We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Istanbul”
Review of Topdeck Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Topdeck Hostel
Ranked #381 of 1,235 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed July 21, 2010

This hostel was absolutely amazing! You wıll meet so many amazing travellers here. It is right next to all of the best things to see in Istanbul, and has an awesome rooftop terrace overlooking the sea wıth couches and good people to relax with after a long day. Metin and Emmy who work there have an excellent local knowledge, meaning you can experience the real Istanbul rather than just the tourist sites. They even organised a rooftop party for my birthday and took us all out, very fun! I would highly recommend stayıng here if you are coming to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtney_hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Topdeck Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 55 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2010

Not serious hostel! One price on the web-site, but a 4 time bigger requested at the reception, when we reached there for the check-in (having a booking done 2 months before!). No receipt, no price shown at the reception, so they charge you after they look at you... Our car was scratched in the "free parking", which is actually on the street, not in a real parking. Very hot inside (no A/C), specially when 4 people in a 6 sqm room. The "free internet" was not conecting. Don't check the spoons and the dish if you eat there! I would never go there again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleniaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

As Mavi's Guesthouse was fully booked (after I stayed there one night), they arranged me another hostel – Topdeck. What a nice surprise!
The single room (with bathroom) had a small window with a great view, staff is very friendly, breakfast is delicious (you can choose among Turkish breakfast and others) and is served on the beautiful terrace. The room was very clean and they have free wi-fi available.
The hotel is very good value – it was the same price I had payed at Mavi's (48 TL), but the room at Topdeck was bigger, it had its own bathroom (forget about the long queus to take a shower) and was quiet. I alos met some nice people there: an iranian family that now live in Norway, a polish couple, a South-corean girl.
It's crazy that a lot of people go to LP guide book's hostels (like I did) while there are a lot of other (better) choices. I totally recommend Top Deck.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raftz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

- very clean rooms
- more like a hotel layout then a hostel
- excellent breakfast with a great choice of dishes
- the staff was very friendly and helpful recommending accommodation for our next destinations in Turkey
- the rooms can get very hot in the summer because there is no air conditioning
- very close to the Blue Mosque and walking distance to the tram

WE LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186370Ginster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Originally we were to stay in Istanbul for 2 nights but extended our stay to 5. The hostel was in the best location, it was so close you could walk to everything! At first it was hard to find but we phoned and they came and got us and walked us there showing us a few sights and good places to shop on our way. It is located on a back street which is excellent, the nights were always quiet for a goods rest. Not only was the breakfast free but you could choose what you would like to eat. The staff were all fantastic, they had just started and were getting ready to change everything. They have the best view from the rooftop! We are definitely coming back to stay with them again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycat1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The Topdeck is a small no frills Hostel. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The shower room was spacious with plenty hot water, soap, and towels changed regularly.
What made it fantastic though was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, all of whom spoke very good English
Delicious breakfast is cooked to order on the roof terrace - which has the most breathtaking views over the Marmara Sea, The Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia.
The terrace can be accessed all day - not just for breakfast as in some places
The Topdeck Bar, also owned by the same people, is just round the corner.
It is fantastic for food, drink, waterpipes and to just sit and watch the world go by.
Also - the best Turkish coffee I had in Istanbul!
All served by the friendliest of staff who seemed to make all their guests feel welcome.
I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMcGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Centrally located everything was walking distance. The staff were extremely friendly, the rooms were nice and clean and a decent breakfast each morning on the terrace. All of this for an affordable price. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auspom1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,045 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#82 of 1,159 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#685 of 1,159 in Istanbul
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#152 of 1,159 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#59 of 1,159 in Istanbul
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topdeck Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topdeck Hostel

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Terbiyik Cikmazi No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 1,235 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $11 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The time for Istanbul is now, this is the city where you will come for one week and want to stay for one month. And there is no better place to stay than Topdeck Hostel! We are a small hostel, in the perfect location. With the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia & Topkapi Palace just seconds walk away from our hostel. We are also located close to great restaurants and bars, but far away enough so the noise doesn't reach us. From our rooftop terrace (plus some rooms) you can enjoy the beautiful view of the Marmara Sea & Asian shores! We have 24 hour reception and friendly fluent English speaking staff to answer all your questions and we can also show you around our beautiful city :) We hope you will be our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topdeck Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing