We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Gem in a Magical City”
Review of Lausos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lausos Hotel
Ranked #438 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just returned from a week's stay in the Lausos Hotel in Istanbul. The hotel is an excellent value in this magical city. You can not beat the location in the old historical center near the Blue Mosque and a couple of blocks from the Tram. There is a lift and a rooftop terrace with magnificent views. I'm sure the suites on the 4th floor share these same views. The rooms are squeaky clean and the bed comfortable. The noise from traffic could be lessened with some double glazed windows though. Traffic slows down at night, so it is tolerable if you are not a light sleeper. Breakfast was a good assortment of cheeses, meats, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, fresh yogurt, fruits, coffee and fresh squeezed juices.

The only reason I didn't give the Lausos a 5 rating was the bathroom. While reasonably sized and very clean, there is only a jetted tub with a short hosed spray head. The entire bathroom is done in attractive, but slippery tile and there is no place to hang towels or put toiletries. I have a knee problem that prevents getting in and out of a tub. So taking a "shower" consisted of sitting on the side tube to use the spray hose because the hose itself was too short to use standing. Washing my hair was extremely difficult. I am only 5'8", so I can't imagine what a very tall person would do. The bathroom shortcomings could easily be fixed with a few minor and inexpensive additions... a long hose for the spray, a bracket on the wall to attach the spray head to for a standing shower, a simple shower curtain and some hooks for hanging towels and toiletry bags. I would strongly urge management to make these minor changes.

What truly made our stay at this hotel outstanding was the front desk daytime staff, Soner. His excellent english, warmth and gracious personality were very much appreciated. Soner paid close attention to all the little details that made this vacation so special... from suggesting restaurants, giving us information on sites to visit, to making transportation arrangements for us. Soner made us feel like very important and special guests. We thank him very much for his professionalism and his wonderful sense of humor.

We would definitely stay at this wonderful little hotel again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you can afford to spring for the suites on the top floor facing the Blue Mosque, do it. The view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lampesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 441 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during our little short trip to Istanbul. We were picked up at the airport as part of the package,which made our first time experience very comfortable,especially considering traveling with a young children. Even though we checked it late at night, we were still greeted by friendly and polite staff .
There was a wide range of food selection for breakfast. The staff were very very attentive towards our young child and made us feel welcomed.
I would like to thank Yasmin and Mehmet for making our stay at hotel Lausos extra special.
Location wise, this place was very good, central to everything. You feel safe walking at night, walking distance to main sites and the tram.
Our room was little than expected, but the bathroom was on of the highlights.
There were no tea making facilities, but the staff were more than happy to help us with tea or hot water for making the babies food at any time of the day or night.
Thank you again Yasmin, for the wonderful time, and for the shopping tips.

Room Tip: our room did not have any view, being in the ground floor, perhaps the room on top have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cholo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I visited Istanbul last week along with my family , we have booked and stayed in Hotel Lausos.
Staff is very courteous and always offered to help and guide us , My 5 year old son still remebers Yasmin, she is very wonderful lady serving breakfast. Rooms are nice and we got room on 4th floor with city and sea view.Hotel is located very near to visiting points and to tram station with nieghbouring nice resturants.Break fast is very good and healthy. we felt like Home away from home in Hotel Lausos. we have plans to visit next year.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice and we got room on 4th floor with city and sea view. but little smaller, two person w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aizaz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is an excellent hotel in a fantastic location. It is in easy walking distance of the tram and provides easy access to the best restaurants and sights. The blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia are in easy tram/walking distance. The rooms are clean and very well appointed. Westerners should remember that the call to prayer can be heard through all the wall so do not expect to nap/sleep through it as there is a small mosque located right across the street. However we found our selves out and exploring the city most of the time. I can not say enough about how helpful the staff was on numerous occasions. They personally intervened several times that we found our selves in need of assistance. I cannot recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The location is very close to all major attractions in Sultanahmet. The people at the reception were extremely friendly, recommending us tours and activities to do while in Istanbul. We arrived very early in the morning and they managed to offer us a room within 15 minutes, even though the check in time is not until 2 pm. Also, they offered us breakfast even though we were only entitled for breakfast the following day. They have given extremely above and beyond the expected hospitality service!

On the second day, they upgraded us to Bosphorus suite as there is vacancy. We were extremely pleased as the suite is very spacious with breathtaking views of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Their standard room, which we stayed during our first night there, was also comfortable, extremely clean, nicely decorated with superb shower and good heating system.

The breakfast offers good selection and delicious too. They also offer tea break in the evening so it is very welcoming whenever you come back to the hotel after a day out in the city.

Overall, this is definitely recommended due to location, value for money, comfort and most importantly, hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Lausos is a comfortable hotel in a fantastic location. Its only a few minutes walking to the hippodrome, blue mosque, arasta bazaar, and all the main sights in central Istanbul. Its also near the grand bazaar and the t1 tram. The hotel isnt noisy, and the views are unbelievable.

The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is plentiful and tasty! Its a great Turkish start to each day in Istanbul. The photos and 360 tours on the website are totally accurate.

The shower is very modern, with lights, fan, radio, and 3 separate water settings, but could feel small for taller people. Not all rooms have these showers.

I would absolutely stay at Lausos again, especially considering its lower prices and airport shuttle deals

2  Thank dannycas
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We turned up at the hotel at about 9am and were immediately invited to have some breakfast - this was very welcome. And things just got better from there! Our room was clean and tidy with great views across to the Blue Mosque and the Bosphorus. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Sultanahmet and The Grand Bazaar and the tram stop and offers a complimentary afternoon tea from 2 to 4 which is most welcome after a long day walking around. The staff are very friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. And if you are lucky - as we were - they might offer you an upgrade to one of the penthouse suites with fabulous 180 degress views across the city or the harbour. If/when we go back to Istanbul this is where we will stay. Fabulous!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausos H, Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Valuable guest;

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your stay experience with us. In particular, I am very pleased to know that our service and staff have significant role in keeping you returning!

Should you have any further comments, please feel free to contact me directly, as I would be eager to hear from you. Otherwise, my colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you back some day in the near future!

see you next week!

Warm wishes,

Mustafa Özduman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#68 of 1,173 in Istanbul
752 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#132 of 1,173 in Istanbul
499 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#366 of 1,173 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,173 in Istanbul
803 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#46 of 1,173 in Istanbul
856 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#499 of 1,173 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausos Hotel

Address: Binbirbirek Mah. Klodfarer Caddesi, 33 | Sultanhmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #438 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $48 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lausos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lausos Hotel Istanbul is a new boutique hotel located in the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Neighbors of the Lausos Hotel Istanbul are the great St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, the Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar, Islamic Arts Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lausos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing