We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sultania
Nearby Hotels
$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$107
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$388
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eresin Hotels Topkapi(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$77
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$126
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$619
$448
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sumengen Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$83
$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$178
$155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,071)
Filter reviews
3,071 results
Traveler rating
2,666
367
28
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,666
367
28
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolive restaurantblue mosqueold cityrooftop restauranttopkapi palaceturkish delightguest relationswithin walking distancespice marketottoman styletram stopturkeyfantastic hotelbreakfast buffetperfect locationmajor attractionsgalata bridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,834 - 1,839 of 3,071 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We, a retired couple, stayed at the Sultania hotel (room 1201) for 3 weeks in May / June 2012. This was our second trip to Istanbul.
The hotel is located conveniently close to many tourist / cultural sites; e.g. about 10-minutes or less walking distance to Topkapi, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Galata Bridge and public transportation (tram, ferries), and is situated in an area with no thru-traffic.
The area is relatively quiet compared to Istanbul in general. Our room was located on the side facing the street with several restaurants and was quiet with the windows closed. In the evenings, we kept a window open and could therefore hear the noise from the restaurants. The use of earplugs solved the problem for us.
Our room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated (as shown on the photos of the hotel's website). We had many contacts with the hotel staff during our somewhat extended stay and everybody was extremely friendly / helpful (front desk, information desk, restaurant, housekeeping) at all times.
The breakfast buffet offers a wide variety of choices.
There a many restaurants nearby. We used the one opposite the hotel entrance several times and the food / value for money was very good; the service was very friendly.

We are frequent travelers and somewhat picky when it comes to accommodation. We cannot but underline that this stay was positive from the first to the last day and we would definitely stay at the hotel again during a future trip.

Jacqueline & Willi J., Luxembourg

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

From being picked up at the airport to returning to the airport we had a brilliant time in Istanbul and the Hotel Sultania. Our driver was waiting for us at the airport and it took about an hour to get to the Hotel (it was 5pm - the return trip took 30 minutes at 10.30 in the morning).

Our room (1305) on the 3rd floor was a good size and had a great deal of character, you felt that you were in Istanbul not a featureless hotel which could have been anywhere. The room was very quiet, no traffic passes this side of the hotel or anyside. There is a restaurant opposite but this creates very little noise and the double glazing keeps it out anyway.

Breakfast was excellent with a very good choice. I enjoyed the freshly made mushroom omelette everyday, my wife had delicious fresh fruit etc. etc.

We also made use of the cafe / bistro (same space as where you have breakfast) on a couple of occasions in the evening. The food was very good,reasonably priced and gave us a very good opinion of Turkish cuisine. (We were very well looked after by our waiter Murat).

As far as location is concerned you are just 5 - 10 minutes walk from the major sites - Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, Galata Bridge, Bosphorous Cruises, Suleymaniye Mosque (Very peaceful, impressive and quiet here when we visited).

We spent 5 nights at the Hotel Sultania and so had 4 full days to do Istanbul justice, remember there is so much to see and do.

Finally I cannot recommend Istanbul or the Sultania highly enough

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingfisher512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Hotel Sultania is an excellent hotel; the rooms are very nice, quiet and with an excellent large double bed.
The breakfast is is very good and the hours are perfect: from 7 till 11! The location of the hotel could not be better since you can walk to the most important touristic places. A wide variety of restaurants available within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed 6 nights in this excellent hotel. It is situated in the heart of old Istanbul, Sultanahmet, 5 minutes walking distance from all the top attractions, Topkapi, blue mosk, Aya Sophia and the Bosphorus. Hotel is excellent, clean, good service and nice as is shown on the pictures. Hotel personnel is very friendly and helpful. Eylül Tuvan, who is in charge of guest reception is very helpfull and friendly. No negative remarks, one of the best places to stay in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Positives -

- location- in a cute alley with many restaurants w outdoor seating. 10-15 min walking to most major "to see" areas, including topapki palace, blue mosque, spice market, grand bazaar, hagia Sophia, etc
- nice lighting and decor
- Hilmi organized a cake for Wife’s bday. He is incredible
- heard their fitness ctr and spa is nice, didn’t go
- Eylul at guest relations desk is amazing and helpful
- safe to store valuables

Negatives:

- Low slanted ceilings, less than 6 ft (top (5th) floor only?)
- AC which never reached target temp, always running
- one Internet code per device, all kept resetting. Good signal though
- lack of complete blackout w curtains, I like it dark in the AM!

Miz

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mizzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews