We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with contrasting marks”
Review of Ares Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ares Hotel
Ranked #187 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

You have there 2 excellent features: great location in the middle of the old city and a very friendly, mostly helpful staff. You have also some basic comfort: air-conditioning, free wi-fi, external cleanliness. But the stench from the sewers in the bathroom reaches you in your smallish regular room. And the breakfast is decidedly poor. I think that, overall, the price for what you get is high. It happened to us to visit a few other hotels in the quarter that, for a price of the same order, offered clearly better rewards.

Room Tip: Facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergiu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 615 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice location excellent service also excellent customer service,
Only thing is missing is swimming pool, I also like the quick respond on emails I really enjoyed my stay at Ares Hotel with my family.
My family liked the location and the excellent customer service.
Hope to only see next time we visit is a swimming pool.
Thanks for the hotel manager and the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al-Fadli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I am presently in Ares Hotel.
Our taxl driver could/ would not get close to the hotel due to the tram lines and was concerned he would be on police cameras. Cost us nearly 50 TL from Antaturk Airport.. dreadful.
The hotel room are very small, clean enough but toilet/ shower rooms are small with no windows. "No fridges" in our room, fan works okay to keep room cool, many restaurant just below the rooms you can hear people and fairly loud music. Was given the password to connect to the Internet.
Plus point is everything is walking distance.
Staff are friendly enough
No buffet breakfast you get a variety of things given on plate, with ample freshly baked bread.... which is sufficient.
A lovely view on the roof terrace of the mosque. Food can be served up here too.Provide you with a blanket if your a bit chilly.

Leven2

Room Tip: Great location.but rooms very small and no refrigerator available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leven2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed there for three nights... in a single room.. it was a bit small but it was ok for me as i was spending most of the day out...Staff are very friendly and the owner of the hotel is very helpful.The location of this hotel is the most important thing as it's close to everything... Hop on Hop Off bus station, Tram, Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, walking distance to Grand bazaar. I really enjoyed staying there.

price wise... Excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

+ Good location, only 200m from Agia Sofia.
+ Helpful employee who speak english very well.
- Dirty and tiny rooms ( In the bathroom, the toilet was inside the shower )
- Some of the rooms had no view and the only thing you could see from your window was the wall from the next house ( we stayed in this room for 1 night and then they went us in another room with better view )
- The terrace of Ares hotel was closed when we visited Istanbul ( 10 May - 15 May ). It opens only at the summer.
- Poor breakfast. No turkish coffee, no fresh orange juice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank evi83b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

The staff is really friendly however they politely ignored all our request to open the safe, clean the toilet to remove a strong smell from the sewers (our room was on the third floor) and they did not disinfest the cockroaches. The area is also very noisy during the night. However the location is great 2 min walking from the most famous sights. Everything interesting is at walking distance. The breakfast is included but is not very attractive. However you can ask for great yogurt and juices. If you want "clean" apparently you have to pay a lot extra for it in Istanbul.

2  Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed in Ares hotel with my friend, we have a great time with the staff very helpfully to clients. Very good place to stay for your money. Ares is located close to everything and 45min to get at the airport.!They also have a great roof top restaurant, while we were there very few people ate up there so we got the roof almost to ourselves! All around a great hotel! I would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivi152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Megara Palace Hotel
Megara Palace Hotel
#206 of 1,163 in Istanbul
442 reviews
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#231 of 1,163 in Istanbul
202 reviews
Sultanahmet
Miran Hotel
Miran Hotel
#184 of 1,163 in Istanbul
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Million Stone Hotel
The Million Stone Hotel
#330 of 1,163 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#215 of 1,163 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#296 of 1,163 in Istanbul
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ares Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ares Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Incili Cavus Sok. No: 35 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $29 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ares Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ares Hotel Istanbul is a 3 star hotel offering classically decorated, luxurious rooms right in the centre of Istanbul's old city. Staying here, you've got it all at your fingertips, since the main historical and cultural attractions are within short walking distance of the hotel, such as the Bosphorus, Topkapi Palace, Haghia Sophia, and the Blue Mosque. In fact, from the terrace of the Ares Hotel, you can enjoy panoramic views of all of the above, and more sights of Istanbul. Taking a walk around this area, you'll also find plenty of restaurants, shops, and other things to do and see. There are 21 spacious and comfortable rooms in total in this elegant hotel, with the choice between staying in a single, twin, double, or triple room. All of the rooms have private bathrooms, and you'll also find all the amenities you'll need, such as hair-dryer, safety deposit box, heating, air-conditioning, telephone, TV, and Wi-Fi Internet. Also, the list of the hotel's services include a left-luggage office, 24 hour reception, restaurant, bar/café, and a TV lounge. Finally, the icing on the cake is that your breakfast is included in the price of your stay. A private car park is also available (extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Ares Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing