We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic view of Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lausos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lausos Hotel
Ranked #371 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic view of Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hotel Lausos has everything that you need as a traveler in Istanbul. It is a boutique facility, not a mainstream hotel so expect personalised service but not big hotel amenities like swimming pool or gym.

The hotel is in a fantastic location in the centre of the historic Sultanahmet, close (walking distance 5 - 10 mins) to many historical places (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica cistern, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar...). It offers a most magnificent view of two major mosques from Topkapi suite where we stayed (sea side view).

The rooms are very clean, the staff is excellent and very helpful from the moment you enter the hotel till the last booking of transfer to the airport. We also booked all our tours through the hotel and everything was actioned promptly. We have not seen such a personal and forthcoming service for a long time.

Breakfast is served with good selection of food and weather permitting you can have it on the garden terrace.

Thank you to all the staff, especially Cengiz, Ozkan and the 3rd receptionist that we don't know the name off, for making our stay in Istanbul a memorable experience. We will come back!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NedNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkarakus, General Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a delightful review of your recent stay with us.
I was really happy to read your feedback about your experiences in the hotel and how comfortable and happy you were with the service and surroundings that we provide.

I have passed on your kind words on to Cengiz, Ozkan, Servet and the rest of the great team I have here at the hotel.

I really do hope that you can join us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kamil Karakus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    109
    35
    6
    5
See reviews for
110
201
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Pros: the hotel is in a fantastic location a few minute walk from all the major tourist attractions which was great to have.
The hotel is also only minutes away from the tram station
The hotel was newly renovated and was very clean
Decent varied breakfast including various breads, cakes, cheeses, meat, olives and two hot dishes of eggs and sausages- very good

Cons: very small bedroom, too small for 2 people
No tea/coffee facilities in the room
No amenities in the hotel such as restaurant, room service,gym, pool etc
Too expensive for what you get. Decent 3 stars hotel, nothing to write home about.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkarakus, Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Valuable guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review.
Lausos hotel is a small boutique hotel with 34 rooms.
We have several options with the rooms. smaller economic rooms (double room city view), connected family rooms with city view, larger rooms (superior and deluxe room), double room with sea view and junior suites with the great view of the Bosphorus, Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque which are the most important symbols of the city.
Lausos hotel do not provide swimming pool, large lobby, bars, gym and disco and we have clearly specified our service at the website.
We do not provide tea, and coffee maker facilities in the room because we have that service 24 hours for complimentary included orange juice and other cold drinks.
We are ambitious with the location, cleanness, buffet breakfast, guest relation, family atmosphere and the best Istanbul view with our junior suites.
Please do not hesitate to contact with us if you wish to stay again at our boutique hotel

Yours sincerely,

Mustafa Özduman

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at Lausos for 4 nights. It is located right in the desired quarter - close to all main sights - while staying quiet aside from the main busy street. Excellent staff, very clean and cosy rooms. Breakfast on a terrace - nothing more to wish.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkarakus, General Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your impressions of your stay at the Hotel Lausos on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were generally satisfied with our services and the staff.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Istanbul soon!

Yours sincerely,

Kamil Karakus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great location. Is very centrally located. Place is 5 minutes walking distance from all the travel hotspots in Sultanahmet. Our room had an excellent view of the blue mosque and Hagia Sophia (Bosphorus suite). Excellent breakfast spread. There is a garden area with calm atmosphere to have your breakfast. 24/7 staff responsiveness and enthusiasm. Whatever small issues we had regarding the internet was promptly solved. Rooms are not spacious as I would have liked to have it but good enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_KShetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkarakus, General Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your impressions of your stay at the Hotel Lausos on TripAdvisor.

The location of the Hotel Lausos, just minutes walk from the major monuments in the Old City, is indeed a real advantage for our guests.

We truly hope that you will find your way back to Istanbul from Dubai soon and that we will have the chance to welcome you back!

Yours sincerely,

Kamil Karakus
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed at the Lausos from 31st July - 6th August. I was meeting and staying with family at the hotel but was arriving much earlier than my mother, who made the booking. I should also mention that I had injured myself just before my trip to Istanbul and therefore on crutches.

The airport transfer worked fine but from the moment I stepped into the Lausos, service went above and beyond the call of duty. Although I was well before check-in time, the wonderful front desk staff, Mr Cengiz, arranged a small double room for me to use until my family arrived. They offered me full breakfast and notified me the minute the Saltanahmet Suite, our booked room, became available and came to take my luggage up.

The room itself had amazing views of the Bosphorus, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. The images on the website are very much true to the look of this room. The location is also a huge plus. It is in a nice, quiet location just a stone's throw from the bustling roads of Sultanahmet district and the main tourist sites. You get much more of a neighborhood feel about the place with easy access to the tourist path (perfect for someone on crutches).

As we were all rather laid up by the end of the day (and I was in a bit of pain from my injury), we asked if there were any options for room service. Again, the staff went out of their way to provide service! As we found out, they do not have room service at the Lausos, therefore one of the staff kindly went to a local restaurant for a menu, took our order and arranged food direct from the restaurant. It was a wonderful start to our holiday!

We gradually got to know most of the staff at Lausos as everyone is very friendly and genuinely seem to love their work. Mustafa and Yasemin especially were always ready with a cheerful greeting and smile as they served breakfast. Special touches were their remembering my preferences for breakfast and Yasemin's lovely conversation! The manager, also Mustafa, was very happy to chat with guests and to offer good advice.

The professionalism, friendliness and happiness of the Lausos staff are what really set them apart (besides the lovely rooms) and I would be back in a heartbeat. Our wonderful holiday is greatly due to their care and kindness!

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra for the great views the Lausos can offer (book early and don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I were very fortunate to have stayed at the Lausos Hotel for three nights after a cruise around the Aegean to Kusadasi, Troy, Kios, Cesme and a few other beautiful places. It was our first time in Istanbul and the staff was so helpful to us that we felt like members of their family. Mr. Cengiz greeted us upon arrival and within a few minutes had us checked in and made all the reservations for all our activities for our three day stay. This included a tour of the famous mosques and Topkapi palace, a Turkish bath appointment and a nearby show of the "whirling dervishes". Everything was perfectly handled and Mr. Cengiz is of the highest integrity and competence. You can depend on his advice. Fortunately, we arrived in time for the breakfast buffet which is personally prepared by a cheerful young woman named Yasemin, who not only cooks exceptionally well but is very hospitable and will make you feel right at home. Do not miss her Turkish coffee service. It is the best in Turkey!

We stayed in the Marmaris room on the 5th floor. It had a majestic view of the city and Bosphorous. The hotel has recently been renovated and everything is new but decorated in an antique Turkish style which we found very beautiful. The hotel is immaculately clean and well located within a 10 minute walk to all the major sites. Another staff member named Mustafa was also very helpful to us and made our stay very enjoyable. He is a big Boston Celtics fan so Bostonians will love this place! We can't wait to return to Istanbul....great city, beautful people and next time we'll be speaking Turkish with a little help from all our new friends.

Room Tip: The fifth floor was great in terms of views. We had room 501. very good if you can get it and well p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonE1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Prior to my business trip to Istanbul I searched many hotels in the old town and read a lot of reviews. Their website is simple, easy to navigate and up-to-date. The images you see are really true and give a good overview of the hotel, rooms and location.

I booked my stay through their website which was very easy and safe.

The staff were friendly and ready to help. I enjoyed talking with the concierge every morning and afternoon.

My room was a small twin bed which was very ok for me; clean, bright and quiet. The only annoying experience was the strange smell in the corridors, which I guess was from the kitchen.

The location is in the middle of the old town and close to the Sultanahmet tram station and major tourist sites. There's a fruit market and a supermarket near the hotel.

I stayed at this hotel end-August 2012 for two nights.

(Thx to Mr. Servat and Mr. Changiz for their help and service!)

Room Tip: Try to book in advance for better rooms. By booking through their website you'll get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
ARN Aruna Hotel
ARN Aruna Hotel
#452 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#116 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celine Hotel
Celine Hotel
#307 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#12 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausos Hotel

Property: Lausos Hotel
Address: Binbirbirek mah. Klodfarer caddesi, 33 | Sultanhmet (old city), Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lausos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lausos Hotel Istanbul is a new boutique hotel located in the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Neighbors of the Lausos Hotel Istanbul are the great St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, the Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar, Islamic Arts Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lausos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing