We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't speak highly enough of this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #11 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Phu quoc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't speak highly enough of this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel is very well positioned to walk to the majority of the key sites. For a hotel in the centre of the old quarter it is a haven of peace with many good restaurants and bars near by. The rooms are tastefully decorated very clean, an excellent shower and a comfortable bed. Breakfast had a wide variety for a buffet style breakfast with an egg chef. The quality was very good. The staff were very warm and helpful. They arranged transport to the airport, provided advice and assistance with metro system and personally assisted me when I lost my phone. I was on a 3 day tour and they went to a store where my phone may have been lost. The staff could not have been more helpful. We have stayed in many hotels and the vast majority have been very good. This hotel for me is up there with the best for the overall experience.

We stayed here in two stays for 6 days in total and between the visits the hotel kept one of our bags whilst we toured a little more of Turkey. This hotel significantly added to our great time in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms on 5th floor and 3rd floor both no complaints and were very good. Noise was not an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noëleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,480
    347
    27
    7
    1
See reviews for
533
1,496
151
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights recently, the location of the hotel is just perfect for all the attraction you need to see in Istanbul via walking distance. However its quite challenging for our cab driver to find the hotel. As we originally arrange hotel shuttle bus service to picked us up in the airport as we're arrived in the late evening. Unfortunate the shuttle service didn't turned up, upon check-in the receptionist apologize and provide an upgrade of room to make-up for us.
The rooms was comfort, clean with unique decor & good space with tea & coffee facilities although I find it a bit odd the basin was outside the bathrooms...perhaps is the old ottoman way. I particularly like the imprint painting on the glass wall.
The staff from receptionist, waiter/waitress, guest relations & maids are all very friendly,welcoming & helpful. Particularly the restaurant staff (I forget her names it start with "D") her services was superb and attentive, I cant thanks her enough serving every breakfast we had; she even remember what coffee I like which was beyond my expectation.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone, it worth every penny.

Room Tip: Every rooms was unique as they names & decorate under each Sultans
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miu d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Sultania two separate times on our recent trip. We got our rooms upgraded both times. They had really fantastic rooms which were quite spacious. The room service was priced very well and was very good. The breakfast buffet was absolutely fantastic and one of the best on our entire trip. But most of all, the customer service here was truly top notch. Everyone was so nice. They always went above and beyond to make sure you were happy. Even when we didn't need anything, someone was always coming up to us to ask us if they could help with anything. The workers in the office and the restaurant were equally great. It is such a treat to have such great people always making you feel at home. We had one small issue trying to get a gluten-free soup for my wife but they took care of it. A+++

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Booked for a 4 day mini break.

We received a very warm welcome and given a lovely room. Real quality and a real find.

The location is superb for all the main sites.

Breakfast was a delight too.

Would recommend to anyone and would definitely come back to this hotel if we returned to Istanbul.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is not on a roadway. Our cab driver finally left us (and 5 pieces of luggage) off at the Blue Mosque to find our way on foot. He gave us vague directions of where to go and if we had followed them, we would still be wandering in Istanbul. Fortunately, someone who was hoping to sell us a rug led us to the vicinity of the hotel, and we were able to see a small sign pointing us down an alley. There was the hotel, around another corner. We entered the hotel lobby and within a few minutes I was back in the street because the incense pouring out of a machine in the lobby was making me cough. Okay, those were the downsides. Service at the hotel was excellent and welcoming. Our room was charming and relatively large (for Europe). Breakfast was varied (different hot dishes each day) and quite good. The location (except for being initially obscure) was great, just a short walk from Topkapi, Haja Sofia, the Cistern, and need I mention the Blue Mosque?
There were some (not very memorable) restaurants in the street right outside the hotel, and one night about 10pm there were drums and loud music -- but just for a few minutes, and then all was quiet. That was the only night (of 4) that we were disturbed at all. We would recommend this hotel but advise you to find out exactly where it is ahead of time. When we left, the hotel got a cab for us. The cab driver arrived at the hotel and helped us with our luggage back up the alley. It was a much simpler process than our arrival!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaiabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Nine of us enjoyed a short stay at this well run and stylish hotel last month. We really enjoyed it. Handily situated in the old town, adjacent to the Hagia Sophia and other 'must sees' of Istanbul, this hotel combines charm with the character of Turkey and provides an excellent sanctuary from the somewhat hectic pace of Istanbul. As others have noted, the staff are excellent and the amenities include a small gym, a pool and a lovely roof top bar and restaurant.
The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, although the bathrooms are a bit on the small side.
With regard to the bookings, it couldn't have been simpler. All email communications were handled promptly, the staff were extremely helpful.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rr1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed in Hotel Sultania for 6 days last week. Other reviews of Hotel are true. I would avoid rooms ending with '10', as they do not have a window out onto the street, but only a small window on the inside of the hotel: Not a lot of fresh air and rather dark. These rooms I would categorize as being 'budget' and should be reduced in rate. The bathrooms sometimes smell a bit bad. I must stress this is not the Hotel's fault, rather the perfect 'old city' location (it is perfect - see other reviews). I would advise to let the hotel staff know, if the bathroom is smelling too much. They can help with bath salts etc.
Otherwise an awesome hotel!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#16 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,915 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,940 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing