It was a great pleasure for us to meet you.
if you need any assistance by your next trip to İstanbul or Turkey, please do not hesitate to contact us. We hope to see you in the next near future. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA GM İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was so impressed with the staff. Especially Yelda & Ali they went all out to make us feel comfortable. Very polite. Bedrooms were very clean & location was perfect. Excellent view of the Bosporus from the roof restaurant & bedroom. I will definitely be looking to go back & staying @ the hotel again. Once again I would like to thank all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nabil1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GChotelistanbul, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mr. Nabil,

We would like to thank you for your great review about us.You took your time to share your experience with other tripadviser followers.Your comments were shared by Golden City Hotel İstanbul Team.
On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel. And you can be sure that we will host you with the same passion.

Warm Regards from Istanbul,

Egemen ŞENYUVA GM Golden City Hotel İstanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
471 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days in November 2012 and since I had already been to Turkey once before I found it very easy to get to this Hotel via the tram line from the airport. The walk is just a few minutes off the tram stop. I had a great view of the Golden horn, but the best view is on the roof, where you had a breakfast and if you wanted to eat there for other meals. Everyone that worked there was very helpful with all of my questions and request. I would recomanned this place if you are looking for a safe, clean, and very reasonable hotel.

If there was anything bad it would be just two things the first, which is not that big of a deal is not a lot going on around the hotel at night. The other thing was the beds are not very comfortable, but my many stays overseas unless you stay at a very high end hotel this is typically what I find.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hart277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GChotelistanbul, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive comments about our hotel.You took your time to share your experience with other tripadvisor followers. That’s our pleasure to make pleasing your holiday in Istanbul. But regarding your comment about our area, as you know we are placed in a very well-know area between old – and new city. And therefore we are near the Taksim place or to the Galata bridge with numerueos restaurants and cafes. Since our hotel build from İtalian architects, everything confirmed to standarts,intorier our beds. Sorry that we coulnd’t make you satisfied on this way. On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
With all the best wishes.

Egemen ŞENYUVA GM Golden City Hotel İstanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I went to Turkey to celebrate our anniversary and my 40th bday.

We booked the hotel online, unsure of what to expect... Well, it turned out to be an excellent choice! We were well received at the hotel by friendly staff - Hürcan, Ali, Erhan and others, who offered us hot çay (tea) made sure we were taken care of!

The rooms were spacious overlooking Galata bridge. Elevators were quite funny - 2x3x8; I guess due to high premium on real estate! The best part of our stay was breakfast on the rooftop restaurant - we loved Turkish food. Dinner was great too.

We stayed for three nights and then went to Konya for two nights. The hotel staff were more than happy to store our luggage and whisked them to our room upon return. We stayed three more days in Istanbul.

The hotel staff were very helpful to arrange for Mevlevi concert, trip to Hamam (Turkish bath), provide some tips and instructions/directions to various attractions, and the use of local tram/subway which is 2 min away. Galata Tower is 7 mins away from the hotel and has lovely restaurants around.

Our special thanks to Hürcan (welcome staff) and the hotel manager for making sure we had a pleasant stay.

Make sure you learn a little Turkish - greetings, numbers (highly recommended) when haggling for price with taxi drivers (ltd or no spoken English) and vendors in Grand Bazaar and other places.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors facing the bridge are quieter and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank habibullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Daer Habibullah,

Thank you for staying at Istanbul Golden City Hotel and sharing your review on Trip advisor. And thank you very much for your kind comments regarding the location, about our restautant and the service we provided and also for the tipps.
Accepting you also as a member of us, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in our hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about İstanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you in the next near future .

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA GM İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

FIrst of all we want to thank all the friendly stuff,

My Girlfriend and me we stayed there only for 2 days but we where more the happy andsatisfied.
The Rooms are big and very very nice,the service is more than fabulous.
They treat you like a familie member and make you more then welcome.
I can´t find the words to explain how good it was.
If we are ever in istanbul again in the future we will stay there for sure.
They even brought our bags into the room.
The cleanliness in the room was just perfect.
It is also very very central, close to the Galatabridge and to the local fishmarket.
Yelda GEZER pays attention to every guast so as all the stuff from the Golden City Hotel Istanbul.
All in all we hab a very good experience and are we are super happy that we have chosen such a good Hotel

best regards

Tom and Mila

Room Tip: try to get a room in the upper floor (killer view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank da-biber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Tom and Mila,

Thank you very much for your great review. You are really wonderfull ! We are extremely happy you fully enjoyed the service, from the cleanliness, to the room the location and our hospitality.
Our team is always happy to go an extra mile. So you are welcome. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best Regards,

Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel İstanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#64 of 1,141 in Istanbul
195 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#160 of 1,141 in Istanbul
164 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata La Bella Hotel
Galata La Bella Hotel
#376 of 1,141 in Istanbul
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Bankerhan Hotel
Bankerhan Hotel
#15 of 1,141 in Istanbul
167 reviews
Karakoy
Nordstern Hotel Galata
Nordstern Hotel Galata
#316 of 1,141 in Istanbul
81 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#33 of 1,141 in Istanbul
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Golden City Hotel

Property: Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Address: Tersane Cad. No:111 | Beyoglu, Karakoy, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Istanbul Golden City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2010 with now 62 guest rooms, Istanbul Golden City Hotel continues to offer the greatest location to Istanbul's history. Just a few feet away guests can take time to marvel at the Blue Mosque or walk to many others such as The Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Galata Tower, Ataturk Bridge and Galata Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Istanbul Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing