We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, friendly, nice breakast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Topdeck Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Topdeck Hostel
Ranked #396 of 1,173 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Small, friendly, nice breakast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Our room was quite small and poky, but clean. The hostel is on a quiet street just off the main tourist strip in Sultanahmet, and while we were there it had two travellers on staff who were friendly and had useful info about sightseeing and eating options. The breakfast was good (eggs/cereal/french toast), included in the rate, and was served on the roof of the building, which had panoramic views of the Marmara sea. A couple of minor drawbacks - our room was in the building next door to the main building, and we had to be let in by the reception person each time we wanted to get in. Also, the blanket provided wasn't really big enough for a double bed. Generally though Topdeck was good value for money and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esthercharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    15
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
16
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

We planned to just stay for a couple of nights, but our stay was so enjoyable we extended. The rooms were clean, the double had it's own bathroom with hot water. We could even watch dolphins in the river from the room window. I'm addicted to WIFI and when it acted up (probably just my computer) the staff was helpful and it was working in no time. Enjoyed the late breakfast hours as we normally miss it, but went each day here. The staff soon felt like friends. The location was great as was the value. Laundry was located close to the hostel. It had everything we needed and a wonderful staff that made us not want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGB528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

The hostel staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean, however there was quite a lot of humidity during rain and after taking a shower. A big minus was of an electric socket on the wall right next to the shower (room 303), but those are basically all the bad things I have to say about Topdeck. Felt like home there.

Consider eating at their cafe, 100 meters away. Good value for money and proper dish (I had Lamd Shish Kebap). There's plenty of restaurants nearby and a short walking distance anywhere in Sultanahmet.

There was also a high speed wi-fi available.

Room Tip: Make sure there's no el. socket next to shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

I've just stayed in Topdeck Hostel for 5 days, in one of the single rooms, and it was fantastic. A compact ensuite room, but with everything I needed, and very clean and well-kept. The staff are so friendly - not only welcoming and helpful but also willing to show you around, book tours/connections etc. and generally help with anything you need. My room was very quiet as I was on the top floor (I think some of the larger rooms may be more noisy), and the breakfasts which were included were great - a simple selection of cold food, but lots of it, and always served with a smile. Brilliant hostel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room next to reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

I traveled to Istanbul alone and the employees at the hostel really made me feel welcome! I stayed in the female dorm which was great, warm, and it has its own bathroom. The hostel is quiet and located close to transportation and sights. The Turkish breakfast was great! I'm so glad I got to meet everyone at Topdeck Hostel and will stay there again when I go back to Istanbul!

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank threeshoes110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

Topdeck Hostel was probably my favourite on our entire 4 month Europe/Turkey backpacking trip.
Emmy & Metin (Metin the Turkish owner & Emmy his Australian fiance) made our stay so enjoyable!
AMAZING breakfast cooked by Metin! Perfectly located hostel. 5 minute walk from the Grand Bazaar & Hagia Sofia & Blue Mosque. The hostel is very clean & has a beautiful rooftop view. Perfect place to stay.
I stayed in a 3 bed room with my boyfriend & sister. Honestly couldn't speak highly enough of the place & the staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa_Delaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

Had a fantastic stay in istanbul, the hostel is so close to everything and yet quiet when you need to sleep. The staff are great and it helps to have a native english speaker helping answer your questions. Good breakfast and very resonable prices. Being able to organise trips such as to galipoli through the hostel was a great help as it avoided the hassel in the streets! Good way to meet people especially when travelling alone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howellk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#12 of 1,173 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#355 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#157 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#232 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topdeck Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topdeck Hostel

Property: Topdeck Hostel
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Terbiyik Cikmazi No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 1,173 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The time for Istanbul is now, this is the city where you will come for one week and want to stay for one month. And there is no better place to stay than Topdeck Hostel! We are a small hostel, in the perfect location. With the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia & Topkapi Palace just seconds walk away from our hostel. We are also located close to great restaurants and bars, but far away enough so the noise doesn't reach us. From our rooftop terrace (plus some rooms) you can enjoy the beautiful view of the Marmara Sea & Asian shores! We have 24 hour reception and friendly fluent English speaking staff to answer all your questions and we can also show you around our beautiful city :) We hope you will be our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topdeck Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing