We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Barely adequate””

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ares Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #215 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
““Barely adequate””
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The location is great, the rooms are TINY, and overall we recommend you look elsewhere. SultanAhmet neighbourhood is full of hotels, many of which look to be nicer than the Ares albeit probably a bit more expensive. Our first night (room 407) was OK, it was one at the few rooms with a view of Hagia Sophia, but be forewarned, it’s not much of a view – you see mainly the roof – and you see that over top of a very ugly next-door building. However, the Ares does have a rooftop ‘terrace’ from which you do get a decent view of Hagia Sofia (see photos for the 2 views). When we returned one week later (for 3 nights), we were put first into in room 403 overlooking the street. Room 403 is one of the rooms with a smelly toilet. Not a totally overpowering stench, but not at all nice. We were also shown another room with no view whatsoever but with an even stinkier toilet. Moreover, the toilet in room 403 is IN the shower(! see photo), which is something we have never seen outside of an RV or a small cabin cruiser. After one night, we were able to get back into room 497. The breakfast (croissant, jam, cream cheese, tomato) is nothing to write home about. The service is excellent, very friendly and very helpful. The service and the location are the best things about the hotel. One final word about the location - it is on a pedestrian-only street, so you will have to schlep your bags down the narrow street. We booked an airport pickup (from Effendi Travel services), and our (excellent) driver helped us, but I suspect a taxi driver may not be so accommodating. Also, a taxi driver may not know how to find the Ares – none of our drivers we knew where it was, and we booked them in advance! I cannot offer an opinion of taxis – we never used one, but we were very satisfied with the driver service from Effendi. It’s a similar(?) price to taxi, but a bigger, nicer car, with room for transcontinental luggage.

Room Tip: 407 probably has the best view (but not grand)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20minutetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    95
    38
    25
    11
See reviews for
78
121
48
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jomtien Beach, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I've been to Istanbul many times but this is the first time I experienced this great service at this room rate !!

Warmth Welcome, Great Hospitality, Home-Liked !! Close to sight seeing place !!

Next time I'll visit Istanbul. I will think about Ares Hotel first !!

Thank you Ayhan Salur for your wonderful service !!

Room Tip: Hotel is very close to Sultan Ahmet Tram Station !! just 2 minutes walk. Tasty Coffee Shop is close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChatawatLekkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel is located just in the center of all museums and historical places, 2 mins walk from Hagia Sofia and the metro station Sultanahmed. The rooms were a bit small but the decoration and the new furniture made you feel like a Queen! Also, the breakfast was not so good but the hotel's owner informed us that this will change in around 5 days. If you visit this hotel, ask for Kadir. He is the receptionist. Very kind and helpful person. When a problem arises, he is more than happy to solve it in 5 mins. He will also guide you where to go around, eat and drink and what to visit. The hotel, the rooms and the service worth its money, which by the way is not that expensive compared to what it offers. Breakfast is served between 8-11am and you can take it to your room as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We arrived here during the winter and got a great deal on the price, considering the rooms and location. Two minutes walk away from the Hagia Sophia and most the major historic sites Istanbul. Rooms were small, but not really terribly so and as to be expected considering many other similar hotels. Sound was broken on tv but it was quickly taken care of. Rooms and bathrooms were nice, and were cleaned daily. Service was great and prompt, and one employee Kadir was always on hand to help. There is a rooftop with a great view over the area. A breakfast is served each morning 8-10, after that you can pick up complementary bottles of water in case the day's walking has exhausted you.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel is centrally located by the Basilica Cistern, Topkapi, Blue Mosque, and Hagia Sofia which is near to everything important to see the tourist. There is a shoping area also.
Exellent servise and exellent food in a hotel, friendly staff and especially thanks to Mr Cesim Aladino Toprak.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was stay whit my frend in ares hotel.there are close to all atraction historical place by walking.has a good wiev on the top floor teras.room has a comfrotable bad and clean and breakfast is fresh and delicious. helpfuly and frendly staff .has a delicious restaurant under the hotel.there are frist home when ı go to istanbul..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kadir b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

If you are planning to come to Istanbul and need a hotel that's location is in the sultanamet area, this is the hotel for you. With great customer service and satisfactory rooms, this hotel is a great stay for the average tourist.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaheerkhan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#271 of 1,141 in Istanbul
179 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#422 of 1,141 in Istanbul
247 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#187 of 1,141 in Istanbul
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#165 of 1,141 in Istanbul
118 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#75 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,011 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Million Stone Hotel
The Million Stone Hotel
#345 of 1,141 in Istanbul
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ares Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ares Hotel Istanbul

Property: Ares Hotel Istanbul
Address: Alemdar Mah. Incili Cavus Sok. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ares Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ares Hotel Istanbul is a 3 star hotel offering classically decorated, luxurious rooms right in the centre of Istanbul's old city. Staying here, you've got it all at your fingertips, since the main historical and cultural attractions are within short walking distance of the hotel, such as the Bosphorus, Topkapi Palace, Haghia Sophia, and the Blue Mosque. In fact, from the terrace of the Ares Hotel, you can enjoy panoramic views of all of the above, and more sights of Istanbul. Taking a walk around this area, you'll also find plenty of restaurants, shops, and other things to do and see. There are 21 spacious and comfortable rooms in total in this elegant hotel, with the choice between staying in a single, twin, double, or triple room. All of the rooms have private bathrooms, and you'll also find all the amenities you'll need, such as hair-dryer, safety deposit box, heating, air-conditioning, telephone, TV, and Wi-Fi Internet. Also, the list of the hotel's services include a left-luggage office, 24 hour reception, restaurant, bar/café, and a TV lounge. Finally, the icing on the cake is that your breakfast is included in the price of your stay. A private car park is also available (extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ares Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing