We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sultania
Nearby Hotels
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$180
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$180
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$151
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$204
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$498
$404
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,089)
Filter reviews
3,089 results
Traveler rating
2,681
370
28
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,681
370
28
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolive restaurantblue mosqueold cityrooftop restauranttopkapi palaceturkish delightguest relationswithin walking distancespice marketottoman styletram stopturkeyfantastic hotelbreakfast buffetperfect locationmajor attractionsgalata bridge
Filter
Updating list...
1,257 - 1,262 of 3,089 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A great hotel, only 5 to 10 minutes walk to all the major attractions and lots of nice restaurants close by.
The rooms are fairly spacious and are each uniquely decorated in the Ottoman style.
The staff could not do enough for us, whether getting a taxi, recommending a restaurant or what to see and do.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpvp-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Staying here was a moment in time.. It was the best part of my holiday.. The room are cosy and the service is great.. Breakfast buffet at the restaurant never fail to impressed us, everything comes in a fresh taste.. I would want to come back and stay here again..

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadirahmior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great location. Very pleasant staff. Immaculate rooms. Not huge but large enough to be comfortable.
Good breakfast with local foods some of which seem strange to North American tastes. Very good coffees. Nice snacks and tea in the late afternoon.
Much more interesting than a Four Seasons.
I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mullaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I spent Thanksgiving in Istanbul and stayed at the Hotel Sultania - what an excellent place and location. The arranged transfer from the airport was there to meet us when we arrived and got us safely to the hotel. The front desk reception manager on duty (Himli) spent 30 mins with us explaining some of the history and what sites we should see, etc - really very informative and helpful. The staff there were all wonderful. The room was very nice and decorated wonderfully. We ate at the rooftop Olive restaurant the first night - ask for Murat - he is an outstanding waiter and a very interesting person to talk to. We liked it so well, that we also spent our last evening in that restaurant - great view and food. As others have mentioned, the location couldn't have been better. In addition to the old part of the city, you should walk across the Galata bridge and go up into the tower located on that side for some more great views of Istanbul. We also took the ferry to the Asian side - not that much there compared to the old part, but still worth a trip, if you have time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

For a boutique hotel, Sultania Hotel offers you everything- from small, ornately decorated rooms to good food and a very good location in the heart of the old town.

Absolutely good value for money if your choice of area is the historic part of the city, as it was for us. For a more "modern" perspective of the town, you should choose to stay in Istekal Cadessi or the likes.

Pros of Sultania:

*Location in the heart of old historic part of the city. Everything is a stone's throw away- restaurants, cafes, local transport hubs, sweet shops, grocery stores, gift shops, bars etc.

*A good restaurant that serves up gourmet food, befitting a foodie's palette.

*Ornately decorated, Turkish-style rooms.

*A good breakfast.

Cons:

*Small room

*Tiny bathroom which is a part of your room. Quitely strangely fitted in into the whole setting, to be honest.

Room Tip: Ask for their biggest room- my guess is even that would be a tad bit small, however beautiful.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snigdha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews