We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful days at Istanbul...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ares Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ares Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #192 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful days at Istanbul...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was at this hotel twice. The place of the hotel is perfect: you can reach on foot all objects of interest in the old town of Istanbul, the main market places are also near, and tram and buss stops as well. The hotel itself is butique style and is situated in the cosy ancient street in which you can feel specifics of Istanbul street life and culture. The exceptional atmosphere is created not only by ancient buildings, good service but by hotel staff as well. Sales manager Ayhan Salur is especially kind and helpful. He helped us to find all places we wanted to visit, explained how to get there and arranged our trips, reccomend some good restaurants to taste local food and helped everytime when we had questions. It is really worth to visit this hotel if you want to feel culture and street life of ancient Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    95
    38
    25
    11
See reviews for
77
121
48
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Verey nice hotel nıce servıce nıce staf very nıce place near blue mosque near basıcıca cısterne good people nıce breakfast nıce food areshotel best place very nice food very nice staf nıce tereace good room nıce bed

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Demirci34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Pro: Location near to many touristic sites

Cons: the rooms, our room was very noisy, above the kitchen, noise all the time from the cooking and dishwashing. Rather small room and very dirty. The toilet was uncleaned, with "greetings" from the previous guest in the toiletchair. The shower worked with very small pressure. Major problem was afterwards as the hotel tried to charge twice for the room, we used the hotels bookingservice, first after our bank had contacted the hotel, they seemed to be acting, our attempts to contact were useless with this issue, the staff could speak english but when we wanted to get half of the money back they switched to Turkish every time. Would not choose this hotel next time when visiting Istanbul, which is a city worth visiting many times.

Room Tip: Check the room before getting it, check that toilet is clean, if above kitchen refuse to take that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

You have there 2 excellent features: great location in the middle of the old city and a very friendly, mostly helpful staff. You have also some basic comfort: air-conditioning, free wi-fi, external cleanliness. But the stench from the sewers in the bathroom reaches you in your smallish regular room. And the breakfast is decidedly poor. I think that, overall, the price for what you get is high. It happened to us to visit a few other hotels in the quarter that, for a price of the same order, offered clearly better rewards.

Room Tip: Facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergiu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice location excellent service also excellent customer service,
Only thing is missing is swimming pool, I also like the quick respond on emails I really enjoyed my stay at Ares Hotel with my family.
My family liked the location and the excellent customer service.
Hope to only see next time we visit is a swimming pool.
Thanks for the hotel manager and the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al-Fadli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I am presently in Ares Hotel.
Our taxl driver could/ would not get close to the hotel due to the tram lines and was concerned he would be on police cameras. Cost us nearly 50 TL from Antaturk Airport.. dreadful.
The hotel room are very small, clean enough but toilet/ shower rooms are small with no windows. "No fridges" in our room, fan works okay to keep room cool, many restaurant just below the rooms you can hear people and fairly loud music. Was given the password to connect to the Internet.
Plus point is everything is walking distance.
Staff are friendly enough
No buffet breakfast you get a variety of things given on plate, with ample freshly baked bread.... which is sufficient.
A lovely view on the roof terrace of the mosque. Food can be served up here too.Provide you with a blanket if your a bit chilly.

Leven2

Room Tip: Great location.but rooms very small and no refrigerator available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leven2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed there for three nights... in a single room.. it was a bit small but it was ok for me as i was spending most of the day out...Staff are very friendly and the owner of the hotel is very helpful.The location of this hotel is the most important thing as it's close to everything... Hop on Hop Off bus station, Tram, Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, walking distance to Grand bazaar. I really enjoyed staying there.

price wise... Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#257 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#293 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#71 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#270 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#167 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ares Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ares Hotel Istanbul

Property: Ares Hotel Istanbul
Address: Alemdar Mah. Incili Cavus Sok. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ares Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ares Hotel Istanbul is a 3 star hotel offering classically decorated, luxurious rooms right in the centre of Istanbul's old city. Staying here, you've got it all at your fingertips, since the main historical and cultural attractions are within short walking distance of the hotel, such as the Bosphorus, Topkapi Palace, Haghia Sophia, and the Blue Mosque. In fact, from the terrace of the Ares Hotel, you can enjoy panoramic views of all of the above, and more sights of Istanbul. Taking a walk around this area, you'll also find plenty of restaurants, shops, and other things to do and see. There are 21 spacious and comfortable rooms in total in this elegant hotel, with the choice between staying in a single, twin, double, or triple room. All of the rooms have private bathrooms, and you'll also find all the amenities you'll need, such as hair-dryer, safety deposit box, heating, air-conditioning, telephone, TV, and Wi-Fi Internet. Also, the list of the hotel's services include a left-luggage office, 24 hour reception, restaurant, bar/café, and a TV lounge. Finally, the icing on the cake is that your breakfast is included in the price of your stay. A private car park is also available (extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ares Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing