We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You feel like a sultan in this hotel !”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #11 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You feel like a sultan in this hotel !”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

At arrival we were surprised with coffee or thea and cake, during the time we were registered as a guest.
We had a room for three persons next to the elevator, so we thought this would give a lot of noise, but we didn't here it once. In the room there where a double and a single bed (real bed) with indirect lighting beneath.
The room was spacious and very clean.
This hotel has also a very good restaurant (olive), which has a normal european price but now with great food.
Other restaurants are also good, and somewhat less expensive, but the quality of the Olive restaurant is very good and it has a very nice view of topkapi and Aya Sofia.

The breakfast in the morning is incredible! I would like to point out that they have honey directly from the honeycomb (very special and delicious).

The only small negative point was the quality of the sound from the seperate speakers (above the main bed).

When we went home we got a nice present and when they said goodbye it felt like leaving friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard van der Rijt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,533
    353
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
554
1,521
156
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I recently organized a small company meeting / retreat (25 ppl) at Hotel Sultania and its sister hotel next door, the Yasmak Sultan. Throughout the preliminary process (all done remotely, via email) the hotel was very kind, professional and accomodating of our constantly changing demands. Once we arrived, the setup and management of the group and meeting was impeccable, and ultimately (considering most attendees stayed in the less expensive Yasmak Sultan) quite affordable. The staff was tremendous, and made me feel that my requests were of the highest priority; the room was adorable, with a new 'gift' (flower, etc) on the bed every day; the breakfast was one of the most sumptuous I've seen. The location was safe and ideal for touristing (not, however, for nightlife - which is relatively near but definitely requires a taxi). Would highly recommend for both boutique business and personal travel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel is situated in the heart of the old city. You are 3 minutes from the main sightseeing places such as Sofia mosque and Topkapi palace. The staff is more than friendly and nice and is always willing to help you. The rooms have classical turkish design which helps you to build the necessary atmosphere. Breakfast is great. On the whole i would strongly recommend this hotel to those who want to spend a great time in Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizaveta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thessaloniki
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Before writing this review, I looked at the average comments made by other travellers. Besides their comments on their rooms, for which I have no opinion, they are mistaken. The hotel is excellent for its kind. The breakfast was very good, with many types of food to choose from. Had room service and the food was very tasteful. The location of the hotel is very good. The hotel is very, very ,very clean and my room was always clean.For some travellers that complained about the sink in the room, they probably don't know their history very well! What made the hotel exceptional was its staff. Very polite, very helpful, with a smile always on their face. What made the most impression is that the staff stood up to say goodbye as we were leaving the hotel. I definitely recommend this hotel to all kinds of families-I personally was there with 4 children, very child friendly hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babygrigoriadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was a belated honeymoon for my husband and me. Hotel Sulatania went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. We also took an on-hands cooking class that was excellent and so much fun!!!! I would highly reccomend this hotel if you have the pleasure of visiting this beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rutravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The staff at this hotel made it the most memorable stay in Istanbul. Great location for all the attractions, all within walking distance and tram stop nearby. The Hotel have many great little touches and the rooms are magnificent. Room 1504 was huge with a terrace and quiet from the street noise. Great restaurant in the hotel and directly opposite. A big thank you to all the staff especially Murat, Ugurcon, Uygar and Gursoy for all your help and hospitality. The transfers arranged by the Hotel to and from the airport were also excellent. We will be recommending to all our family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 1504 was the largest and everything you need. Quiet position at side of hotel with a large terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mez L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Normally I do not write any comments, but I am happy to make an exception in this case. The hotel is very good and very well located within the old city of Istanbul. All important visits are within walking distance. The room was very good and very clean. Breakfast was superb. If someone is complaining about this, then he or she should stay at home. What makes the hotel excellent are the people who are working there. Everybody is very friendly and helpful and all are doing their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible. It is not a question if, but when we are going back to Istanbul, but one thing is certain. I do not have to look for any other hotel. This is the one to go to. Thanks to the entire staff for a very nice trip and we will see each other again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy_en_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,154 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,154 in Istanbul
3,358 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,154 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,154 in Istanbul
2,982 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,154 in Istanbul
2,092 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#30 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing