We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in top floor room with roof top views”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #12 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
epsom, england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in top floor room with roof top views”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for a week and found this to be one of our most enjoyable and restful hotel stays anywhere in the world . Our room was quiet, very clean and stylish, with views across to the European quarter, and free wi-fi and tv. Excellent comfortable bed and ample sized bathroom with all amenities. All the staff were friendly , courteous and helpful at all times. The restaurant provided comprehensive breakfasts. We did not use it for dinner as there are others nearby . The hotel is situated perfectly for access to all the key sites including Topkapi and Grand Bazaar. Guest services were always on hand for information and help. Would certainly recommend it and stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the fifth floor have views , most have balconies . All have a/c which is not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harryEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,520
    352
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
545
1,519
156
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dilbeek
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The building, restaurant and rooms are comfortable even luxurous and clean, but more important is that every one of the staff, from cleaning personnel, restaurant personnel or reception people are gentle, polite and extremely helpfull. A very pleasant experience.
Moreover the hotel is well located in order to visit the historic center of Istanbul.
If I return to Istanbul, I will choose this hotel and recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene_SDilbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Best hotel we stayed at in Turkey. The service & support was excellent, nothing was too hard. In our 3 week tour we stayed in 5 different hotels & this was the best. Room decor was fun & charming. Breakfast (included) was superb, fresh & delicious. Located in the heart of oldest Istanbul the major attractions were within a comfortable walk. To choose a restaurant for dinner, walk out the door & see what appeal, or, take a table at their rooftop restaurant for the food as well a s the view. I tried theirTurkish hamam (spa) & loved it. Ask for Mehmet, whether you want to reboot from jet lag or be soothed & relaxed. I would go straight back to this hotel whenever I am in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Thet were all good. First floor had double glazed windows. Bathrooms are fun! Pictures from the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epernay, France
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed at The Sultania Hotel on my business trip. They were so friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean, bed comfortable, included a lcd tv and free wi-fi. I couldn't ask for more. Also, the staff was extremely friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kleber649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Latitiude 20/49
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Cannot add much to the 600+ reviews so far. Staff were definitely exceptional. Decor unusual. The rooftop restaurant offered another wonderful view of Hagia Sophia and the Golden Horn. Along with the adjoining Yasmak Hotel, there were 3 elevators serving our 3rd floor room 1302. The retaurant driectly across the street offered some of the finest dining experiences too.

Proximity to the Tram made all of Istanbul close and cheap. The prepaid card made already cheap prices even cheaper. The Bazaar, the Spice Market all a short walk.

Room Tip: 1302 is featured in their Boutique Hotels of the world book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Modern boutique hotel, located in the heart of old town, close to all the attractions. What makes the place stand out is the service, starting first with the upgrade that we received and continuing on to getting our bags from our previous hotel in Istanbul. (We had stored them when we went to the Aegean for a week.) My favorite staff member was Semih, who encouraged by fascination with trying to find the "best of" of every variety of food from manti to durum to kofte.

The rooms were clean; the bathrooms were small. The gym, pool, spa were small, but a nice break from the heat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELEE47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Everything we read in TA is true and more!
My wife and I are in the hospitality industry and it was great to see a hotel strive to be at the top of their profession. We were very pleased and surprised at their commitment to great service from the initial welcome to a final departure wave.
We arrived early AM from our cruise (taxi fare from the dock 15 euro). As we expected, the room was not ready until 1pm. We were invited by the front desk attendant, to have a complementary breakfast while we waited.
The guest service manager, Hilmi Cali's, then gave us good advice about what and when to see things. He suggested buying the 72 hour museum card for 72 Lyra. It was not only a good value but it allowed us to skip all the hot, long lines at the palaces and museums.
We felt that because we went through TA, we got extra service. We got a nice room. When we returned from touring, we were always greeted with a smile, handshake and a drink of coffee, tea or water. The whole hotel was clean and well appointed.

Breakfast buffet was filled with many Turkish and European selections. A chef prepared eggs in any fashion that we wished. There were lots of food options at the buffet. A nice gentleman manager, "Moose", was always getting those specials food items that we needed, such as Soy milk.
We ate at their Olive Restaurant, where we were welcomed by Ayse, a friendly hostess. She made sure we were welcomed, seated and properly served. She had a beautiful smile that made us feel at home. Her English was good and she helped us understand some of the Turkish customs.

The night before we were to fly home, Delta cancelled our flight and we had to stay another day at our own expense (Delta's option was to spend the night at JFK airport.) Our lovely hotel was already full, so Hilmi called another Yasmak hotel next door and arranged a very nice room for a reduced rate for the extra night. Plus they took the luggage from our old room down the street to the new one. A big plus! While the 2nd hotel was very good at customer service, it was not over the top level that the Sultania had exhibited.

Our North American hotels could learn a lot from this hotel's guest services. We paid a little more but got a lot of value. Thank you!

Room Tip: Get a fifth floor room with a balcony and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manyplaceswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,150 in Istanbul
3,323 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,974 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,068 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#29 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing