We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #11 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Sultania three times in September and October and on each occasion we had a wonderful stay. We had 3 different rooms, all clean, all comfortable and all with very exotic artwork on the bathroom doors.

The rate includes a wonderful buffet breakfast, with both hot and cold selections and eggs cooked to order. There was a vast array of fruits, cereals, meats, cheeses, breads and pastries to choose from.

The hotel is excellently located, about 10 minutes walk from the hotel to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia in one direction and the Galata Bridge in the other. There are lots of great restaurants close by the hotel and also Olives rooftop restaurant within the hotel where we had several excellent meals.

I can't say enough about the staff, friendly and helpful, and dedicated to providing excellent service. On the day we flew back to the USA we had a 6:30am flight and had to leave the hotel at 4am. We were astounded to find that they had packed a breakfast picnic of fruits, cheeses, sandwiches and juice for us to take to the airport. How nice was that?

We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend the Hotel Sultania.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agathasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,266 of 3,027 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here Feb 2013. The room was stunning to look at but having a basin next to the bed was slightly strange. We thought the room was clean but the basin had a discarded tablet down the back. On closer inspection it was a bit grotty. Other than that minor thing it was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was superb with a great choice and great coffee. Location wise the hotel couldn't be in a better place with a wealth of restaurants right outside without feeling noisy and cramped. The Harem and Blue Mosque are a comfortable 15 minute walk away.

We found the staff on arrival were friendly but this felt a bit forced as from then onwards they weren't so happy to stop and talk. Would we stay there again? Absolutely

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidMarsh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Convenience, wonderful service, central location within walking of restaurants and major tourist sights.. We could not have asked for more plus we booked early and got a great rate which included transfer from the airport and breakfast. Staff was so accommodating, friendly and helpful it made our 3 day pre cruise trip worthwhile.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Based on reviews on Trip advisor, we stayed at Hotel Sultania for 3 nights in September 2013. We received a warm welcome and were shown to our luxurious room. Breakfast, which is included in the room rate, allowed ample choice and was a great way to start the day. The hotel's location is perfect for exploring the major sites of Istanbul. The staff from the concierge to the maid were all helpful, polite and considerate. We would not hesitate in staying at Hotel Sultania again if in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I felt like a Sultan when I saw my well appointed hotel room, decorated in the traditional style of the Middle East, with a Turkish sweet treat waiting on the bed, served on a brass/copper plate. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. And the restaurant on the top floor of the hotel as well as the cafe at ground level served excellent, fresh, healthy fare at reasonable prices. The location was ideal for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hank632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Staying at the Hotel Sultania made our trip to Istanbul very special. The room was very attractive with real attention to detail. The staff were consistently helpful and friendly and there were lovely touches such as complimentary tea/coffee and pastries at the reception lounge in the afternoons. To top it all it is the perfect location to walk to great sites such as The Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a leisure trip to Istanbul.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lambtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Perfectly located in the heart of Sultanhamet area. Easy walking to main sights and restaurants. Small and very comfortable, with good spa. If you like a large corporate international hotel this is not for you, but if you want somewhere really comfortable with amazing friendly service this is the place. I was travelling alone and a bit apprehensive but by the time I left I was really relaxed and had a wonderful time in Istanbul. The people at Sultania cannot do enough for you, including tours, suggestions and comfortable transfers to/ from the airport which I would recommend. Great value for money too. I look forward to returning for a longer break. Istanbul is very special and Sultania captures that.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIRVING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Precious Guest,

Than you so much for sharing your thoughts about our hotel via tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time.

Please let us know about your return trip toİstanbul. We would love to host you again.

Best Regards,

Serap KURTDERE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,178 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,610 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#26 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,401 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#20 of 1,175 in Istanbul
2,224 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#7 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $73 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing