We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr”
Review of Masal Apart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Masal Apart
Ranked #496 of 1,240 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We booked this place based on the Trip Advisor reviews and the photos on Expedia. When we got there we couldn't find the place - eventually we discovered that the "hotel" is actually just an ordinary house. It's been divided into 4 or 5 apartments, accessed via a very steep spiral staircase, on which the lights weren't working - we had to go up and come down the stairs in total darkness.

We were offered a choice of two apartments. I don't know where the photos on Trip Advisor were taken but they are certainly NOT of the apartments we were shown or anything like them. The ones we saw were small and very cheaply furnished with what looks like old secondhand furniture - the one bed I sat on was broken - and they didn't look at all clean. There was no nice tiled walls (they were bare), no nice bedlinen (the bedding was plain sheets), no pictures on the walls, no modern bathroom fittings (they looked very old and plain), no modern furniture, no air-conditioning, no TV, and so on.

We didn't see all the apartments, so it's possible the others are fine, but certainly the ones we did see were terrible, certainly not worth the money they were asking. We refused to accept them and went elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masalapart, Gerente at Masal Apart, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest, we totaly renovated,decorated and painted the Masal Apart. We care about what our guests suggests us. Normally aparts are ordinary houses,they are not hotels,that is the reason they are called aparts. As you mention the stairs are not dark, I dont understand the total darkness,it's not true. About bedlinen : I dont know what kind of hotels you are used to stay. Our all bedsheets and towels are standart hotel bedsheets and towels, it means they cant be low quality.. NO AIR CONTION, NO TV AND NO SO ON....YOU ARE TOTALY LYING. As you can see on the pictures of the apartment WE HAVE AIR CONDITION, WE HAVE TV AND WE HAVE WHAT A PERSON CAN NEED IN AN APARTMENT.
But anyway, we have new cleaning personal and others who cares about the Masal Apart. But when you make comments please just say the truth, only the truth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 38 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Negative: different room fron the photos (we booked room with balkony and window with view in the bedroom and the room had no balkony and a small window in the bedroom that looks at a skylight!!), very dirty room at the arrival (food remains in kitchen cabinets, dirty bathroon and floor), no cleaning for the entire 5 night- stay, no sheet change for the entire 5 night- stay (the manager's excuse was: "they were not dirty... Why should we've changed them??"), absent manager (there was no one responsible there to take charge of the mistreatment, complaints, search of the shuttle driver at the airport, lapse of towels in the bathroom, etc. Only a young boy who works as a waiter ar the owner's restaurant). Also, not receipt was given for our payment and there was no official document tagged behind the door as most of hotels, houses and hostels have. When we demanded to talk to someone responsible the answer we got when we argues than the value for money of the room was inadequate was : "yes, it is expensive, but you are in Istanbul!!"
Positive: central location, easy to find, spacious room.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evitaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masalapart, Gerente at Masal Apart, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all I checked your reservation and you didnt especialy booked a room with balcony. Unfortunatly we dont have all rooms with balcony. We have a cleaning lady who cleans all the apartments everyday and we change bedsheets every second day.
We totaly renovated,decorated and painted the Masal Apart. We care about what our guests suggests us.
But anyway, we are new managment of the Masal Apart and we have new cleaning personal and others who cares about the Masal Apart.
Hope to see you again to change your opinion to positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

It is very good located, clean and very kind people...new reformed,the price is okey comparing the service..it is near by almost all museums and mosques...
If you are staying more than three nights they offer you shuttle service. And if you want transfer back to airport you just have to ask for it...or any private tour of the city, they will be pleased to help you about anything...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katibi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent 8 nights in the third floor apartment in September 2012. All the arrangements went according to plan (airport pickup at 06.00, the concierge ready to accept us that early). We had booked the apartment with a balcony but were given the one below without...no matter, it was pretty hot so we were pleased to have a slightly larger sitting room with aircon! The kitchen equipment was basic but we managed.
Position was the huge plus! minutes from Sultahamet Square, a fantastic view of a Sinan mosque and its byzantine ruins and water tower as well as down to the Mamara.and easy access to everything. All in all, very good value for money.
Agree with the comments regarding contact with the management...we had to phone a couple of times before the card machine was brought for us to pay! But the concierge, with little English (but then we have less Turkish!), was always willing to try to help..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

After staying in Dubai's 4 points sheraton for four nights when my husband and i were dropped in front of masal apart we were in for a shock of our lives.The cleaning lady spoke no english and we were alloted a ground floor apart with no ventilation and it was more like a storage,after repeated requests we were shifted to a 4 floor apart .There's no lift so we had to climb the creaky wooden staircase and to add to our woes the ac did not work and after 2 days we were provided with a table fan.There are lots of beautiful properties around sultanahmet with amazing views of the sea,so i would never recommend this apart ,not at all child friendly ,and certainly not for elders.The only plus point was that it was close to all the historical places and to the tram.
sapuru.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simplysouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masalapart, Gerente at Masal Apart, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all I am really surprised that you compare an economic price apartment with Sheraton Dubai which is very unfair.
Could you please tell me where the cleaning lady speaks English except english speaking countries? OUr all A/C 's are working very well and they work the same way like Hotel Sheraton Dubai, I mean you have to use the remote control for it..
But anyway we totaly renovated,decorated and painted the Masal Apart. We care about what our guests suggests us. Normally aparts are ordinary houses,they are not hotels,that is the reason they are called aparts. As you mention the stairs are not dark, I dont understand the total darkness,it's not true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The apartment was well-furnished and spacious, it was also very close to the tourist attractions in the old town. Check-in during the middle of the night was possible.
Unfortunately, hygiene was not acceptable. Lots of hair could be seen everywhere on the floor, no matter it's in the living room, open kitchen, bathroom or bedroom. The inside compartments of the wardrobe were covered with dust. There were stains in the toilet bowl and basin. What more terrible was the kitchen utensils, including the pots and plates were all greasy, I had to wash them before using.
One minor problem, the house keeper had difficulty in understanding even simple English (e.g. in the morning vs at night). You'd better write down everything for her.
Failed to provide a reasonably clean environment, this apartment definitely charged too much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckyl501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masalapart, Gerente at Masal Apart, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado housped,
Hemos totalmente reformado,pintado y amueblado el Masal Apart hace poco. Nos importa mucho lo que opina la gente y sus comentarios.
Tenemos una direccion y personal nueva.
Como que lo mas importante es la limpieaza para nosotros hemos tambien cambiado el equipo de limpieza.
Espero verles pronto de nuevo en Masal Apart, estaran bienvenidos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I good beat on about the GREAT location and FAB view! And how we were a few minutes walk from everything and how lovely and friendly the housekeeper was but I will just mention good old honesty!
We booked a taxi through the owner Serkan for our return to Sabiha Gocken, My friend had left his phone in the taxi and immediately very worried we contacted Serkan. He was absolutely fabulous. He located the phone, called us back and then sent it via courier delivery. After asking repeatedly to pay for postage Serkan being as humble as he is declined. Money will be put into a charity box for this. Istanbul is a beautiful city and this apartment made it more magical. There are not many honest people anymore, I thank Serkan and the taxi driver for their honesty.
I am definately returning later this year to the same apartment!!! ABSOLUTELY FAB!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soniya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#760 of 1,159 in Istanbul
621 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,077 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#80 of 1,159 in Istanbul
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#67 of 1,159 in Istanbul
505 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#109 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,635 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#64 of 1,159 in Istanbul
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masal Apart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masal Apart

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Su Terazisi Sok. No: 27 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #496 of 1,240 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $44 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Masal Apart 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Masal Apart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing