We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, great views, and great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Istanbul Golden City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Ranked #112 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
389 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great stay, great views, and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days in November 2012 and since I had already been to Turkey once before I found it very easy to get to this Hotel via the tram line from the airport. The walk is just a few minutes off the tram stop. I had a great view of the Golden horn, but the best view is on the roof, where you had a breakfast and if you wanted to eat there for other meals. Everyone that worked there was very helpful with all of my questions and request. I would recomanned this place if you are looking for a safe, clean, and very reasonable hotel.

If there was anything bad it would be just two things the first, which is not that big of a deal is not a lot going on around the hotel at night. The other thing was the beds are not very comfortable, but my many stays overseas unless you stay at a very high end hotel this is typically what I find.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hart277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GChotelistanbul, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive comments about our hotel.You took your time to share your experience with other tripadvisor followers. That’s our pleasure to make pleasing your holiday in Istanbul. But regarding your comment about our area, as you know we are placed in a very well-know area between old – and new city. And therefore we are near the Taksim place or to the Galata bridge with numerueos restaurants and cafes. Since our hotel build from İtalian architects, everything confirmed to standarts,intorier our beds. Sorry that we coulnd’t make you satisfied on this way. On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
With all the best wishes.

Egemen ŞENYUVA GM Golden City Hotel İstanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    273
    48
    17
    7
See reviews for
141
333
44
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I went to Turkey to celebrate our anniversary and my 40th bday.

We booked the hotel online, unsure of what to expect... Well, it turned out to be an excellent choice! We were well received at the hotel by friendly staff - Hürcan, Ali, Erhan and others, who offered us hot çay (tea) made sure we were taken care of!

The rooms were spacious overlooking Galata bridge. Elevators were quite funny - 2x3x8; I guess due to high premium on real estate! The best part of our stay was breakfast on the rooftop restaurant - we loved Turkish food. Dinner was great too.

We stayed for three nights and then went to Konya for two nights. The hotel staff were more than happy to store our luggage and whisked them to our room upon return. We stayed three more days in Istanbul.

The hotel staff were very helpful to arrange for Mevlevi concert, trip to Hamam (Turkish bath), provide some tips and instructions/directions to various attractions, and the use of local tram/subway which is 2 min away. Galata Tower is 7 mins away from the hotel and has lovely restaurants around.

Our special thanks to Hürcan (welcome staff) and the hotel manager for making sure we had a pleasant stay.

Make sure you learn a little Turkish - greetings, numbers (highly recommended) when haggling for price with taxi drivers (ltd or no spoken English) and vendors in Grand Bazaar and other places.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors facing the bridge are quieter and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank habibullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Daer Habibullah,

Thank you for staying at Istanbul Golden City Hotel and sharing your review on Trip advisor. And thank you very much for your kind comments regarding the location, about our restautant and the service we provided and also for the tipps.
Accepting you also as a member of us, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in our hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about İstanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you in the next near future .

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA GM İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

FIrst of all we want to thank all the friendly stuff,

My Girlfriend and me we stayed there only for 2 days but we where more the happy andsatisfied.
The Rooms are big and very very nice,the service is more than fabulous.
They treat you like a familie member and make you more then welcome.
I can´t find the words to explain how good it was.
If we are ever in istanbul again in the future we will stay there for sure.
They even brought our bags into the room.
The cleanliness in the room was just perfect.
It is also very very central, close to the Galatabridge and to the local fishmarket.
Yelda GEZER pays attention to every guast so as all the stuff from the Golden City Hotel Istanbul.
All in all we hab a very good experience and are we are super happy that we have chosen such a good Hotel

best regards

Tom and Mila

Room Tip: try to get a room in the upper floor (killer view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank da-biber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Tom and Mila,

Thank you very much for your great review. You are really wonderfull ! We are extremely happy you fully enjoyed the service, from the cleanliness, to the room the location and our hospitality.
Our team is always happy to go an extra mile. So you are welcome. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best Regards,

Egemen SENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel İstanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I spent my honeymoon stay in Golden city Istanbul hotel for 6 nights and they went so smooth. Hotel has the best view ever of the city, and very quiet. It was near everything in the city. Food and service were above excellent, stuff were soo friendly and helpful. My only concern is that they were making up the room but they were skipping changing the bed sheets, although they were taking care of towels and bath suppliers, donno why they skipped the bed sheets.
Overall I recommend it to a elegant stay in Istanbul.

Room Tip: avoid 9th floor coz you will hear everything going on the roof ( main restaurant ) but also pick som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Mariana,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. Your comments are very important for us to continue with our exceptional personalized service.
We apologize for inconvenience you experienced regarding the sheets, but please be informed that due to fact that either helps saving natural resources as water and for cleanliness rules reasons towels change in every day and the sheets once a day. Given the fact that if somebody had seen your sheets very dirty, they would have to change it automatically even the same day .
İn addition to this thank you very much for your possitive comments. We appreciate it much. And it make us really happy to hear that you had a great honeymoon. So İ wish you the best in your lifetime with Mr. Girgus and we also wish to see you again.

Best Regards,

Egemen SENYUVA GM Golden City Hotel İstanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a good medium priced hotel.It is located in a unfashionable street that sells tools and compressors but it is convenient for the old centre across the bridges and galata. The rooms are pretty standard functional and clean and all the staff very helpful and friendly. What makes it outstanding is the rooftop restaurant that gives a 270 degree view of Istanbul and particularly the old town across the golden Horn. This is where you have a quite good breakfast and is totally spectacular in the evening for a drink or a very reasonable meal. Probably worth the upgrade at 20 euros a night for a seaview room which is also quiter than the rooms at the front

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are quieter and view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happilyretired060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your warm comments and suggestions following your recent stay at Golden City Hotel İstanbul.
We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our splendid rooftop restaurant.
We are glad, once again, to see that our team has delivered promised highly individual service.
We hope to see you soon with us again.

Best Regards,

Egemen SENYUVA GM

Golden City Hotel İstanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

not sure why this hotel has a trendy award. there is absolutely nothing trendy about it. i chose this hotel because i went to istanbul last-minute and couldn't find anywhere with availability near my price range. i would not stay here again, nor would i recommend it. although the hotel is in a somewhat decent location with respect to galata bridge and istiklal street, the road itself is kind of sketchy. it is absolutely dark and empty at night, which made for some nervous walks home.

the worst part was the elevator. there was only one call button. for two elevators, one button. meaning, you press the button and hope that the elevator a) stops on your floor and b) goes in the direction you want to go. several times i pressed the button to go down, waited for the elevator to come from the ground floor, then was disappointed to see that it was going up and had to wait for the doors to close in order to press the button again. absolutely mindboggling!

that said, the hotel is clean and at 100 euro a night, it was in my pricepoint. additionally, the rooftop restaurant had a great view over the water to the other side. stunning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank yrstruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your feedback about Golden City Hotel Istanbul . Regarding your first point, it is the first time for us to receive such a negative feedback about this aspect. Because our hotel build utilized of standard 4 star hotels and decorated to guest delights. Thats the reason why we deserve the trendy award.
If we handle about your second issue, we are really sorry about the inconvenience with the lifts. Yes you are right, there is a one call-button adherent with two lifts but this button activeted two lift on the same time. İf somebody pressed the button before you, technically the lift will stopped on the floor which is called before. This is not unusual condition. All lifts work as this way. Apart from that it is really sorrowful, that a big part of your review be formed about our lifts and nothing about our hospitality or service that we provide. As a matter of fact, how long time did you spend in there (lift) ?
We have investigated your comment about the safety of the street where our hotel placed. We found it incorrect, because our hotel placed on a big and well known main street, so it is every time safety and everywhere are a lot of streets lamps. So there is no reason to get in dangerous.
İnspite of your negative comments we would like to thank you for your kind review and we will be very happy to see you again.


Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel İstanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I realy wanted to give this hotel a great review;but for us just wasn't the whole package. Arrival was excellant,did have choice of 2 rooms however both on 5 foor an 1 had twin beds which was no good.we had very small room with a tiny window that looked out 2 a building with a sliver of view,dont get caught out like we did no iron in any rooms.the bonus is the roof top terrace which has 5 star view, however the prices i say reflect this.the hotel is situated on main road surrounded with nothin but hard wear shops,there is nothin else in this street but them an the hotel no cafe no shop nothin,which realy is poor.however you are central for all areas,an hotel is very clean. Still cant make up my mind if i would recommend! ! If you get a high floor then would say possibly could make big difference to the whole stay. we had 1 week there an room was too small by far.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, General Manager at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for inconvenience you experienced upon your arrival with the rooms. I thing there was a problem due to our availibilty. But please be informed that regarding to our room size was build utilized of standard 4 star hotels. İf you had contact me, ı would try my best to make your stay confortable as more. Regarding to our location, İstanbul Golden City Hotel is located very close to famous Galata tower and Galata bridge with numerous restaurants, only 5 minutes walking distance. And we are very close to the famoust Street in İstanbul, to Taksim Sqaure, where you can find a lot of cafes,shops and restaurants. if you were not able to find the places, you could always ask either Guest relations manager or front office staff for advise and directions, as we are always happy to assist our guests. Although Golden City Hotel is located heart of the town and on a well-known industrial distruct area where is preferred for Business traveler although it is good for us.
You can always contact us if you have further comments or if you do not agree with our reply above. So, we sincerely hope to see you once more at our hotel and we thank you very much again for your feedback.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA GM İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#45 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#27 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata La Bella Hotel
Galata La Bella Hotel
#393 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#142 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#144 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Beyoglu
Next2 Hotel
Next2 Hotel
#79 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Golden City Hotel

Property: Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Address: Tersane Cad. No:111 | Beyoglu, Karakoy, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Istanbul Golden City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2010 with now 62 guest rooms, Istanbul Golden City Hotel continues to offer the greatest location to Istanbul's history. Just a few feet away guests can take time to marvel at the Blue Mosque or walk to many others such as The Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Galata Tower, Ataturk Bridge and Galata Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Istanbul Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing