We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City By Molton Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City By Molton Hotels
Ranked #861 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

I really loved staying there, the hotel is located in one of the best areas where everything is around you. It's a small hotel but well organized & have friendly stuff. The hotel only problem is the sound of music which comes from night clubs around the area during the weekends mostly, which for some people may cause difficulty in sleeping.
I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuliphotels, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this review, March 2, 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.To avoid misunderstanding, we would like to inform our guests that our hotels are situated in the centre of the city, right in the middle of its historical sightseeing and active night life.That's why there is the sound.Hope to see you again.

Sincelery,

TULİP CİTY HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    164
    92
    46
    27
See reviews for
35
174
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

If you are thinking of staying in Taksim area, I would recommend this hotel. Its clean, good room size, very close to Istiklal st. & metro station Sishane. Well provided room amenities. Though it's on a back street its pretty safe.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supersupreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuliphotels, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this review, March 2, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

TULİP CİTY HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beyrut, lübnan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We went to hotel so early in the morning and hotel was not avaliableibut there was good staff arranged for us first room thansk a lot Mr. Erkan for your helps and smiles,also another staff were friendly and it was very clean has a good location in best places to stay in istanbul really,we are doing travel agency bussıness in beirut also we will request to our customers this hotel and we wish to go again,thans again for everything...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steffy085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuliphotels, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

TULİP CİTY HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

Good things first:
1) Great location! In the middle of all nice restaurants, cafes and small shops in Tunnel. Subway 1 block away.
2) New and clean.
3) Good rates.

Bad things now:
1) My room was in the first floor. At night the clubs and restaurants are just around you and you just can't sleep until at least 3AM.
2) My bathroom got completely wet (Really) everytime we took a shower. Don't even think about blowdrying your hair there... I decided to take a shower at the spa and found out that they had the same problem there but, at least, I didn't have my bathroom and room all soaked.
3) The staff speaks poor english or no english at all. And that's a real problem!

You'd better look for another hotel in the same area!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuliphotels, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are glad You’ve chosen our hotel and enjoyed your stay in İstanbul. We appreciate for taking time to share your feedback. Your opinion is important for us. We hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,

TULIP CITY HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

If you are looking for a place to stay in istanbul, do not hesitate to go to this hotel. It has an amazing central location which is close or easy to travel to all of the sights. The hotel itself is very unique, its design is creative and young and every part of the building is full of character. The room is nice and spacious with the full works to make you feel at home. Apart from all the materialistic things the staff are so kind and helpful. when i arrived at the hotel, i realised i had been a victim of fraud from a dodgy hotel website and had no reservations made although i had paid. Even so the staff at the reception where so understanding and sympathetic about the situation that they tried to calm us down and arrange a room to stay. The buffet breakfast is lovely and full of selection and the staff at the restaurant are so courteous. It was the best break i had in a very long time.
I would definately return back to Tulip city taksim when i will be visiting istanbul.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozlem_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuliphotels, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We appreciate you for taking time to write full and informative description of your stay. Your review might be useful for other travellers.Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

TULİP CİTY HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Located in the very-cool Beyoglu district, Tulip City is just a block away from Istiklal Caddesi and among many of the neighborhood's winding, bustling streets of cafes and restaurants. It's about a 15-minute walk (up/down a very steep hill!) to the metro station that will bring you to Sultanahmet where all the tourist sites are, but not a big deal. If you want to stay in Istanbul's 'Village,' this is a good choice -- especially for the price.

The hotel itself is very modern and funky, with cool paisley carpet, murals in the rooms and fluroescent lighting throughout. The rooms are small, but equipped with everything you might need and then some from a flatscreen TV to a safe and tons of yummy smelling lotions and products. (That said, the whole hotel may be smoking, as our room unfortunately smelled very badly of stale smoke.)

Also, the elevator is super small and was acting up while we were there, but there are only 8 floors and the spiral staircase is fun and easy to walk down (if not a bit dizzying!) Oh and for whatever reason our electricity went out a few times. I'm not sure if other rooms had this issue, but it was a bit annoying -- especially when you're soaking wet after just getting out of the shower!

In the basement, there's a very cool spa and modernized Turkish bath and steam room to use free of charge. It was great after a busy day touring the sites.

Breakfast, which is included, offers an array of classic Turkish offerings (cheese, jams, veggies) as well as Westernized options like eggs and delicious baked goods. It's served in a super cute cafeteria room and the waitstaff is all friendly and accommodating.

The concierge and other staff are all very friendly, though no one spoke English very well, which made getting directions or suggestions for where to eat a bit difficult. Luckily, there's free usage of internet, so you can easily figure it all out for yourself.

All in all, I'd stay here again. Some of the negative things were merely circumstance, and the positive factors outweigh them all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank writeon825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuliphotels, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of our hotel! We appreciate you for taking time to write full and informative description of your stay. Your review might be useful for other travellers.Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

TULİP CİTY HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

Everytime we have stayed in Istanbul i have stayed at the sister hotel next door, but we saw this one was new and decided to give it a try. I love the decor! The staff were very friendly and the location is great! 1 minute walk from Istiklal Street and about 5 minutes walk to the metro station and taksim square. The spa was very nice as well. Very near all the night life as well, but not so near that it was noisy at all. Will stay there everytime we go to istanbul!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljacildo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuliphotels, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

TULİP CİTY HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Rose by Molton Hotels
Rose by Molton Hotels
#608 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#394 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Beyoglu
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
#310 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Galata La Bella Hotel
Galata La Bella Hotel
#390 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Beyoglu
Express Star Hotel
Express Star Hotel
#872 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Star Hotel Bosphorus
Grand Star Hotel Bosphorus
#916 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City By Molton Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City By Molton Hotels

Property: City By Molton Hotels
Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. No: 95 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey (Formerly Pera Tulip City Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#230 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#450 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City By Molton Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 5-minute walk from Istiklal Street, this designer hotel in central Beyoglu is a 3-minute walk from the Galatasaray tram stop. It features spa facilities and has rooms with colorful lighting and modern Baroque furnishings. Rooms have air conditioning and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. They come equipped with a minibar and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. In the morning, the hotel serves a buffet breakfast. The Hardal Restaurant serves international cuisine such as pasta, fajitas and hamburgers. In the evening guests can enjoy cocktails and music at the lively bar. Pera Tulip City Taksim has a spa center with a hammam, a hot tub and massage facilities. There is also a fitness center with free weights. The Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia are a 5-minute tram ride from Pera Tulip City. Istiklal Street is just half a mile away. The hotel has 24-hour front desk service and a tour desk that assists with car rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your City By Molton Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip City Taksim Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing