We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A PERFECT LITTLE BOUTIQUE HOTEL IN ISTANBUL”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #10 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We hesitated to give our advice on the Sultania, for fear that too big a popularity would spoil this excellent hotel .
We had selected the Sultania after having read the very positive comments on Trip Advisor and have in no way been disapointed . This boutique hotel, ideally situated in the old town, close to the major sightseeing places, is a little gem . You statrt with a most friendly and professional welcome . The rooms, tastefully decorated in Ottoman syle are large enough, many of them with a balcony overlooking the Bosphorus . The marble tiled bathrooms are worthy of a 5 star palace .
Although there are more affordable hotels around, this one will give you excellent value for money and you will leave it with regrets, promising yourself you will come back ( Istanbul is a magic place you can visit a dozen times without getting bored ) .
The service again is simply perfect with attentions that make you feel more like a friend than a guest ( do you know many hotels who send you a mail after you left to make sure you had a safe trip ? ) - with a special mention for Ms Özlem Kaya, Guest Relation Mgr .
Any "negative" comment ? Well, the Sultania seems to become very popular for Gulf visitors and somtimes the lobby looks a little bit "veiled" - but this adds some "Topkapi's harem" touch ...
We just hope the Sultania will be as pleasant when we come back !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,078 - 2,084 of 2,960 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2010

A great hotel in perfect location, Not noisy, near all tourist sites, metro station, restaurants, bars, shisha (nargile) chill out places and quaity suvanier shops.
New & modern, but not pastic, nicely furnished with character, well fitted out with TV, audio equipment, LAN connection. However, most of all the staff are the nicest of any hotel I have stayed. If you are offered to stay in this hotel do not even hesitate. I will definately go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marmari2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Nice hotel, very clean and modern decor. The staff are very kind and have alot of pride in the place. Room was lovely, I especially liked the underlit bed!

I would definitely use this hotel again when I am in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank me550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We planed our trip to Istanbul for one week of holidays and were looking for a nice and superior hotel in a good location.
Since Sultania is a pretty new hotel we thought it would be worth trying it.

Our arrival at the hotel was good, nothing to complain about.
Although we didnt take the hotel shuttle with a price of 100€ one way from the airport, a total rip off!!! You get private shuttels for 50€ all over the place.
Checkin was fast and without any problems. We had booked a room with a balcony which was on the fifth floor, a relativly large room, but since under the roof, a very low ceiling. The balcony had no view and was pretty dirty, old dishes on a table and waste on the floor, which, didnt change for the whole stay of 8 nights.

The interior is some kind of neo-ottoman wanna be luxurious style, a bit kitsch but good in function. The flatscreen TV behind a mirror is a nice gimic although way too small for the relatively far distance to the bed.
The bathroom all in marble was pretty ok, the hairdryer overheating all the time and quite annoying.

The breakfast was for the price of the hotel not exactly perfect. Yes you have some fruits, fresh orangejuice and the honey is pretty good but all in all nothing special. I ve been staying an a whole bunch of four and fife star hotels in my life so I know what you can get for your money.

So as a resumee, its a good hotel, no doubt, but not worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank fastyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

This boutique hotel has it all. It is brand new, and has a great location in the middle of the historic part of Istanbul, where wonders such as the Aya Sophia and Top Kapi Palace are just 10 minutes away on foot. Our bathroom has a sparkling new jacuzzi bathtub. The hotel staff are lovely and quite attentive to their guests' needs and serve them quickly. Also, due to the hotel being in a pedestrian area, we enjoyed a quiet time especially during the night. That and lots of restaurants dot its surroundings, giving the traveler a lot of good choices for dinner. My only comment is that their breakfast buffet feels a bit crammed and needs more vareity. Otherwise, a fantastic hotel. We will definitely stay here again!

Oh, and our most warm regards to Ms. Ozlem Kaya, the Guest Relations Manager at the Hotel Sultania. She was a great help and made our trip much easier and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noorayara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I originally stayed at Yasmak Sultan Hotel but one night was transferred to Sultania. This is a brand new hotel, my experience was short there; however, I can say that what impressed me the most was the stylish room beautifully decorated at the Ottoman style without missing the modernity to enjoy of a pleasant stay. Lights around beds, LCD TV, music, portraits with explanations of Ottoman Sultans' wives and a comfortable bathroom with delicate toiletries create a very special environment into the rooms. I think every detail included and ithe elegance and beauty make this hotel a very good option to stay in the Sultanhamet area for those who enjoy luxury very much. Like the other hotels of the group it offers restaurant at the ground floor but it is also possible to go to the restaurant at the roof terrace. There is a complimentary tea-coffee service in the room as well. All in all, a very modern an elegant place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunset71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed in this hotel during our honeymoon. Firstly, the location is perfect, within walking distance of the major attractions in Sultanahmet (main tourist area). No need for a taxi, or even the tram. There is ample oppurtunity for sight-seeing, restaurants and shopping. The hotel is very new, and thus clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly. The room we stayed in was spacious. The room looked great, and very fashionable. However, it is more style than quality. The breakfast at the hotel was excellent, with an array of food to choose from, and fresh tea served by the attentive waiters. The hotel also has a roof-top restaurant, but we did not have time to try it. Overall, this was a very nice hotel, in the ideal location (albeit a bit pricey).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junaid018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,076 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,418 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,140 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,003 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#26 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $80 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing