We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Ranked #2 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

My second trip to Istanbul and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Great location so easy to move around on foot and also easy to find when returning by taxi. Close enough to all the sites and also plenty of restaurants and shops around that are open late. Staff are first class and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandy968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,446 - 1,452 of 3,111 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel Amira is not at all the fanciest hotel we've ever stayed at. However, our experience was wonderful, and we would recommend it to anyone. The location is in the heart of Sultanahmet (the historical part of Istanbul), and the cab from the airport rounded up to 40 lira, which was a very decent price for transportation.

When we arrived, we were greeted by a man at the front desk, who welcomed us and took us up to the rooftop (which is very charming) for complementary wine and an explanation of how we could make the best use of our time in Istanbul. (We were there for two nights and nearly three full days.) He spoke excellent English, which was very helpful. We were also given a map, and the hotel employee quickly created a great itinerary for us. He also made us reservations for a Bosphorous tour the next day and helped us with reservations for dinner that night. Both the tour and dinner worked out perfectly.

We mentioned that we were there on our honeymoon, and they upgraded us to a very spacious room on the top floor of the hotel. (We never saw any of the other rooms, so I cannot comment on the room we would have had.) The breakfast was more than adequate, and it ran late enough that we could sleep in a little and not miss the food. We would absolutely stay here again, and we already recommended the hotel to some new friends we met on the next leg of our trip.

Other random notes:
-There is an ATM at the hotel on the ground floor. (There is no ATM fee.)
-You can buy tram tokens at the hotel so you don't need to purchase them when you get to the tram. You can do the same with museum passes. We got passes to the Topkapi Palace before leaving the hotel, which allowed us to skip the long ticket line.

Room Tip: The elevator only goes to the 4th floor, so anyone requiring a handicap-accessible room should make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My Wife and I decided to visit Istanbul to celebrate our wedding anniversary and picked the boutique hotel. It was perfect in every way. great location, very comfortable goods and excellent attentive and polite staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a perfect break in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamDown4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

In a hectic city this hotel is just what you need. It's like coming back home everyday from a exhausting site seeing day in the city. The staff are what make this hotel so special, from the doorman and cleaners, to the receptionists and bar staff - every one of them is gem. It was great to come back home around 4ish for a relax and enjoy the afternoon tea and buffet, which was very much appreciated in the heat of the day.

The hotel is spotless, although a little tired in some places the cleanliness was excellent and that was down to very good housekeeping. Although we were not very demanding guests and only troubled the reception a few times for help and directions, we watched our American counterparts test the reception and staff to the limit - and they passed with flying colours everytime. The roof top bar and lounging area was a little oasis in a bustling city full to the brim with tourists. If we came back to Istanbul it would only be on the condition of staying at this little gem again. Fully deserves the No:1 spot of hotels to stay.

Room Tip: There are so many different rooms in this hotel. Contact them via email and tell them what you'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

When visit Istanbul, you must overnight in the Sulthanamet, because thats the place to be for visit, restaurants and so on. In the old town you can find a lot of hotels, but the Amira hotel I can only recommand. Nice room (we booked a larger room with balcony), extremly frindly staff (thanks to Fatih for his tips) a nice roof terrace all this very good situated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We absolutely loved our room (level 3 facing the street), beautiful, great comfy bed and plenty of room for our portacot and toddler to cruise around. I am surprised by the comments about street noise and the call to prayer waking people up as we all (toddler included) slept soundly until 7 or later every day (our usual waketime) - and I am a very light sleeper.

Breakfast was varied and tasty and we didn't get bored in the 3 days we ate it, plus afternoons on the roof terrace were lovely, they made a lovely fruit plate for our toddler free of charge one afternoon when we asked if the shop across the road sold fresh fruit. Nice touch.

I wouldn't book the Bospherous tour again, although we had fun they were over an hour late picking us up (bad traffic), so we missed the whole spice market part of the tour (not offered any discount) without apology which I found very odd indeed. I would recommend booking/prepaying Hagia Sofia as it's the same price as paying on entry and you skip the massive queues, we were the first in while others were still queuing to buy tickets.

The hotel recommendations for restaurants we found a bit hit and miss, one we really liked, the other (famous fish restaurant walking distance from hotel - I forget the name) we found a bit simple and overpriced for what you got.

All in all we loved it and would stay again, but I wouldn't give 5 stars as the rack rate for this hotel is quite high (although we got a great deal) & just a few loose ends not tied up by staff and the disappointing experience with the Bospherous tour.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were adopted into a loving family in Istanbul. I cannot express my gratitude to Ajay and the rest of the staff at this lovely boutique hotel. We arrived dog tired and had arranged pick up to the hotel. We were greeted by Ajay and taken immediately to the superb rooftop for a welcome drink and orientation. He had our room upgraded and could not have been more accommodating. The hotels location was great for exploring old town. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed.

I would not consider staying anywhere else on Istanbul. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,019 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#8 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,797 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,166 reviews
Sultanahmet
Barbera Hotel
Barbera Hotel
#26 of 1,163 in Istanbul
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amira Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $70 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amira Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amira Istanbul is a boutique hotel located at the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Some remarkable neighbors of the Hotel Amira Istanbul are the great Hagia Sophia, the magnificent Blue Mosque, the mystic Basilica Cistern, the imperial Topkapi Palace and the colorful Grand Bazaar. Amira Hotel offers you spaciously designed 32 rooms in Sultanahmet area, featuring very comfortable visco mattresses, local touches like ottoman style hand-made ceiling paintings and high-tech amenities such as mobile wireless internet modem that you can use also outside the property while discovering Istanbul . Along with its world famous cordial guest services, Amira Hotel offers a rich , complimentary buffet breakfast and a tasty 5 O'clock tea treats, free Wi-Fi access, a business corner with featuring an iMac, in house ATM machine, a wellness center that includes a gym, jacuzzi, sauna and massage services. Also our concierge would be more than happy to assist you in every aspect of your stay, whether business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amira Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing