We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel and Staff”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #11 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Groveland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice during our trip and the staff bent over backwards to ensure that our stays were superb. The rooms range from small and comfortable to grand with incredibly comfortable beds. The hotel is spotlessly clean. We could not have asked for more in comfort and convenience.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel may be more quiet than those facing the restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkALot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,533
    353
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
554
1,521
156
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Location cannot be bettered. Takes a 10-15 min walk from Sofia, 10 min walk to the port (ferry connections across Bosphorus), 1 min walk to the tram (going to Taksim, etc.), on a quiet pedestrian street. Ottoman ambiance (only slightly soapy). Staff go out of their way to help, excellent service throughout. Restaurant food was excellent, wonderful views, breakfast is OK, very plentiful, excellent coffee and pastry. Reliable free Wi-Fi throughout, well-controlled air conditioning in the room, bathroom is fine although the sink is a bit slow to empty, towels linen perfect. Nice neighborhood, plenty of restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolly_Freaking_Good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time and have the same value.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This boutique hotel's got it all. I've stayed there in 2010, and I'm really glad to say that, this year, the excellent level of service and rooms is still intact. Reasonably priced and beautifully designed. Breakfast choices are decent. The rooms are spacious and quiet during the night due to the ancient alley the hotel is on, which is not fit for cars to drive on. Granted, this alley and those connected to it are dotted with restaurants, but chatter noise was not an issue at all even though we were residing on the first floor.

Best of all, we booked a deluxe room online, last minute practically (we moved in from another hotel in Istanbul), and we were pleasantly surprised to know once we reached the reception that we got upgraded to a suite! They took into consideration that we had a child and basically gave her her own room. Now that's what I call a Sweet Suite! ;)

Finally, you won't find staff as friendly as this. They made us feel as if Hotel Sultania is our second home in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Get Suite No. 1101 and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hesham79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it and short review makes the different.
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had three separate stays at this hotel during our trip to the region. The location is superb, rooms are divine, included breakfast is wonderful but it is the staff that makes you never want to leave.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are largest but can be a bit noisy as there are many cafes on the street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time. We have more space for more member to our family
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had a really good stay at this hotel. The rooms were beautiful - mine had a terrace. Everyday my family and I were treated to complimentary Turkish treats left in the hotel room, including Turkish delight, great Turkish wine, and amazingly a bottle of champagne!! Also the housekeeper put rose petals on my bed! What can I say, this hotel is a real gem!

Breakfast was great and the hotel staff were kind enough to indulge me with hot soya milk every morning for coffee as I have a dairy intolerance, even anticipating my need by bringing it to the table as soon as I had sat down.

The hotel staff were lovely and went out of their way to recommend great places to eat and one member of staff even accompanied us to the nearby tram station to show us how to pay for the tickets!

The location of the hotel is excellent, right in the middle of the old town, within walking distance of the main attractions.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel and my family also raved about it. We will certainly come back here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time. And be sure that, this is the biggest prize for us.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was a very pleasant stay we had in Sultania. The location cannot get any better, 10 - 15 mins walk to Hagia Sophya, Blue Mosque, Spice Bazaar. 2 min walk to the tram. The staff is very helpful and gracious and service is excellent. would recommend to all our friends!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zentraveler_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time. That gem is still kept for you.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Unusual hotel as the rooms are decorated in the Ottoman style, Rooms are not large but adequete. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Brfeakfast is very good. This is not a 5 star property, but right in the heart of the old city walking distance to the main Istanbul attractions.
Since the hotel is on a street closed to vehicles your taxi cannot let you out right at the hotell so you either have to bring your luggge down a 1/2 block hill or get a hotel porter to bring them down for you. Bathroom is small but very functional. More lights in room than most hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfnut15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,002 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,352 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#4 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,980 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,089 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#30 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing