We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average hotel perfect location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lausos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lausos Hotel
Ranked #386 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
162 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“average hotel perfect location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Location, the bçue mosque is just down the street, and one of the main streets that leads to Aya Sofia is just next to it either. Breakfast is very good also! Decoration was nice!
When we arrived we were told that it would take a while for us to get out room cuz it was still being cleaned...after 20 minutes I noticed a group was coming out of it, and its was clean very fast, the result, it was quite dirty! The drawer was full of left overs, there was even some burger king sauce! The next day they didnt shoe up to clean the room either, and only showed up when I asked! The family room was also one the 1st floor, I loved the fact that it faced a mosque, which was very different, however the noise from the street was too loud sometimes! All and all, I would stay again, the location was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkarakus, Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Valuable guest,

Many thanks for your feedback and thank you for taking the time to write a constructive review of Hotel Lausos Istanbul,

The check-out time of the hotel it is 12:00 (noon) and check-in time is 2 pm. Our guest never waits 2 pm for the check-in if the room is ready
The room you have booked was the connected family room and the previous guest did not left the room in earlier time. We have realized the check-in of the group because they booked different room type (not connected family).

At our website we have specified that the junior suite have the great view of the blue mosque, Hagia sofia and Bosphorus.

Our hotel it is not located in noisy location and the family room you have stayed at the first floor made with triple glazed Windows.

We apologize you about the burger king sauce which was forgotten in the drawer. The cleanliness is one of the most important subjects at Lausos hotel

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.


Mustafa Özduman,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    109
    35
    6
    5
See reviews for
110
201
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I visited Istanbul 2 weeks ago. It was a perfect experience and i recommend it to everyone! I was very satisfied from the Hotel accomodation and also from the staff. Especially from Jasemin who was very kind, convenient and pleasant. Keep having such staff like Jasmine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KostidouMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words following your recent stay. I was very pleased that you enjoyed the hospitality given to you by Yasemin.
I have passed on your thanks to her personally and also to the rest of the team. I do hope that you will join us again soon at The Lausos Hotel.

Kind regards,

Kamil Karakus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of our trip to Turkey for a total of 5 nights. This hotel is in an excellent location. It's in the Old Town area, walking distance to all of the great sites. It's also very close to the Grand Bazzar, close enough that after buying three carpets, I could carry them back myself alright. It is also VERY CLOSE to the tram station, which was great since we went back and forth to the airport by the tram so it was easy to carry our things. There are many hotels in the Old Town area that look close to the tram (and are easily walking distance) but feel far if you're carrying a heavy load. The Old Town area is surprisingly hilly so it's something to keep in mind. It also made it easy to take the tram back and forth from the New District, great when we were tired after a long day.

The staff is very friendly. The place is well kept and very clean and well as lovely. There are crystals from the light fixtures, beautiful curtains and bedspreads, and the woodwork on the doors, door frames, etc are all just beautiful. The breakfast is great!

The only thing that would made our stay there a little better is if the room was a little bigger. I've traveled all over the world so I'm use to the smaller hotels in Europe. Our first room was a bit smaller than I imagined looking at the pictures posted online but still good. The second room was tiny (they said it was their smallest double and apologized). So just beware, especially if coming from the United States where rooms are a lot bigger, than the standard rooms are small. We didn't see any of the suites or specialty rooms which look a lot more spacious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polarislovestotavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review. We pride ourselves on the attention we pay to even the most minute detail so we can enhance our guests stay. This is all made possible by the brilliant team I have here at the hotel who I have passed your kind words on to.

I was so pleased you enjoyed our facilities and you found your "home from home" in Istanbul.

İndeed, due to the historical area, the majority of the hotels in Sultanahmet have small rooms. But we have Junior suite, which is bigger than the standard rooms.

I look forward to personally welcoming you on your next visit to us.

Kind regards,

Kamil Karakus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed for 2 weeks in Istanbul and found this hotel to be ideal. The location is central, close to the mosques and Topkapi and the tram stop. My room had glass on 2 sides with sweeping views of the Sea of Marmara. The staff couldn't be better--smart, attentive, insightful with recommendations and most friendly. Breakfast was a treat. I loved this city and did lots of exploring of all the neighborhood and Hotel Lausos helped to make it even better.

Room Tip: If you book a double, spend the extra and request a sea view or city view (overlooking the large mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your review.

Our team were very happy to read you comments about their excellent service; they do constantly strive to exceed our guests’ expectations at every opportunity. We were very happy to read about your breakfast experience.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back on your next stya with us.

Kind regards,

Kamil Karakus
Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Friendly staff, clean property in a great location ...Walking distance to all the major attractions and in the safe Sultanahmet district . Room small but neat and tidy, fridge , A/C that worked and after a day of walking thats important. Best breakfast buffet in town, hot eggs , lots of variety, it really makes helps start your day being ready to hit the road...Room service for ice and other services is very friendly and efficient. Desk staff always willing to go the extra mile, that said , all in all a great place to spend a few days in one of the greatest cities in the World, have fun..

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Blue Mosque or spend more money and go for a suite on the top floor. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SerenityKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your very kind words.
Our team were very happy to read you comments about their excellent service; they do constantly strive to exceed our guests’ expectations at every opportunity. We were very happy to read about your breakfast experience.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back on your next stya with us.

Kind regards,

Kamil Karakus
Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We chose to stay at this hotel having read many of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We were travelling for the first time with our 2 year old daughter so we wanted our holiday to be as hassle free as possible and we realised we had made the best decision as soon as we walked through arrivals. My husband booked airport transfers with the hotel and the company they arranged were very efficient even though it took us ~1.5 hours to get to arrivals having landed on time. In addition to this on arrival at the hotel our check-in was completely hassle-free.

Admittedly, the hotel room was a little small (our holiday package meant we were booked in to a standard room) but given the hotel were kind enough to provide a cot for our daughter and the fact that we were there to explore Istanbul and not spend our days in the hotel, we were fine about it. The standards of cleanliness in the room and ensuite were excellent which was more important for us then anything else. However, one thing that the room did lack were hooks for clothes, towels, etc. but again this was minor.

The hotel is situated in a prime location, literally a very short walk from Hippodrome Square which also leads to the magnificent Blue Mosque. In addition to this, it is relatively close to a number of other attractions e.g Topkapi Palace and The Grand Bazaar.

The breakfast is pretty much a continental one but good as there is plenty to choose from including a number of sweet and savoury Turkish options. In addition to this, the hotel offers an unlimited complimentary drinks service (hot drinks and juice) which we greatly appreciated after a long day of site-seeing.

Now the main plus point of this hotel without doubt, is its staff! They were all very friendly and incredibly helpful! We always received the best service, with staff members often going out of their way to help. A special thank you to brother Chengiz, Sister Yasimi and all the brother Mustafas’; you all made our trip wonderful! Our 2-year old still remembers her ‘Aunty Yasimi’ and that says it all!

Overall, this is the best hotel experience we’ve had by miles (and we have been to hotels with a higher star rating). We would love to visit Istanbul again and when we do, our hotel stay is one less thing to worry about!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAkhtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Lausos in early May 2012 and found the hotel to be perfectly located for sightseeing: you can walk to Aghia Sofia, the Blue Mosque, the Top Kapi palace, the Harem, the Archeological Museum, the Islamic Museum, the Basilica Cistern and the Mosaic Museum (currently closed). You can take the tram to the Dolmabaktche Palace (the more European style palace), the Grand Bazaar and the New Mosque (you can even walk to the latter two). It is trickier to get to more out of the way sights like the Chora Monastery or the Roumeli castle, but the most visited sights are right there. I had to visit Taksim square a couple of times, where many more upscale hotels are located, and I'm really happy I stayed at the Sultanahmet area instead. Incidentally, if you are planning to visit the main sights, the 3 day Museum card is a very good option at 72 TL for non-Turkish people (it does not cover the Dolmabaktche palace).

The hotel proper is in excellent condition (recently renovated and it shows). The rooms (not the suites) at the top floor are reasonably sized and priced, the WiFi works fine and is included in the price, the room is cleaned very well and the breakfast is quite good (and somewhat different every day). The hotel staff is friendly and helpful and the reception is manned by people who can speak English very well. My only complaint is that there are no heavy curtains in some windows, so you have to get up early.

Getting to the hotel is very easy from the Sultanahmet tram stop, it's a bit uphill from the hotel to the stop but only for a few meters - the city is built on hills, so this is something one needs to get used to. It is easy to reach the hotel from the IST airport by public transport, you just need to change once from the airport metro line to the main tram line and spend around 45-50 minutes. The tram line is crowded or at least full all day, so the trip is a bit tiring with luggage, but at 4 TL (less than 2 EUR) per person one way, it's a reasonable compromise. i should also mention that people in the tram are quite helpful, they will help you find space for your luggage and offer their seat to people with kids, the elderly and women. The hotel offers a shuttle service, but we did not try it.

We had difficulties in finding information in English about transportation, so here are a couple of hints. Ιt is hard to find either the Akbil (button style) or the Instabulcard (card style) rechargeable electronic tickets - plus you need to pay a deposit which is hard to get back, since you need to find again a place that sells these tickets! Metro and trams take a red token called a jetton, which you can buy next to any tram stop for 2 TL each, but you need one per trip leg (you cannot go through the turnstiles without it). Buses on the other hand only take electronic tickets (either Akbil, Istanbulcard or disposable 1, 2, 5 or 10 trips, which can be used by multiple people) which are also valid for the metro and (I think) also allow transfers (they are 2.5 to 2.3 TL per trip), but I only found them at large bus stations (at Eminonu and Taksim). It would make the tourist's life so much easier to have a booth selling the electronic tickets at the airport next to the tram terminal. Not to mention that the transportation company could have a small page in English about this (the site is constructed in such a way that you cannot even use it through Google translate!).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xgeorgeAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
ARN Aruna Hotel
ARN Aruna Hotel
#449 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#116 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celine Hotel
Celine Hotel
#313 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#11 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausos Hotel

Property: Lausos Hotel
Address: Binbirbirek mah. Klodfarer caddesi, 33 | Sultanhmet (old city), Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #386 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lausos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lausos Hotel Istanbul is a new boutique hotel located in the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Neighbors of the Lausos Hotel Istanbul are the great St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, the Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar, Islamic Arts Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lausos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing