We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious hotel.”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #13 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Francia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel.”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

For my first visit in Instabul I chose the Sultania hotel.
It's really a good hotel that combines oriental style with westerly comfort. Central location perfect for exploring the city.
My room was very luxurious and beautiful, named for the wives of sultans. Furnished in typical fashion, with great attention to detail, a lot of variety of fabrics and colors.
The services are excellent. Breakfast is very plentiful and fresh. There is also a restaurant on the top floor overlooking the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanaDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,492
    351
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
536
1,509
151
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for five nights in September 2012. The hotel is located on a pretty cobbled street which means you can dine alfresco here or at a number of other eateries nearby. Several of the main sights are within 10-15 minutes walking distance and if you need to go further the tram (we used several times) is close by. The staff at the hotel were very friendly without being intrusive. Although they offer tours we did not feel pressured into taking them and were given help by the concierge to arrange travel and visits for ourselves. The restaurant at the top of the hotel is excellent with great views of the Bosphorus and fabulous food.There are options to dine informally and the food was of good quality and not too expensive. We were continually treated to local drinks and treats with compliments of the hotel. The rooms were spotlessly clean, very comfortable and decorated in an ottoman style which all added to the ambience. We are well travelled but can honestly say this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. We would love to go again and thoroughly enjoyed Istanbul.

Room Tip: I had read a previous review about noisy rooms. That was not our experience. There was a little ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzyB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has to be the most wonderful in Istanbul.We left on 28th September and I am already planning to go again.The room we had was stunning,I believe all the rooms have similar decor------ the shower screen has to be seen to fully appreciate the style and decor of the rooms.Turkish delight replenished every day,kettle,toiletries,book mark,guides,super mirror tv,fruit and cake in the foyer,superb,charming staff----- I could go on forever.AND, just around the corner,Topkapi Palace,Blue Mosque,Cisterne.Breakfast buffet superb for every taste.I think you can guess I rate it 5*+.Swimming pool,gym,massage,etc.When we left we were presented with little gifts,made us feel very special.The rooftop bar is charming with wonderful view of Aya Sophia.Thank you EVERYONE at the Hotel Sultania
Valerie and Toby Spanton

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Have just returned home after spending a birthday treat long weekend at the Sultania, and what a treat it was!!!!!

The location (in the old city) of the hotel is perfect...within walking distance to all the major sights, and on a pleasant thoroughfare with a good, vibrant (not noisy) restaurant scene.

Our welcome was amazing - great hospitality with drinks and cakes on arrival, - perfect after the traffic jams through the hussle and bustle of the narrow streets (would advise taxi rather than shuttle bus from the airport). The staff who checked us in were very knowledgable, and gave loads of travel tips to make our stay in the city enjoyable. They made us feel immediately welcome..

Our room was great - on the fourth floor corner (room 1405) which meant we had 2 balconies overlooking the streets below. Within 15 minutes into our unpacking, a knock on the door delivered a tray of fresh fruit and a chocolate fondue to help settle us in! Great comfortable bed, lovely furnishings, fab shower and complimentary bathrobes, slippers etc. Docking station for ipod, all you could want for a weekend away.

Breakfast was very good - hot and cold buffet, fruits, yoghurts, nuts, glorious honey still on the comb, freshly squeezed orange juice..all eaten to the backdrop of Hagia Sophia on one side, or the Bosphorous to the other. On the morning of my birthday, I was greeted by the staff singing "happy birthday" whilst they delivered a birthday cake to our table.It was really quite lovely.

We used the pool (small but big enough for a few strokes) spa and hammam - very refreshing but a little disconcerting that a male member of staff washed us down (although he was very respectful) which made it a little less relaxing than anticipated.

What really makes this hotel stand out from the rest, is the level of service provided by all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble, and they were able to balance perfectly a level and quality of friendliness without being intrusive.

We were very sad to leave and would recommend the hotel wholeheartedly to anyone visiting Istanbul. We'll definitely return! Fabulous!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2londonlassies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the very unique Hotel Sultania for 7 wonderful nights with my 9 year old grandson, Patrick. We both loved the hotel. Not only was it very comfortable but the friendliness of the staff made it a delightful stay. We enjoyed the the buffet breakfast complete with made to order omelets and waffles.Good coffee also.The location is superb. You can walk to the Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia and also the spice market.There are several ATMs and also the trolley line to the Grand Bazaar about 2 blocks from the hotel. I enjoyed the Turkish bath and a massage while Patrick swam in the pool. The wifi was free ans worked well and you can get CNN and BBC if you need to check on the news.Whenever I am in Istanbul. will always stay at the Sultania The hotel will arrange your airport pickup. You will LOVE this hotel!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and the room was delightful. super friendly maid and free Turkish delight i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishdesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our first visit to Istanbul and we loved the city and the people. We stayed at the hotel Sultania and found it just perfect.. The location in the historical part of the city made it perfect for sightseeing - everything on your doorstep. The welcome at the hotel was first-class with the front desk people extremely friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated in the Ottoman style.Service excellent, breakfast most enjoyable - we could not fault it in any way. I would highly recommend this hotel to any visitor and we hope to return there again soon.
Anne G

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Situated a short walk away from the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sofia, Hotel Sultania is perfect for break in Istanbul. Our room was beautifully decorated, clean and spacious with new furniture and lovely bedding and to die for pillows - you can even ask for a different one if you need to! Lots of toiletries, hairdryer, magnifying mirror ( very handy when your eyes are getting bad ), great lighting, complimentary tea/coffee/turkish delight and a minibar (chargable). The shower room is a little small but the shower itself is fabulous and the cotton robes are very soft and comfortable. The spa area is well worth a visit and breakfast is varied with ample choice (although probably not too English with veg as a choice!). Our welcome was faultless with offer of tea/coffee/Efes beer and afternoon cakes were provided along with little gifts on departure. Not one to miss.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank North-South-Belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,937 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,951 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#14 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing