We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"lovely staff, excellent service, great location””
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #9 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I loved this lovely hotel. It is in a great location, just in walking distance to the Sultan Ahmet, the other tourist areas and nice restaurants. Rooms are well decorated, nice, clean an comfortable. Hotel staffs, who made our stay memorable, were absolutely star. I highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mezig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Annette,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on tripadvisor and we are happy to read that we were able to meet your requirements during your trip. We will be more than happy to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Serap KURTDERE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 2,984 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

Loved everything about this hotel, themed rooms, fabulous breakfast, friendly staff just a real gem! Would recommend without hesitation......We found it easy to walk to grand bazaar and spice market and the blue mosque. There is a tram system, but taxi cannot come out hotel as no traffic through. Plenty of restaurants around the area so easy for dinner after sightseeing day. Shower was great and room cosy

Room Tip: We were in the front and was fine, only complaint was I could hear others coming and going outside r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Precious Guest,

We are pleased to read your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us and would like to thank you for sharing these on this website. I hope your travel plans would bring you back to istanbul in future and give us another chance to welcome you with a pleasure. Thank you!

Best Regards,

Serap KURTDERE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A great hotel, only 5 to 10 minutes walk to all the major attractions and lots of nice restaurants close by.
The rooms are fairly spacious and are each uniquely decorated in the Ottoman style.
The staff could not do enough for us, whether getting a taxi, recommending a restaurant or what to see and do.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpvp-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Staying here was a moment in time.. It was the best part of my holiday.. The room are cosy and the service is great.. Breakfast buffet at the restaurant never fail to impressed us, everything comes in a fresh taste.. I would want to come back and stay here again..

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadirahmior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great location. Very pleasant staff. Immaculate rooms. Not huge but large enough to be comfortable.
Good breakfast with local foods some of which seem strange to North American tastes. Very good coffees. Nice snacks and tea in the late afternoon.
Much more interesting than a Four Seasons.
I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mullaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I spent Thanksgiving in Istanbul and stayed at the Hotel Sultania - what an excellent place and location. The arranged transfer from the airport was there to meet us when we arrived and got us safely to the hotel. The front desk reception manager on duty (Himli) spent 30 mins with us explaining some of the history and what sites we should see, etc - really very informative and helpful. The staff there were all wonderful. The room was very nice and decorated wonderfully. We ate at the rooftop Olive restaurant the first night - ask for Murat - he is an outstanding waiter and a very interesting person to talk to. We liked it so well, that we also spent our last evening in that restaurant - great view and food. As others have mentioned, the location couldn't have been better. In addition to the old part of the city, you should walk across the Galata bridge and go up into the tower located on that side for some more great views of Istanbul. We also took the ferry to the Asian side - not that much there compared to the old part, but still worth a trip, if you have time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

For a boutique hotel, Sultania Hotel offers you everything- from small, ornately decorated rooms to good food and a very good location in the heart of the old town.

Absolutely good value for money if your choice of area is the historic part of the city, as it was for us. For a more "modern" perspective of the town, you should choose to stay in Istekal Cadessi or the likes.

Pros of Sultania:

*Location in the heart of old historic part of the city. Everything is a stone's throw away- restaurants, cafes, local transport hubs, sweet shops, grocery stores, gift shops, bars etc.

*A good restaurant that serves up gourmet food, befitting a foodie's palette.

*Ornately decorated, Turkish-style rooms.

*A good breakfast.

Cons:

*Small room

*Tiny bathroom which is a part of your room. Quitely strangely fitted in into the whole setting, to be honest.

Room Tip: Ask for their biggest room- my guess is even that would be a tad bit small, however beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snigdha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,139 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,505 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,176 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#27 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,350 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#8 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $73 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing