We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in a City of Treasures...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #12 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Gem in a City of Treasures...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I chose Hotel Sultania due to its location, reputation, spa facilities and the uniqueness of its suites, all beautifully and individually finished and named after a famous Sultana. Our suite, 1501, was named after Zeynep Sultan and had its own terrace but sadly it was too chilly to venture out there. The room was lovely with a big bathroom with walk in shower, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities and a choice of pillows. The best thing about the hotel however is the customer service. All the staff were extremely polite and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast, as mentioned by other reviewers, was amazing! So much choice and all fres and beautifully prepared. Fresh fruits AND a baby chocolate fountain, cheeses, cold meats, an omelette station, fresh breads, pastries and cakes, a hot buffet with a good range of items, freshly squeezed orange juice, plenty of tea and coffee. The Olive restaurant and rooftop terrace is award winning but apart from a quick look out at the Haggia Sophia beautifully lit at night time we chose to eat out around the City and take advantage of all the amazing restaurants and patisserie/ coffee shops. We also ran out of time to visit the spa although it looked clean and welcoming. I wish I'd had time for a massage - next time! I would definitely recommend a visit to the city and a stay at this fab hotel.The main sites are within walking distance and the tram at Gulhane is a short walk down the street and will take you to most places - Grand Bazaar, Spice Market, Haggia Sophia, Blue Mosque. I can also recommend a trip on the sightseeing bus to get a good overview of the layout of the City, location of the ferry terminal, river etc. A big thank you to all the staff, I know you will read this, for looking after us so well. See you soon xx

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a terrace with table and chairs, although it was too cold to venture out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryJackson-Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    346
    27
    7
    0
See reviews for
521
1,491
148
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Sultania hotel is a little oasis, located in a quiet pedestrian street, in bustling Istanbul. Sultania is centrally located, close to the Topkapi palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue mosque, Sultan Ahmed Mosque, Grand Bazaar and all other attractions of Istanbul. Sultanias rooms are beautifully decorated in Ottoman style and comfortable (although the mattresses are rather firm). The breakfast buffet is memorable but, most importantly, the staff goes to great lengths to make the guests feel comfortable and to make the stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nexuspallwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay. We were wanting a romantic but relaxing break before the birth of our first child and were not disappointed! With so much to see and do in Istanbul, it was great to return to the solace of the hotel which had interesting rooms, excellent food and superb service. The hotel is superbly located with all of the main sites in walking distance. Customer service was excellent. I don't normally write reviews but this was so good that it was worth making the effort. If you're looking for a Turkish experience with high levels of service, Sultania won't disappoint!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

the hotel is very nice, smells great the rooms are so clean and comfy location is great if ur staying in sultanahmet, the staff was really helpful specially (helmy) nice guy. the spa is nice the rooms are named after the sultan hareem everything was great. good hotel nice staff good food great location in the historic area of istanbul.

Room Tip: i was staying on the 5th floor a room with balcony nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ref-ug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We liked everything about it. The location, the staff, the rooms, the breakfast. Lots of nice little touches. Only downside was the gym which was small and had few weights, no towels or water.

Our rooms were on the 2nd floor facing the street so there was some noise. It might be quieter to face the back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EliDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you to choose Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We are appreciate for your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact with me again.

Kindest Regards,
HILMI CALIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverwijk
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My excuses for this late review but time really flies when you’re having fun. In the second half of November 2012 my husband and I stayed 4 nights in the Sultania Hotel. It has been a true delight. The morning of my birthday the Staff surprised me with a fresh baked birthday-cake with candles and.... a birhtday song!
This small boutique-style hotel is located within easy walking distance of all popular sights. Mrs. Gokce Yilmaz, the very pretty Guest Relations Officer, helped us a lot with finding good veggie restaurants, online entrance tickets (saved us a lot of time) and other very interesting facts.
Our room was like a bedroom in a Sultans Palace, a fairytale. Not very large but convenient and welcoming. The mattress was rather firm the pillows excellent for dreaming away. Because our window was overlooking the front street, with a (recommend)popular restaurant opposite the hotel, I guess this can be a bit of a spoilsport when evenings are warmer. The windows are not soundproof and also it can be a bit warm inside so you might want some fresh air. The walls of our room were not soundproof, we could hear our neighbours talk.
The elevator of the hotel is small. The sauna was lovely, the hamam small, the given massage was heaven and you can eat your heart out at breakfast.
Our first time in Istanbul has been a great succes. Next time we will come in a warmer season because we want to visit the Princes’Islands (Adalar District). The weather in November is too unstable. If you can afford it I would suggest to stay at least a whole week to discover Istanbul. If you have more time to spend you can also visit Bursa , Pamukkale, Sile and Agva (very picturesque villages near Istanbul).

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise, especially in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marguerite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We took three rooms for five days over Christmas. The staff as always were absolutely brilliant. We had the most wonderful Christmas dinner on Christmas Eve in the Olive Restaurant with its spectacular views. We also had a excellent dinner in the bistro on another evening when we wanted a quiet evening in. We made good use of the spa. This is definitely one of my favourite hotels. Breakfast was delicious as always and we were given lots of extra treats over the Christmas period.

Room Tip: On our previous two visits we had a large room with roof terrace but that had already been taken so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carobrooB-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#15 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#7 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing