We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of City By Molton Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City By Molton Hotels
Ranked #863 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Province of Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

room 1104 noise and hot. AC does not run right and impossible to use for refreshment. Poor breakfast. Service not very nice. Only a good location because closest to taskim and not far fron ancient city

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMalcotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeraTulipHotel, Manager at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

I was disappointed to hear that you had a problem during your stay. I need to tell you that we fixed the problem in room 1104.

We continuously strive to get better and it is through.
Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Can you please send me e-mail one week prior your arrial and I will pre bloke your rooms.

Sincerely,

Abdullah MUTLU
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    164
    92
    46
    27
See reviews for
35
174
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I only spent six hours here, so did not have time to fully use the Hotel. The decor was really strange and gave the first impression of a Brothel. The room was very small, the aircon very noisy and the bathroom was a cupboard. The shower was so small I could not actually get into it, and I am not fat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeraTulipHotel, Manager at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

I am sorry to hear thet you had a problem with room size. Can you please be so kind to send me e-mail one week prior your arrival and I will give you a good room.

We continuously strive to get better and it is through.
Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Sincerly,

Abdullah MUTLU
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

good location - few minutes walk from Istikal street. Its a smallish hotel with very minimalist facilities, though quite stylish and modern decor (don't care much for that). Rooms are puny and very basic - barely any space to walk. Staff was warm but room was not comfortable, other issues were TV remote, hair dryer was not working, bathrooms are not well designed etc -
Stay here if you are spending all your time out in the streets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip-along-long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuliphotels, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We wish you had a better experience during your stay at our hotel.
The personnel in Tulip Hotels work hard to improve its quality, image, services it provide. We thank you for the feedback. İt would be useful for us to gain better results.
If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have liked.
Sincerely,

TULIP CITY HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The entrance of this hotel is nice, and the location is one block from the main thoroughfare of shopping, etc. The rooms are small but decent. However, the noise is overwhelming. There is a club that plays house music that comes loudly into your room until 4 AM. I had to request ear plugs.

Also, the shower is a bit of a disaster as it floods the entire bathroom every time.

Finally, the service was not great. I asked for a quiet room and did not get one. In addition, they told me I wasn't allowed to have visitors (i.e., my friend and I weren't allowed to go grab a sweater from my room together - she had to either turn over her passport or wait in the lobby).

I recommend the Marmara Pera or somewhere else nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisi145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeraTulipHotel, Manager at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Tahnkyou for sharing comments about our hotel. I am sorry thay you had a problem with room size. There was a congres during your stay so we didn't have room to change your room.
We fixed the problem on the hair dryer and tv remote.

Sincerely,

Abdullah MUTLU
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

well, we booked this hotel while in istanbul because we wanted to be near istiklal st and taksim sq., we read the online reviews and we found it to be good for our budget.
It was high season and the hotel was busy but it was suitable for us and our kid.. it has a lift and a working a/cf, we had one large bed, good abundant breakfast -although, like so many hotels in istanbul, the breakfast room was in the basement of the hotel-, helpful staff and the area was really very safe.
it's an art-deco hotel with hip colors and designs, and although it was on a busy street and near some night clubs, once we closed the window we didnt hear anything, so again it's suitable for families with young children.
The bed was comfortable but the room itself was very small. The bathroom is tiny as well.
Of course, being in Beyoglu, Taksim area is a big plus, because there you have lots of shops, restaurants, caffes, clubs, fish market, etc
We can go back again

Room Tip: if you have young kids, ask for a room in the first floor as the lift might be busy and late sometim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinouDelCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeraTulipHotel, Manager at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for your recent comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Tulip City Hotel and had a fabulous time at Istanbul.

I am glad to hear your comments and compliments about our employees as well.

We are trying our best to make your stay remarkable.

Thank you very much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming back you soon.

Sincerely,

Abdullah MUTLU
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

this hotel is designed for dwarfs :)
the bed is very small for a guy like me, my height is 174 cm :)
there is nothing called large bed in this hotel. they put 2 beds together to make a large bed.
the room is very very very tiny small one. there is no closet. the safe is very small. if you put your bags on the floor you will have a very tine space to walk. no swimming pool. the lights of the hotel is blue and red leds only. there is nothing else. my room did not have any view at all although my room was in the 8th floor. but the hotel is very clean that is one point for the hotel

however, this hotel's price is very cheap if you are planning a vacation for shopping and visiting places in istanbul. all you have to do is to sleep and have breakfast in the hotel. it is very close to isteklal street and taksim square. also, it is very close to metro station to go anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina_Louis_Fido_Dido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeraTulipHotel, Manager at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

I was disappointed to hear that you had a problem with your room size. Can you please send me e-mail and I will pro bloke your room for your next visit.

We continuously strive to get better and it is through.
Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon


Sincerely,

Abdullah MUTLU
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morocco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms, excellent location. The rooms are very small and unfortunately most of the ACs are not working and could not sleep the whole night. I tried the AC in two other rooms: same problem. I will comeback to this hotel only if they change the air conditioners!





Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Najib_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeraTulipHotel, Manager at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

I was delighted to see that your stay was generally positive. I was disappointed to hear that you had a problem with AC. I need to tell you that we changed our AC system.

We continuously strive to get better and it is through.
Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Abdullah MUTLU
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Rose by Molton Hotels
Rose by Molton Hotels
#605 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#403 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata La Bella Hotel
Galata La Bella Hotel
#393 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Grand Star Hotel Bosphorus
Grand Star Hotel Bosphorus
#906 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Beyoglu
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
#310 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Beyoglu
Babu Hotel
Babu Hotel
#620 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City By Molton Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City By Molton Hotels

Property: City By Molton Hotels
Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. No: 95 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey (Formerly Pera Tulip City Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#230 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#449 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City By Molton Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 5-minute walk from Istiklal Street, this designer hotel in central Beyoglu is a 3-minute walk from the Galatasaray tram stop. It features spa facilities and has rooms with colorful lighting and modern Baroque furnishings. Rooms have air conditioning and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. They come equipped with a minibar and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. In the morning, the hotel serves a buffet breakfast. The Hardal Restaurant serves international cuisine such as pasta, fajitas and hamburgers. In the evening guests can enjoy cocktails and music at the lively bar. Pera Tulip City Taksim has a spa center with a hammam, a hot tub and massage facilities. There is also a fitness center with free weights. The Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia are a 5-minute tram ride from Pera Tulip City. Istiklal Street is just half a mile away. The hotel has 24-hour front desk service and a tour desk that assists with car rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your City By Molton Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip City Taksim Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing