We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family hotel with great location but unfortunate noise level”
Review of Q Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Q Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #81 of 1,060 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely family hotel with great location but unfortunate noise level”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hotel management and staff are very friendly, the hotel is taken care of and has homey and personal feel. Also, the breakfast was very tasty.

This small lovely family hotel is located on a quite noisy side-street (due to proximity to Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, etc., there is a lot of tourist buses going round).
Not possible to have the window open - noisy. Also, in the room on the 1st floor, you can hear the telephone from the reception and everybody walking up and down the stairs quite clearly. The hotel also has rooms overlooking the yard, this might be a better alternative.

Room Tip: - do not choose "economy room" on the ground floor - it must be extremely noisy, like slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    66
    20
    3
    8
See reviews for
46
50
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
greece
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Very nice accommodation, clean and pleasant room. The location is very central, 5 minutes walking to Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque. Special advantage were the people of the hotel's staff, always kind and helpful!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KaTeRiNa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at Q Hotel twice at the beginning and end of our travels through Turkey in September/October and were very impressed.

The hotel is located in a lovely part of Sultanahmet and is only a short stroll to many of the main attractions including the Blue Mosque, Ayasofia and Topkapi Palace. There’s plenty of restaurants nearby, and the area feels very safe and secure, even at night.

Our airport pickup at 2am worked well, and we got a warm welcome despite the hour. We stayed in two different rooms during our stays on both the 1st and 5th floors. While the rooms were of a similar quality we felt the 1st floor room has slightly more space and was better laid out. Both rooms had a partial view up towards the Blue Mosque.

The rooms are quite compact, but the furnishings were of a good quality, and we had one of the best sleeps we had in months in the very comfortable bed. In fact the bed was so comfortable that we probably slept too much – so we’d recommend setting an alarm so you don’t snooze too long!!

As others have mentioned the bathrooms are quite small, but for us this was not an issue. They are well appointed and the shower, while small, provided good pressured hot water so no complaints here.

Breakfast is the typical Turkish affair and was perfectly adequate for our needs.

We found all the hotel staff to be friendly, helpful and professional.

We really liked the Q Hotel and would not hesitate to go back . . . . in fact we did!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Twofortheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We've been the Q HOTEL ISTANBUL 12 of December with my friend and everything was perfect , staff is the best and direction was very very helpful and firstly Mrs.Zeynep :) She recommended to us Popular and historical places of old city and she is smiling all the time so that is really peacefully well this place is the best of Istanbul thank you Q Hotel Direction.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Steflaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in early November 2011 on a visit. It is a nice pad for you to visit the attractions in Sultanahmet and other parts of Istambul. Most places of interest can be reached on foot. The room is relatively small but functional. The front office staff were friendly and helpful. There was wireless connectivity in the room. There were also some restaurants and shops nearby. Generally a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Kuttappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I stayed at the Q hotel in August with my friend and her daughter. We had a wonderful experience. They arranged a car to pick us up and the airport and take us directly to the hotel. Everyone in the hotel was very friendly and they went out of their way to help/assist in any way. Each night when we arrived back to the hotel they called to see if they could make us coffee (nescafe). The breakfast was a nice start to each day. The room was very clean and comfortable. We would stay again and recommend this hotel.

The location was really great - close to the major sites.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The Q hotel in Sultanahmet is an undiscovered small jewel. The location behind the Blue Mosque puts many of the main attractions in walking distance. The hotel is newly renovated and very attractive. It couldn't be cleaner!
The rates are more than fair. It is run by two young cousins - Sefa and Zeynep- who couldn't be
more accommodating. The breakfast buffet is included and is delicious, plentiful and healthy.
All of the staff are friendly and eager to help. My husband and I spent nine nights there with a trip to Capadoccia to break up our visit to Istanbul and we couldn't be happier.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are small. The rooms not facing the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
The Q-Inn Hotel Istanbul
#522 of 1,156 in Istanbul
303 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#132 of 1,156 in Istanbul
499 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#74 of 1,156 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Hotel
Saba Sultan Hotel
#40 of 1,156 in Istanbul
817 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Buhara Family Inn
Hotel Buhara Family Inn
#58 of 1,060 in Istanbul
144 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Studio Suites
Tashkonak Studio Suites
#109 of 1,060 in Istanbul
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Hotel Istanbul

Property: Q Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. No:31 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 1,060 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Q Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Q Hotel & Apartment Istanbul located 350 ft from the Blue Mosque, Q Group features modern rooms with an LCD TV and 24-hour room service in a quiet area of Sultanahmet. Q Group offers light rooms with parquet floors, free Wi-Fi and air conditioning. Each of the private bathrooms has a shower and a hairdryer. Guests can enjoy a generous breakfast buffet in the cafe restaurant with its large mirrors and paintings. The bar serves coffee, tea and refreshing drinks. Q Hotel & Apartments Istanbul's 24-hour front desk staff can take care of currency exchange and give information about Istanbul's main sights. It is also possible to book an airport shuttle to Atatürk Airport, 11 miles away. The Q Hotel & Apartment Istanbul is a 5-minute walk from the Hagia Sophia. The Grand Bazaar with its many souvenirs is a 10-minute walk away. From Q Apartment Istanbul to Hotel just 50 meters by a walk from Family Room-Annex l to Hotel also 50 meters by a walk. Q Apartment Istanbul a family-friendly,short-term rental apartment hotel located in the heart of Blue Mosquet, the touristic center of Istanbul,Turkey. All apartments Q Apartment & Family Room-Annex Istanbul have private kitchenettes and bathrooms. We have made various efforts to make it your best Istanbul specialty hotel experience. Daily free Apartment & Flat cleaning. We hope you will be enjoy stay from our hotel or Apartments & Family Room-Annex Best Regards from Istanbul, Q Group ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Q Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing